We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed - wedding at the Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth to your Saves list
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very impressed - wedding at the Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We run a beach weddings venue in Bournemouth and had to relocate a wedding due to exceptionally high winds and called the East Cliff Court Hotel before 7am in the morning of the day itself and luckily their beautiful Ocean View suite was available. Within an hour we had it all arranged with their manager David and David and his staff worked very swiftly and attentively to look after our bride and groom and all of the wishes that we had on the day with very little notice. Our couple and their guests were thrilled with the Hotel and all that it had to offer and we thank them for stepping in at such notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    198
    67
    28
    18
See reviews for
126
243
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Room facing the car park, though sea view requested. Room quite basic, with the old windows rattling throughout the night due to wind. The location is good, but would not rate the hotel as a 4*.
No complaints about the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenziesECC, General Manager at Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.Given the rating i felt it appropriate to respond.I have investigated and I know that you stayed in room 2201, a very nice double room with flat screen tv and all the facilities you would expect of a AA rated four star hotel.I was sorry you felt it was not to your expectations.Your reservation had a request for a sea view which incurs a supplementary charge, if this was not offered please accept my apologies.The noise you refered to was a lose pain of glass which has been fixed today.I very much hope you will return in future, please contact me personally when i will be able to ensure you have a much better experience, many thanks Paul Clarke, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I visited East Cliff for a wedding at the end of April. The wedding was lovely, and the staff were incredably freindly and helpful. They went out of their way to look after us, even keeping the bar open late for our party.

The rooms were tidy and clean, but the decor was quite old, and given the cost of the hotel could have benefitted from a re-fit. The setting was lovely, on the cliff overlooking the sea, with beautiful gardens for a few swift photos before the rain, and we all felt really looked after during our stay.

The main dissapointment was the food. The hotel was full, and very busy, but on arrival we were hungry and ordered (expenisive) sandwiches in the bar, which we waited around 40 minutes for. The wedding breakfast was well-presented, in a lovely dining room but quite average fare and the evening buffet seemed an odd mixture of snacks, which were mostly fried. A friend was staying half-board, and went for an evening meal in the restaurant, which he found extremely disappointing, and felt that the staff were clearly concentrating on the wedding, not on resturant guests.

Breakfast in the morning was good, but was a standard hotel buffet - nothing special.

I had a great stay here, but found the standard did not entirely live up to expectiations for this type of hotel, which seemed a little over-priced for what we received. The staff did their best to make us welcome and comfortable, but East Cliff would benefit from a little modernisation of their rooms and menu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have stayed here for the several occasions & they are excellent with the room, food, great location and service at reception etc.. Cant wait to join them again!

Room Tip: family best on the side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had an excellent weekend stay, the accommodation was very good and the service superb. I had organised a surprise party for my Mother and the staff could not have been more helpful. I would highly recommend the hotel for a function as well as a stay. Paul the manger went out of his way to make sure everything ran smoothly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After reading some comments on this site about this hotel, I was a little worried about our weekend. However I was pleasantly surprised. Check in was simple and although our room overlooked the side car park, we did have a view of the sea.The room was clean and comfortable with free water, sweets and drinks. The bathroom had a nice supply of toiletries too and nice fluffy white towels and fluffy white robes. The staff were all lovely and the pool was a welcome surprise and was used each day. Towels were also provided here too. The breakfast was good with a range of foods to suit everyone. This is an ideal location and I would love to return. Thank you for helping our hen weekend so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies facing the sea were beautiful if you can afford to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just got back from hen weekend here and was so glad we stayed here. Hotel was clean, rooms were a decent size, breakfast was lovely evening meal was outstanding, only downside was our room had no air conditioning and there were no fans left, good value for money would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menzies Bournemouth East Cliff Court is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Menzies East Cliff Court hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Menzies Carlton, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers.The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.