We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not wanted as guest unless with wedding party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not wanted as guest unless with wedding party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 1:15pm was told could not check in till 2pm, waited in reception area looked very nice, when we got to our room, it was very old fasioned, but the room looked clean. A small chiller in room was not plugged in, so we switched it on left it all day but it never got cold, and it was mouldy inside!!

We went out for the day, got back at 11:30 wedding was in full swing the whole hotel was very loud, the music was really load in our room but this stopped at midnight, however the guests then spent the next hour shouting swearing and being load, it was now 1am we thought it would quieten down. At this point knock down ginger started running and shouting in corridor.

There then seemed to be what sounded like a porn movie being made it was so embarrasing lots of men visited the same room making lots and lots of noise with a woman this went on till about 4am.

At breakfast other guests were complaining abouting the antics of last night, however we had no complaint about breakfast.

At checkout the receptionist was reading I told her I wished to check out she didn't speak to me snatched my key, then carried on reading. I said to her have a nice day your welcome thanks for staying to which she replied "can't you see I'm busy".

At no point during my stay did we feel valued as a guest the receptionists were rude at checkin and checkout. People complained at breakfast about the noise to be told the wedding party can do what they like in the hotel.

Do not stay here if they have a wedding!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    99
    71
    60
    42
See reviews for
42
175
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic location close to the beach and town centre. The breakfast was better than expected. We were expecting a continental breakfast only but were offered a range of cooked options which were cooked to order rather than buffet style. Room was small but clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Only critisism would be that the weather was very hot when we stayed and the room was quite hot. A fan/air con would have been good.
Not luxurious but very good value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaaaaa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was quite nice and it is very well suited for parties and weddings. Probably not such a good for a couple weekend out. We came for a weekend and got a nice double room although with to singles pushed together so you have to deal with the gap in the middle. The facilities in the room were nice and also with good powerful hair-drier :) Next time I would not opt for a room which has windows facing the patio area as you can get woken up by other guests quite easily. I really liked the design and the location was quite good only 3 minutes walk to the beach. The breakfast was only until 9.30 and when we arrived at 9.10 there was not much left from buffet so we ordered omelet. The area was completely full so they sat us by the table that had dirty dishes after somebody from one side. Not a big deal but I prefer to have a breakfast without dirty dishes of somebody else sitting next to me so it was bit disappointing when staff left it on the table and leaving our table empty handed. As said by somebody else in other review it would have been much pleasant with bit more attention to detail. But still I think I would go back :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

After our bad experience of the Ibis Hotel and being double booked we were instructed we were expected here and so travelled across the road to the Orchid Hotel. Pleasant view from the outside. At reception we explained the situation and instead of the £60 we booked online we were told it was now £69 to stay there for the night! Argued about the situation and eventually the receptionist let us pay £60 and gave us the key to our room (206) We were in a room at the top of 2 flights of stairs on our own which was nice.

Bedroom was a bit small but clean and had everything you needed (iron, coat hangers, phone, TV) wires were everywhere though which let it down. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and airy. Also the double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together which let the room down as it was easy to slip between.

We came back at about 11pm and settled down to sleep. The room was very hot and we had to keep the window open in order to keep cool. At about 3.45am we were rudely awoken byt a scraping sound from right outside our window. This continued for 45 minutes! We looked outside and it was a hotel worked dragging tables and chairs across the courtyard into the hotel. Despite asking him to stop he wouldn't. We had to close the window which left us sweltering yet we could still here this noise. It turns out it was a hotel night porter preparing for a wedding. Although the receptionist apologised it definately ruined our stay and since the hotel hosts weddings quite often I'd imagine this happens frequently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights for a wedding and as soon as we arrived we encountered an extremely rude receptionist! Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and it was dark and freezing. The window was broken and there was blood on the sheets. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

All in all this was not an unpleasant hotel, and with a bit more attention to detail could easily become a very nice place to stay. That's not yet been achieved, however.

At first glance the decor seems quite impressive, especially in the reception area, but on closer inspection, you will notice that in the dining room, for example, the full-height room divider voile curtains hang loose from the curtain tracks (presumably, there's no-one tall enough to put them back), and only 50% of the chandelier bulbs had survived.

And while we are in the dining room, breakfast was fun: the staff (all three of whom were charming but labotomised), had no idea where anybody should be, or was, sitting; the toast was clinging on for dear life to a toast rack that only had three legs; the coffee cups didn't fit the saucers (it wasn't actually coffee, but we're not entirely sure what it was); the 'muffins' turned out to be brown toast, and the veggie sausages had made their escape ("Chef has run out" - we wondered if he would come back!); the "freshly-chopped fruit" tuned out to be nothing more than a small cereal bowl of diced fruit for the whole hotel.

Moving on to the room: it was clean, though a little on the small side (it was easier to stride across the corner of the bed, rather than squeeze between it and the dressing table); the wooden venetian window blind didn't work properly and only one of the two bed-side lights had a shade; the room was baking hot and the only ventilation was a half-opened window overlooking the 'Indonesian' courtyard, which was populated by a loud, boozy, over-weight wedding party. Why the hotel then re-opened the courtyard at 07:15 on a weekend morning is anyone's guess, but it did provide us with a non-stop early morning insight in to the child-rearing deficiencies of the newly-hitched. The bath panel was cracked, both sink taps dripped constantly and the tiolet seat displayed worrying black marks. Most entertaining was the Krakatoa-like sound of the headboard dislodging from the wall after being leant against to get to the fitted hairdryer!

The reasonable price took them up to 3 stars, otherwise it would have been lower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a Very Disappointing Holiday Food AWFUL one Towel in room for two people Restrant floor not Swept Food on the Floor for the 4 Nights we stayed. Staff not very helpful. In all the years I've been traveling I have never stayed in a dirtier hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is unique among hotels in Bournemouth....Our guests enjoy a retreat from the hustle & bustle in this Asian inspired & serene hotel, located just a five minute walk from the beaches of the exclusive East Cliff, along the amazing Bournemouth coastline...34 bedrooms, including our "Aspasia Suite" & superior rooms Chilled lounge , draught beers & fine wines Excellent venue for conferences, business meeting & company events Bright, open plan, ground floor function rooms Idyllic venue for weddings, christenings & celebrations BED & BREAKFAST...AND BEACH? We can boast fantastic access to Bournemouth Beach, but if it’s retail therapy you are looking for then take the short walk to the cosmopolitan town centre where you can enjoy all that the Bournemouth shopping centre has to offer, filled with an abundance of boutiques, department stores and beauty salons. Or, take a walk and relax in the picturesque Bournemouth Gardens, a place to sit back and escape the stresses of the modern day. And for your wedding venue in Bournemouth, for both wedding ceremony and wedding reception, The Orchid has a dedicated wedding planner who will be happy to assist you throughout the entire process. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.