We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelrest Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelrest Bournemouth to your Saves list
Travelrest Bournemouth
135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
W Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Found this hotel via laterooms and was very pleased with it. On the laterooms form we asked for a cot, then later I rang the hotel as I wanted to make sure they knew; when we arrived they didn't have the request on the laterooms booking but did have it elsewhere. Based on the laterooms form they had selected a double room with bunk beds but they very quickly changed it for one with a double bed, a single and a cot, which was also much more accessible with the pushchair. All the staff were lovely - they even kept my grandson's fresh milk in their fridge, labelled as ours. The breakfast waitress was bemused by our request for a boiled egg 'with soldiers' for the baby but must have taken the trouble to ask in the kitchen as the egg duly arrived with two fingers of toast! The breakfasts were good, the one evening meal we had was equally good and the drinks weren't as overpriced as some hotel bars. Really the only minor drawback was that the sockets in the bedroom were inaccessible - you had to pull the (very comfortable) beds out to get to them! Oh and a switch by the beds for the central light would have been nice but again, only a minor issue. All in all a good experience made even better by the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ibearnogifts,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review TravelRest Bournemouth. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we were able to accommodate you comfortably. I will be passing your kind comments on to the staff at the hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    56
    22
    24
See reviews for
70
77
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before but the room I had this time was not good (Room 27). Having stayed in modest priced hotels near airports this room did not come up to scratch. The ensuite was very small, difficult to turn around in the shower. It was also very noisy being attached to a staircase with people thumping up and down until quite late at night. If you stay here avoid this room. Otherwise hotel not bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Paula K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review TravelRest Bournemouth. One of our USP's is that we do offer a variety of size & style of rooms, we are sorry that on this occasion the room did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will come back to us and inform us on which type of room you desire. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this budget hotel and it does what it says on the tin so to speak! It's clean but basic and very good value for money. It's ideal if you just need a place to put your head down and it's in a very good location. It's a short walk to the beach and if you take a shortcut through the park by the beach you end up in the town centre. We walked down the hill the first day and that is not a walk I would recommend in wedge heels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed with a family of four with two young children upon coming to the hotel I had reservations due to the price but was really surprised how nice the hotel was. We were put up on the top floor but after about 10 minutes of being in the room we had a knock at the door asking if we wanted to move to the ground floor. Both rooms were very nice and it was very thoughtful of the staff to move us downstairs with 2 young children. We were given a cot for our youngest which received new blankets everyday and the bed linen was fresh and white. When ever we come back to bournemouth as long as standards are kept up we will defiantly come back here to stay every time. Bed was very comfortable only thing that could be made better was maybe a welcome pack in rooms with useful local things to do places to eat as we were stumped where to take kids.

In summary if you have booked with premiere inn or the likes of stay here its cheaper and just as good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Nick P,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at TravelRest Bournemouth and we hope to see you again some time in the future. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

first stayed at kiwi hotel 2009 for 3 nights,although the hotel was a little worn it was clean,the staff were very good and the breakfast was good,I returned for 1 night with some members of my family ,I was pleasantly suprised to find that they were refurbishing the hotel and had almost finished.the rooms were very nice and everywhere was spotlessly clean.The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful,breakfast was good and I would definatelly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Diane W,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your second stay with us and that you were able to see the changed we have made to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back for a third stay.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a hen party and initially had trouble finding it having been told it was called Kiwi hotel. It's actually called Travel Rest and only one small sign had anything to do with Kiwi hotel once we had driven past twice. Free parking was handy but limited. Room was very old and tired, and although we had paid for a double we had a family room with a double and bunk beds. There was a flat screen TV but it didn't work. Great location, and good value but other occupants fighting into the early hours meant no sleep for some of us. Staff could have intervened but nothing was done and cars parked outside were damaged. Wouldn't return for this reason.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Director of Sales at Travelrest Bournemouth, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Teamfever,
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate all guest comments as they help to improve the service that we offer.
We are sorry that you were unaware that the Kiwi hotel has been re named as TravelRest although we have tried to ensure that all bookers were informed by e-mail, text and phone. We are very sorry that the television was not working and trust that you had informed us during your stay, so that we could rectify it. In regards to the incident that you comment on we do need to correct your comment and reassure you that our staff did intervene and successfully managed a very difficult situation. As you will appreciate Bournemouth is well known for its nightlife especially on a Saturday night and an alternative approach would be to refuse stag and hen groups from staying. In light of your comments we may have to review if we allow stag and hen parties to come to the hotel, but of course this will disappoint many people. One of the reasons why we are so popular is due to our great location and value for money. We are really sorry that you did not get a great nights sleep on a Saturday, however come almost any other night of the week and you will sleep blissfully. Please do not hesitate to contact us at bournemouthreservations@travelrest.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took our two young children here for two nights in the run up to Easter. I found it through a comparison website for £45 for two nights for a family of four people. It was too cheap an offer to pass by, but so cheap that we were a bit worried about what we'd get!

We needn't have worried - the hotel, although showing its age in the as yet un-refurbished part of the building that we were in, was nice and clean. Our beds, a double and a pair of bunks, were dressed in nice, crisp, clean white bed linnen. I found this to be quite reassuring as so many cheap hotels use horrible multicoloured bed linnen that makes it almost impossible to tell whether or not it's clean.

The staff were all very polite and helpful - a simple query made at the reception desk, which was fully answered by the receptionist, was followed-up by a knock on the door by the maintenance manager five minutes later who just wanted to make sure everything was OK.

We had breakfast at the hotel on the first morning which I thought was good value at £6.50 per adult for a continental and english breakfast. I recommend the scrambled eggs too - probably the best I've had anywhere.

So while I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a luxury break, it was a very clean, reliable and great value hotel for a short break with the family.

Room Tip: Our very acceptable room was in the un-refurbished wing - ask for a room in the refurbished wing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelrest Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelrest Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has recently reopened following refurbishment, 25 of the 45 bedrooms were fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard.The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished budget rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations, luxury toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray.Key features at a glance:> Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, WITH EASY ACCESS TO KEY BUSINESS SITES IN POOLE AND BOURNEMOUTH VICINITY VIA WESSEX WAY.> Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC> Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops, .> Two styles of guest bedroom – contemporary TravelRest Club Rooms featuring designer fabrics; toiletries; luxury hospitality tray and IPod docking station.> Traditional budget rooms – classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay.> All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player> Free parking on site, limited and alternative free parking within the immediate area> Bar and cafe open throughout the day> 24 hours reception> Free wi-fi> Group Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelrest Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelrest Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.