We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite all the bad reviews!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MaeMar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MaeMar Hotel to your Saves list
MaeMar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Exeter, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Despite all the bad reviews!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Maemar in 2010 and going to Bournemouth again this year decided to book again. We arrived on Friday 26th October, the hotel was lovely and clean, the Receptionist was very helpful too us, allowing us into one of the booked rooms even though we were early. Our rooms were very clean and tidy, ensuite bathrooms were spotless. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was self service, but very nice. One problem was that the heater in one room didnt work, but this was sorted out straight away and a portable heater brought to the room.
Beds were comfortable and clean.
We found the whole weekend to be very good, its not the Ritz but then its not Ritz prices, it is a great hotel to stay in to use as a base for shopping, the beach or going into town to party

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaemarBournemouth, Manager at MaeMar Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are sorry you had a problem with the heating, we have sorted this problem out now. we are always pleased to help. We hope to see you again. Glad you had a good weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    17
    21
    47
See reviews for
11
29
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Maemar Hotel, 27/10/2012, as we were attending a gig at the BIC Bournemouth. Despite it saying the hotel has been refurbished in advertising, it is pretty down at heel which could be generally applied to Bournemouth itself. First impressions were a crowd of ‘geezers’ sitting outside on the steps drinking alcohol. When we booked in the lady on reception informed us that the boiler was in the process of being fixed. There was no heating or hot water the following morning so I guess they failed to fix it. At breakfast which was only served between 08.30 and 09.30 hours the staff seemed to be barely able to cope with the number of guests. The breakfast is self-service and when the staff did eventually replenish the supplies the food was acceptable. The room cleanliness was reasonable. There was some considerable noise from other guests with a guest banging on a bedroom door and shouting for about an hour to be let in. This was Saturday night in Bournemouth however and most people can't hold there drink, so not completely the Hotel's fault. In summary I would put the standard a notch below Travelodge or Premier Inn, but the room was only £50.00 with a breakfast included..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I still booked after reading reviews here.... I will listen in future!

Firstly rooms are clearly advertised as WiFi throughout, yet i got a room with no WiFi at all, Thankfully staff swapped rooms for me and i then had a room where wifi did indeed work, but its unacceptable to advertise something that doesn't exist and a huge inconvenience to have to swap rooms after a guest had unpacked etc.

Secondly, i know your hotel doesn't provide parking and yes they state that but maybe it really should mention to booking guests that parking is beyond difficult to be almost impossible near the hotel! I spent 45min driving around and around in circles to try to park and ended up 10min walk away, now as a business trip the car had expensive equipment in the boot and this just isn't good at all, be clearer in your comments on parking.

Thirdly and by far most importantly, you WILL NOT be able to sleep whatsoever? The hotel seemed to be full of drunk loud-mouthed yobs (for want of a better word) in town purely to party and get lashed up. From about 9-10pm i couldn't even hear the rooms TV on full volume,due to the noise from slamming doors, shouting and singing and foul language guests that seem to be your clientele. And from 2am-5am it got far far worse, there was a constant flurry of loud drunken singing up and down the corridor, people seemingly banging into doors and walls (fighting in corridor?), lots of shouting constantly and foul language.

I felt very intimidated and somewhat scared in my room, else i would have gone and complained at reception but frankly i didn't want to be confronted by these 'thugs' by leaving my room! It got so bad i decided to brave checking out at 5.30am and slept in my car for a few hours (at least i got to sleep, albeit cold and uncomfortable). Even when i did leave the hotel i was confronted by a bunch of drunks on the front steps who actually said to me "hahaha looks hes had enough of the party hahahah".!

I cant recommend enough to stay away from this place if you want an actual 'hotel' experience, sure if you just want a room so you and your mates want to get lashed, maybe it is for you..

Avoid at all costs is the best advise as someone said "dont do it"...!

Room Tip: For a good room, pick another hotel..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't do it were the first words uttered to me by an old lady having a cig outside!!! Good start I thought!
Ever the optimist I checked in only to find the chap on reception only spoke in grunts and was very sparing with those! I'll move on at a fast pace now

Maids- non employed by the looks of it!
Cleanliness- think heroin addicts house.
Staff- imagine the family of someone you had stabbed to death then your getting close.
Room- I can't be bothered with this now!

On a brighter note and this is would make Alton towers proud, if you do go against every review on here and stay please enjoy the lift of doom!!!!!
By the look of it someone's grandad made it in his garden shed out of old cabinets and a pantry door.

The end

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with 7 of my friends, room was filthy. Dust and dirt everywhere, there was a vest left under the bed obviously from the person who had stayed previously. Shower was dirty, mould all over it. Bunk bed was very unstable, we actually put the mattress on the floor as it was so unsafe to sleep on. Service was okay, greeted as normal them not spoken to again or thanked for our stay. If you are literally getting your head down for a sleep then it's perfect. Would be gutted if I had turnt up for a weekend away though!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

For the cost this place is ok.good breakfast. in a good spot.hotel is tired but rooms were clean and beds comfy...i'm 58 yr old on sons stag night.would'nt bring my wife but then we're used to 4/5* hotels!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildenborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel one night of which I managed to get some sleep. First night was next door to a stag party, talking and banging around til 3.30am, third night had a team of school children- no discipline banging doors, running up and down stairs 5pm - 11pm. Asked for replenishment of toilet rolls 3 times during the day until I received them at the end of the day, mouldy off milk in a satchet was found when opened for coffee, Window broken and remained open for the three days while a gale blew in- was told it would be fixed but never was, en suite door locked and I had to get reception staff to open then had to put towel in doorway so it wouldnt shut again, breakfast 8.30am - far too late for people like myself that left the hotel 7.30am for bus tour and onward travel. The whole 3 days was a shambles and still awaiting a requested refund- to add insult to injury staff took off payment twice on my credit card. Altogether I was appalled having worked in the hotel/travel industry in New Zealand. We wouldnt allow this to happen there!!!!

Room Tip: I just dont recommend booking this hotel at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MaeMar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaeMar Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MaeMar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your MaeMar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MaeMar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.