We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little faded but still elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth to your Saves list
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A little faded but still elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Uniformly excellent staff and a very spacious room with a stunniing sea view made this a most enjoyable overnight stay. Although the decor in parts was a little tired, everywhere appeared clean. The spacious dining room and lounge gave a relaxed atmosphere. Dinner was good with a small but well balanced menu. Service and the food was good. The breakfast buffet was adequate without being lavish, the coffee excellent. Although perhaps not the Grand hotel it once was it represents good value for money, particularly if on a deal. The indoor pool. jacuzzi and sauna were fine if on the compact side. The weather was a bit chilly to make use of the outdoor pool with its pretty surrounds.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    233
    76
    29
    21
See reviews for
139
269
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
coulsdon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived at 12.30 pm ,very pleasant and welcoming young lady on reception,we were told the room would not be ready till 3pm,which I felt was a bit late, one would expect from 2pm at least,but it was a gorgeous day so we went off and had a picnic then enjoyed a sit on the lovely terrace at the front of the hotel,lovely seaview.We were pleased with the room ,large with a seaview ,only downside it had a communicating door so it was not exactly soundproof so heard the next door occupants come in and chat at 1am in the morning.Three course dinner was quite good ,hot and nicely presented.You could have coffee served in the lounge afterwards.all the staff were very friendly and efficient,we would return again.

Room Tip: Worth having a seaview ,ask for room with no communicating door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. The team and I were pleased to read that you had a great time. We always guarantee rooms from 3pm but generally they are ready much earlier than that when allowing guests check in earlier than expected. There are a few rooms that are interconnecting which are great for families but on occasion do allow noise to travel. We all look forward to welcoming you back, kind regards Paul Clarke, General Manager.

We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

On arrival, we were met by a very friendly receptionist, however, it was clear that we were not booked in, when he looked at our conformation info he then only booked us in for one night not two. For which he apologised. The room was very small and cramped. After unpacking and getting settled, the loo would not flush, (no water in the system). We were told it had been repaired on our return from a walk, however, after testing it, it was not to be. We were then told how to flush the loo , after explaining, we were moved to another room. A family room and a big improvement. The evening meal was very nice, staff friendly and helpful. A good choice and hearty breakfast was ad and set us up for the day.
The hotel was right on the beach front and stunning views. Would stay again and love to go back soon

Room Tip: Family room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry for what happened initially but I was delighted that the team listened to your feedback during your stay and rectified the issues and also moved you to another room which you were happy with. Hotels on occasion do get it wrong and its important that they put their hands up (which we always will), what’s more important is how they deal with the issue resulting in a happy customer which will return, which i am pleased you will be. Many thanks for the feedback and we all look forward to your return visit. Paul Clarke, General Manager

We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me on paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Menzies is ideally located for concerts at the BIC, just 15 minutes walk along the cliff top or the promenade. Our welcome was warm and super efficient, the newly refurbished room was a spacious and comfortable and the sea view was a real bonus. Breakfast offered a great choice of hot and cold food, again the staff were attentive and pleasant. We have stayed in other hotels in Bournemouth, but this was great value and we will definitely return when the pool is open for the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a two night break that included a meal in the restaurant. The room rate is £97 per night and I felt that this was was quite expensive for this time of year. We booked because the rate included a meal for two, this is worth £45.

The food was ok but service was poor at our table. The restaurant was quite busy and the service seemed fine for the other tables. Our drinks order seemed to get lost, and also for the next table, and when it came the wrong wine was served. Other tables arrived and left before we were served our food. There was a long delay for the main course

The waiters started to set adjacent tables for breakfast before we finished our dinner. I think this is poor for a 4* establishment, especially when it was before 10pm.

Breakfast was very good.

The room was nicely furnished and recently decorated but very small.

On balance we would probably look for another hotel if we return to Bournemouth.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry you did not have the experience that most of our trip advisor reviewers have had in recent months, some of the points you have raised are valid and I have spoken to team about this as we always strive to improve in this competitive market place. We do on occasion do special offers and would recommend to all prospective guests to sign up to our newsletter at menzieshotels.co.uk to benefit from these. Many thanks for the feedback Paul Clarke, General Manager.
We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me on paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a fabulous stay we had at the East Cliff Court Hotel.

We stayed after an evening function and enjoyed the whole experience.

The staff gave a warm welcome at reception, efficiently booked us in and our room was lovely.

Big comfy bed, modern bathroom and stunning views of the Solent.

Room service was speedy and the food was excellent.

The evening function was very well managed. Plenty of staff looking after us, high quality food and stylish environment.

Excellent value for money and we hope to stay again soon.

I personally host meetings at the hotel on a regular basis so it was a treat to stay overnight.

High points of the hotel for me:
1) the staff
2) the customer service
3) food
4) stylish bedrooms and decor.

Room Tip: Room 1112 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I do not usually expect much from the smaller seaside hotels, however I found this hotel a very pleasant surprise on all levels. It has been recently refurbished to a good standard, our room was very clear and modern, the bathroom well equipped and everything required for a relaxing stay. The staff were professional, polite and attentive. Lunch and breakfast were of a good standard at reasonable cost. The view of the sea was wonderful from the bar / lounge area and although it was out of season to use the outside pool, it must be very inviting in the summer and is also very attractive. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family, the hotel is in a good position for town, with free parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. The team and I were delighted that you had a great stay. One of the hotels unique selling points is its unrivalled panoramic direct sea views from the bar terrace which many people regularly comment on how tranquil it is, especially as we are located on the quieter East Cliff opposed to the noisy West Cliff of Bournemouth.
We all look forward to welcoming you back when our outdoor pool will open from May for a quick dip! Kind regards Paul Clarke, General Manager.
We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me on paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menzies Bournemouth East Cliff Court is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Menzies East Cliff Court hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Menzies Carlton, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers.The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.