We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth to your Saves list
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday in November. We chose a seaview room and were pleased we did as the sun was out and the views were excellent. The hotel is also in an excellent location, being only a 10 minute walk, if that, into the central area of Bournemouth, where there is a good choice of restaurants and things to do.

Customer service at the hotel was very good - all the staff were cheerful and helpful. The overall decor in the hotel is of a high standard and the bedrooms were comfortable. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was excellent with the wide choice of buffet food freshly prepared and not sitting around for too long. The overall ambience in the dining room and the other public rooms made you feel comfortable.

Perhaps not that cheap at £239 for two nights b&b, but no regrets at having chosen to stay there. We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view .... for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    200
    67
    28
    18
See reviews for
127
244
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My two sisters and I stayed at this hotel on 12th November for one night only. We asked for a room that would accommodate the 3 of us. We were given a lovely big room with a nice sofa, 3 comfy beds and even a little bowl of miniature rock sweets on the coffee table.
The price included a three course evening meal. The food was very good and as the stay was to celebrate my sister's birthday we were given a bottle of wine on the house. The staff even put a candle on her dessert and sang happy birthday.
Breakfast in the morning was also very good.
All the staff were very friendly and attentive.
The decor in the dining room needs some updating and the water pressure in the shower wasn't very good, fine for an overnight stay but wouldn't have liked it for a longer stay.
All in all the hotel was very good value for the money we paid and I would recommend it to others! planning another visit next year but maybe go for a sea view room as views from hotel are superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just had 2 night stay here. Booked a double room and was pleasantly surprised to be given a suite for same money. Rooms were hot so we turned the heating off and the bed rather soft for us. Hotel not busy, staff all very friendly and helpful. Ate in restaurant both nights and looked a good range of choice, although my mango pannacotta was rather rubbery! Minor criticisms were that we kept being called 'guys' by the staff e.g. what would you guys like? We feel as a more mature couple that this is too pally. Also, the waiting staff leant across me to serve my husband with his food rather that walk round to his side of the table. We enjoyed the break though and would recommend the hotel to anyone. It is well placed facing the sea and parking is easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having stayed next door at the Menzies Carlton (next door and sister property) I sort of knew what to expect. I only unfortunately get to stay in Bournemouth hotels for an overnight stay as I am joining or leaving a train and / or ferry from Poole. However during my brief stay I had
a comfortable room with views, great morning breakfast (maybe not as expansive as the Cumberland) but more than adequate and friendly staff servicing my requirements when / if needed. I was even more enamoured with the hotels friendliness when I overheard on check out several parties having problems with overbookings due a bedbank feeding in none existent reservations which the head receptionist duly sorted in a calm manner, resolved the problem and left all that were affected feeling very well looked after, all this before I had even managed to get my bill and sign it...exemplary service, which to me makes up more than 50% of the stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were looking to celebrate a family birthday and found this great value offer for Sunday nights - spend £75 in the restaurant and get free overnight accommodation and breakfast that night. So, we had the free room and the family came along to enjoy dinner.

Checked in mid Sunday afternoon and relaxed in our room - we were lucky and had an upgrade to sea view. Not really walking weather that day, but had a fantastic view across the bay as the storm clouds swirled around and over us. (On a better day the hotel is well placed, on the cliff top (for a level walk) and near the zig zag if you want to get down on the beach. Good size room, all very clean with a great shower. We were amazed that despite the overnight storm how well the double glazing kept out the noise.

Met in the bar for some drinks before dinner and then went through to the restaurant. Enjoyed a very competitively priced, value for money, three course meal. Good, friendly, attentive service, but not intrusive. We all enjoyed our different meals - well actually we also enjoyed each others as the three "boys" sampled each others choices.

Overall a very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon and evening - topped off by a cooked breakfast next day before heading off to work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent three nights with a Bridge Group at the end of October, 2013. Was delighted to find I had been given a suite with a queen sized bed and separate sitting room - with a sea view. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful - with always a smile. The decor was a little old fashioned but very pleasant, and the food beautifully presented. Would certainly recommend this Hotel and look forward to another trip next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've just completed my 3 day break at the East Cliff Court and would say that each visit,this is my third,just seems to be better than the last.I would certainly say that the restaurant and the choice of food could not be surpassed.The staff are quite outstanding,nothing is too much trouble and ev ery request is met with a smile.The hotel enjoys a great location,affording splendid views and is only a short walk to town from where there is a great bus service with trips to many places of interest.Guests are allowed to make use of the facilities at the Carlton (next door) which include aheated pool, well equipped gymnasium etc. It all combines to make this a great choice.

Room Tip: pay the little extra and go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menzies Bournemouth East Cliff Court is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Menzies East Cliff Court hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Menzies Carlton, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers.The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.