We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tralee

The Tralee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Tralee to your Saves list
The Tralee
West Hill Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
1 review
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Just had two nights at the Tralee and found it a friendly place with helpful staff who seemed interested in the individual. The food was particularly good for a three star especially the dinners.
Well cooked good quality ingredients and attentive staff helped to make these meals very enjoyable. The corridors etc could do with a coat of paint and the carpets renewed but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The sea is only a few steps from the front door and views from some rooms are super. Would happily stay there again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Tralee in Bournemouth, have to say I was very concerned about staying here after reading the reviews on this website, but we arrived there on the friday lunchtime for a Ladies Masconic festival weekend the staff couldn't have been more friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious, the shower was abit sad but was ok and had lots of hot water and the windows opened.
The friday night meal was a 3 course dinner which was good, breakfasts were good, we had a 5 course banquet on the sat night, have to say the food wasn't as good as on the friday night, could have been alot better.
The bar area and reception looks nice, would stay there again, nice to be so close to the sea.
I would recommend people to stay at this hotel the staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious, i felt i had to write a more positive review after so many negative reviews about this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — sad shower and food for the 5 course Banquet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

We have just spent a super weekend at The Tralee Hotel. As members of a group of 67 booked in for a weekend function we found the hotel to be excellent value from the very good three course meal served on the Friday evening to the 5 course banquet dinner. Rooms were comfortable and clean with the management eager to please - repairing a faulty shower within ten minutes of it being reported.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

I’d stayed at The Tralee a few times 5ish years ago and booked it on the basis that I knew it was a pretty good place. I then read the reviews on TripAdvisor and was slightly concerned. My overall view is that most of the points made by others seem to be justified. We (2
adults and a 2 and a 5 year old) stayed in a family room weekend after Easter 2007. Clientele were a fair mix of middle-aged couples, families and others and were all fairly respectable. No sign of stag parties.

We struggled to sleep on the first night as the room was so hot. Only
one of the 3 windows would open. At midnight we changed to a room
“miles” away in the “West Wing”. This appeared to be a suite and was much more spacious and cooler than the first room. Apparently all rooms along the front of the building are hot all year round and they don’t know why.

The Good Points – Excellent location close to town and zig-zag path to the beach. Nicely redone ground floor reception and bar area (yes the reception area does look a bit cheap, but no problem with that – it’s functional). Friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable amount of free car-parking (though probably not enough when hotel is full). Spacious and tasteful dining area.

The Bad points – Accommodation could do with a lick of paint, particularly the doors and hallways. Many of the windows are rotten and do not open – it seems that each room has the minimum one opening window. Some of the room furniture is shabby – bed settee in first room had wooden frame showing through the fabric. Bathrooms are OK but showers and hot water are hit and miss. Water in rooms was not fit for drinking. Cooked breakfast was limited and lukewarm (cold fried bread – ugh!). Continental breakfast very limited – no pastries or cold meat or breads). Mattress in 2nd room lumpy and uncomfortable and not changed as requested. No chalk available for pool table. Remote control did not work.

The Tralee used to be a very good 3 star but has definitely suffered from lack of investment. I would say it still looks better than many of the other 3 star places in Bournemouth but a few million pounds investment wouldn’t hurt. It is a huge place!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Well said wedding guests. I stayed at the Tralee last year, wrote to the manager who didn't even bother sending a reply to our complaint. The Tralee is sadly now nothing more than a wannabe bed & breakfast. It was much better when it was privately owned 5 years ago. Simon & his then team couldn't do enough for all the guests & we looked forward to our annual break. We would never go back there ever again. Shame, as it used to be a nice hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We had our Wedding at the Tralee. The conference manager actually changed 3 times due to Youngs selling two of their four hotels and the manager we initially saw went with them, so we struggled to get what we had initially agreed. The new conference manager thought it not necessary to turn up for even 5 minutes on the day to make sure we were happy, not did she feel it appropriate to be there when we brought the table decorations the day before. Staff were taping down pieces of carpet whilst the drinks reception was underway. The table favours were placed on the wrong tables.The Master of ceremonies was not been briefed and so kept having to interrupt us as we mingled with our guests. The Honeymoon suite was like an ice box, the heating in the room had not been turned on nor could we get it to work. The water was not drinkable and no bottled water was provided. Property that we could not locate the morning after, that we presumed had been kept safe for us was found in the bin after we requested the bins be searched. The standard of food was not what we expected for a wedding. The figurines from the cake were thrown away and they will not replace them, nor are they willing to offer any sort of compensation after we gave them a grand total of £5,400. I would defianately not receommend this hotel for a wedding, nor would I recommend it as a hotel to stay in for any length of holiday stay. I would go over the road to the Highcliff Marriott, as the only thing going for the Tralee Hotel is its location. Hopefully Youngs will sell the remaining two Hotels and let the professional hoteliers show chains like Young Hotels how its really done.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

Last year i did my work experience at The TraleeHotel and i loved and would certainly go back. The things i liked were that the staff were all so freindly and welcoming. The hotel is located in a great place becuase it is very near the town and the sea front, and many of the hotel rooms have fabulous views.
When i left i was sad to go and i would definitely recommend it to every customer group.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tralee

Address: West Hill Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.