We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain about the price, there are a couple of buts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MaeMar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MaeMar Hotel to your Saves list
MaeMar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Can't complain about the price, there are a couple of buts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is very reasonable and just a short hop into town or the seafront. The overall value taking into account the breakfast, a nice comfy bed, tea and coffee in room etc against the price per head is pretty amazing. However, if you like a warm or even hot shower, that was a no go and if you like lit corridors, that also is a no go. You will receive a friendly welcome, albeit a bit dated. If you are only there one or two nights and plan on being out and about, you can't really go wrong.

Room Tip: Check on the hot water situation before accepting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    17
    20
    46
See reviews for
11
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed over on the 30th November for the one night costing just under £60 for three single beds, Was told there was some were you could leave your luggage until check in time, ended up leaving it in the hotels restaurant which wasn't locked up. The room it self wasn't to bad although all the beds were different heights the bathroom was okay the shower looked like it may fall off but it was a nice shower to use, The bed were squeaky and uncomfortable the cover was way too fin. Kept losing electrical connection so the tv would just turn off then come back on wifi was the same. The breakfast was shocking hardly any bacon or sausages available. Cheap hotel okay for a night no more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went there for just a cheap stay, and it was nice. Me and my friend got moved twice before getting a decent room. First room the bathroom light was broke. we then got moved uostairs to find out he had taken us to the wrong room. Then got moved to what felt like the other side of the hotel to have a decent room but the door didn't look. There was not guttering in the door so even when looked it was still able to be pushed open. We then got moved back to next door where we first started. My parents paid for a double room, not too singles pushed together. The shower in my parents room had no heat to it. Nothing but cold water. When we finally got to our room the shower was nothing but hot. That room had no problems. Bed we're extremely comfy and breakfast in the morning was really nice too.

It is a nice hotel for the price but when you have people staying make sure their rooms are ready for them and that they are checked for any faults. It would of made our stay a lot more pleasant if we didn't have to keep going back to reception complaining about something to then be moved.

Room Tip: Make sure you check everything about the room before settling down in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for one night with my partner. We booked into the Maemar but we're actually in a room in the adjoining Glendevon Hotel. The sheets and bathroom were clean but the room itself was very shabby. The window leaked quite badly and the shower tap was almost hanging of the wall. Seating in the breakfast room was extremely cramped but the food was ok. We had a very cheap rate and I suppose you get what you pay for! Don't think we would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for just the one night ended up staying at their sister hotel the Glendevon which was just next door. A good sized, comfortable and clean room. Lovely friendly staff....and breakfast....was a brilliant help yourself affair...as much or as little as you want. Have no complaints whatsoever and would both recommend and definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strensham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as we needed to be near the Port for our ferry to France. The hotel is like a bad seventies relic, beds were uncomfortable and were 60's divans. Colour scheme of room was loud and nothing matched. The lock on the window was broken so anyone could have broken in while we were out of the room. It was fixed when we got back but in a very 'gash way'. None of the staff seem to have much interest in their jobs. We left very early to catch a ferry and was told that there would be a night security member of staff on duty, however he or she was no where to be seen. Parking can also be a problem as the streets were packed with vehicles, did manage to find somewhere eventually.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest. We have only recently purchased next door which was the part of the building you stayed in, and is due to updated this all takes time. My staff are always happy to help, we have a porter on 24hrs who checks around the hotel at least on an hourly basis perhaps he was doing this at the time you checked out. I can not see my staff were not interested in their job when you got the window fixed all bit temporarily. Weekends are very busy here and yes parking can be a problem we can only offer limited parking at a cost of £6.00 per day. But there is 2 public car parks close @ the cost of £9.00 24hrs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff were friendly/happy to help.... Hotel location is perfect if your planning on have a overnight stay..... Room was clean and tidy, but beds were really uncomfortable..

But having said that the room was spotlessly clean so no complains there.

My may issue,about hotel is the lack of security in and round hotel.

Room lock didn't work properly,we had a completely strange come into our door in the early hours of the morning!

The front door of the hotel wasn't locked and for some reason the hotel allowed homeless people to sleep in the reception area of the hotel which I found strange and not good practice..Especially as there running business and guests have paid £45 plus for a room.

I feel this hotel wasn't good value for money, the hotel needs a good revamp and to renew there policy on security within the hotel..... .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, We are pleased that overall you found your stay acceptable. The doors do lock, you have to lock from the inside by pushing the button in the middle of the handle and turning it then close the door then it is locked key you just need to unlock with. We do not allow homeless people to sleep on our sofas, We have stag groups and sometimes one or two of them fall asleep on sofas our night staff do try to wake them and get them to their rooms but this is not always possible they have had 1 to many drinks, so usually best to leave them. Revamping in the pipeline to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MaeMar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaeMar Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MaeMar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your MaeMar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MaeMar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.