We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Durley Dean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Durley Dean Hotel to your Saves list
The Durley Dean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Weekend away .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel reflects 3 Starr value. Good location . Food good .
Bournemouth lovely . The bed room needed a little up date . I think they are re doing the hotel so hopefully when completed it should be good .

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
115
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights. Check in was quick and efficient given key card and a pass for the car park,no problem finding parking space. The room 304 was at the end of a long corridor with creaking floorboards then through a door down two steps through another door to a lobby area with approx five rooms. This meant that we were not disturbed by other guests returning late and walking pass our room.
The room is small with one chair. So if both of you want to watch tv someone has to sit on the bed. The view from the window is of the back of the building but this didn't bother us. There was a continuous hum from the an extractor unit but didn't bother us or prevent us from sleeping.
The bed was comfy although my wife said it was too soft. We heard another guest complain at reception and were impressed on hearing the receptionist say no problem,
we will arrange for the mattress to be changed for a firmer one.
The bathroom is small but adequate.
Breakfast is entirely self service with a good selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food.
The bar is ok and prices very reasonable for a hotel. We did not eat dinner here so can't comment. Our stay was for Thursday and Friday and the hotel had a couple of stag do's arriving on the Friday. I can imagine things could get a little noisy when they returned to the hotel in the early morning but as stated our room was tucked away so not a problem and they were well behaved.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel for a short break at a reasonable price. Location is good and Bournemouth is a lovely resort.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I took my wife away for the night it's a lovely hotel staff on the front desk are very friendly and helpful, helped us book in very quickly nothing was too much trouble room was very well equipped bed nice and comfortable would definitely consider coming back in the near future

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stay here with friends for two days. Outside looked good with reception bright and modern.
Staff were polite and informative and we were quickly registered and up to our room 152. What a disappointment. Loose paint flaking off, lots of chipped wood, small and tired bathroom and an overall feel of shabby. I rang reception and explained I was unhappy and that I thought all the rooms had been renovated. I was told that was correct. Apart from a new headboard, dressing table, bedside tables an mirror that was it. Furnishings very nice but decor NOT. I was given another room immediately that was much better than the 1st albeit looking over flat roofs with numerous air con machines whirring away. Beds were comfortable, good channels on tv with tea & Coffee facilities. Evening meal was a bit chaotic as there was a couple of coach loads of Germans being served and staff were running around as we waited patiently for our food which we had to remind them about several times. We were however given our starters for the inconvenience Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from including the traditional Full English.
All in all a nice stay but hotel could do with a full decoration facelift in all bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a fully refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was very nice - was a good price for the standard & location. Very nice staff, friendly & more than helpful. Small room but was clean and comfortable for a nights stay - good location for main town area & beach - had car park facility and swimming pool which we didn't use but looks nice - would stop here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this hotel to be very friendly with staff that did everything to make our stay as comfortable, enjoyable and hassle free as possible. Very clean with excellent facilities. We stayed in a superior room which was bedroom and separate sitting room both with large flat screen TV's. Iron and board and hairdryer in the room as well as tea and coffee making facilities, the icing on the cake for us was the 4 poster bed. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wilts.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a two night break with breakfast and cream tea bought on a Groupon voucher. It was extremely good value for money.

The hotel is a large victorian building which has recently had a complete facelift and the addition of a spa area. This was very welcome but it is a shame that a little more thought was not put in to its style and shape. The pool is very small but the main problem is its horseshoe shape; the centre portion is so narrow that when 4 people are in together it feels crowded. There is a lot of wasted corridor space and it would have been much better to use some of this to enlarge the pool itself. The other problem is the fact that there is no shower between the sauna/steamroom and the pool, the only shower is in the changing rooms. This means (certainly while we were there) that people were coming out of the sauna/steamroom covered in sweat and going straight into the pool - unhygienic to say the least!

Other than these small niggles the hotel is a great place to stay. Location is excellent - a short stroll to the beach or the town and the food was very good, we ate in the restaurant one evening and at Cliff Tops restaurant the other - this restaurant I would certainly recommend.

Staff were friendly and efficient and our room was spacious with a comfy bed and a large bathroom with bath and shower (room 209). We had no problems with creaking floorboards outside as we were in a little alcove of our own. The only thing which could be improved is storage space; for such a large room there was hardly anywhere to put your clothes. If you were staying for a week or more I think you would struggle. Just a chest of drawers under the window would make a huge difference,

In conclusion - a very nice hotel and an excellent place to stay, especially if you are able to get a deal like we did! Free wife too!!

Room Tip: 209 was large and spacious and away from creaking floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Durley Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durley Dean Hotel

Address: 28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Durley Dean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian townhouse offers bright, modern rooms, located just 5 minutes' walk from Bournemouth's award-winning beach. With a restaurant and lounge bar, there is also free High Speed WiFi and limited free parking with additional on road parking close by. The hotel has just completed its final phase of refurbishment with all bedrooms fully refurbished and a £100k refurbishment of the hotels Leisure |Club The Durley Dean's rooms boast contemporary design, and each features a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a work area. All rooms also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The hotel is well-placed, 0.3 Miles from the bars and shops of the town centre. 10 Minutes' walk brings guests to Bournemouth International Centre and Bournemouth Pier. Residents have free use of the swimming pool, gym, sauna & steam room that make up the hotel Leisure Complex. There is also a golf club within 5 minutes' drive. The menu of British cuisine is made using local produce, and served in the stylish No. 28 Restaurant. The Durley's bar offers Dorset Cream teas, beverages and snacks during the day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Durley Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durley Dean Bournemouth
Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Durley Dean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.