We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel a disappointing stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth to your Saves list
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel a disappointing stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the hotel and would have to say it was a disappointing experience. While the room had a lovely view the hotel itself is in need of an upgrade. The staff in general were very pleasant and did all they could to assist during our stay. Although on check out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or offered any assistance with our luggage. There was no mini bar available or even milk to make a cup of tea. If staying be aware that breakfast finishes at 9.30 am even though we were told when checking in it was 10.00am. So the first morning we missed out and the second morning the power went out and we missed out again.
Overall it is not worth the money and I certainly don't believe it is four star quality.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review, I am sorry that you felt your experience over the four days of your stay warranted a two out of five rating.I have to say the team and I am most suprised given that we know who you are and what room you stayed in.The room you had was 2207 a nice sea facing room with a balcony.I accept the breakfast times were miscommunicated which affetced you on the thursday and friday of your stay, regretably there was a power failure in the bournemouth area which was beyond our control on the sunday morning.We do not have mini bars in any of our rooms but we do provide milk jiggers in the room which are changed daily, fresh milk is provided with our compliments upon request.Refering to your comment about the hotel being tired, I am pleased to advise all readers of this review that we have almost completed our bedroom refubishment with 30 of our west wing rooms completed and the remaining 8 will be finished on the 28th October, this has transformed the bedroom product we now have to offer to future guests.The pulic areas are in the process of being re decorated as well.Many thanks for your review, Paul Clarke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    198
    67
    28
    18
See reviews for
125
243
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we hired a function room for our Golden Wedding party. The beautiful room was laid out just as we wanted and was enjoyed by all. We also had the service of a very sweet waitress and other staff. Our guests were delighted.(as were we,) with the venue with many promising to hold their next celebration at your hotel. Many thanks for making our celebration so successful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful weekend family gathering, 22 in all, of parents, grandparents, and children well catered for and serviced particularly by patient and understanding waitress Shauna. Good accommodation and excellent cuisine located close to the beach and attractions of central Bournemouth, Adjacent health suite and swimming facilities enjoyed by children ranging in age between eleven and nineteen. All in all a fantastic break.However, one complaint, the disabled accommodation requires a walk in shower rather than the bath that I was unable to use..

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at East Cliff Court hotel for one night on 15/9/12. It started off almost with disappointed, after having spent some considerable time reviewing hotels, we arrived only to be told that the website I had booked the hotel through had over booked the rooms and they were full. They said it was booking.com who had done this, however I had actually booked through travelrepublic.com so who was actually responsibly, I don't know. I expressed my disappointment and the man on the desk then gave me a room, which was even better than I had ordered - not only a seaview, but also with a balcony. So fortunately for us, it worked out well, however there were a family who came in after we had checked in and had the same problem and were turned away.
So despite the initial problems, the hotel was great. The room was extremely comfortable, with fantastic views, comfortable bed and extremely clean. The hotel isn't cheap,but then none of them are in Bournemouth, so I would say this is good value for money and good that you can book one night (and not the obligatory two as with a lot of the hotels). We only ate breakfast, but it was superb and very good service.
The hotel is along the more peaceful area of East Cliffe which means you're close enough for the town but without the noise. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into the town.
I would definitely stay again but would double check the booking before arriving.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed every second of our stay, did exactly what we needed chilled, comfortable, excellent sea view room and excellent staff, they even laid on the weather it was perfect and I can only say a huge thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to Bournemouth together with my friend to see some sights as we heard that it is a top destination to visit.
We have chosen to book Menzies East Cliff Court via Lastminute.com, which was really good idea as they have given us very good price for really amazing room.
I have also heard that this hotel is one of the best hotels in Bournemouth. Now after visiting the place I would say it is the best.
We have been allocated a standard double room but it still had smashing side sea view.
The rooms must have been just refurbished as they looked very nice and looked after. The breakfast was another nice surprise, it was plentiful. I can't even remember what exactly was in menu as it was a really long list of what is served.
The staff was very nice too. Girls who were serving the breakfast were really efficient, quick and friendly. I can recommend this place to everyone with no doubt that you will not enjoy it! Ohh almost forgot :) The views are breath taking! Hotel is on the top of the cliff.
The hotel is situated near the town centre, shops like eg tesco are just 5 mins walking distance from the hotel.
We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: think that all are good as they must have refurbished the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I took our family to the East Cliff Court for the Air Show event on Friday 31st August - it was a fantastic day and made all the more enjoyable by the professional and friendly staff at the East Cliff, starting with pimms then bar-b-que lunch and finally afternoon tea whilst watching the wonderful red arrows perform there amazing was truly memorable. we shall certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menzies Bournemouth East Cliff Court is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Menzies East Cliff Court hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Menzies Carlton, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers.The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.