We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. One of the better 3 star type hotels ive stayed in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Coventry
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good. One of the better 3 star type hotels ive stayed in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I spent a while reading the reviews on this hotel on here before booking. Id heard that if there was a wedding on then the place gets noisy and no parking.

The pictures looked nice and there was some good reviews so i booked it. Imagine my horror when I then got an email from the hotel informing me that there was a private function on that night, so the noise may be higher than normal. But, they said they had booked me a room away from the courtyard / function room which are the noisy areas. They also agreed to reserve me a parking space.

Arrived at the hotel after a 3 hour drive to find no parking space. The recepionist was very apologetic and luckily they own another hotel over the road which had loads of parking spaces, so I parked there instead.

The hotel itself looked very nice, nice downstairs bar, big function room, outside court yard and another smaller function room. The only down side is you have to walk through the bar area to get to the rooms. The whole hotel was packed with a wedding reception, and we got some very strange looks as we had jeans / t-shirts on, whereas everyone else was all dressed up!

The hotel had indeed given us a nice room at the back of the hotel. We booked a family room because it was the same price as a double. Main bed was 2 smaller ones pushed together, but comfortable. Had another small bed a 3rd family member could have slept in. On suite bathroom was okay. The shower screen / bath had mega amounts of sealant around it to try and stop leaks, which made it look a bit shabby. But the suite and the tiles all looked modern & neutral, so it wouldnt take much to clean it up. Room was very spacious compared to most.

All the staff we spoke to were not English, but that was neither here nor there, they were very very polite and helpful. Certainly a credit to the hotel.

Breakfast was the usual stuff - choice of toasts, cereals, and a full english. Waitresses served you within seconds of sitting down, and the full english was very nice indeed. Normally these places have the fry up swimming in grease, but this was probably one of the best ive had. Only downer was that there wasnt enough, i could have eaten more. Luckily my missus didnt want hers, so I hate hers too!

Checkout process was nice and quick and all in all it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was litterally a few minutes walk from the centre / beech, but far enough to be a nice quiet road.

Only bits I could fault was the electric sockets near the mirror in the room where a woman would sit and get ready were positioned touching the worktop/table. So, very few power cords / connectors would actually be able to plug in! We ended up having to use the tv`s electrical socket in order to plug in hair dryer / straighteners etc..

Also, the carpets in the hotel looked like they could do with being refreshed - in the hallways and rooms.

But, those were just minor points and I certainly would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the courtyard / function room if theres any parties on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    67
    57
    41
See reviews for
37
164
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Having seen the website I thought I had found a gem. How wrong I was. The beds are so worn out you could count the springs by the dents in our bodies. If you expect somewhere quiet and serene think again, the walls are paper thin and there's no double glazing. The hotel is in a good location but is tired and a bit grubby in places.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Te hotel is a few mins away from the beach and a good locality. However, the beds in the rooms are extremely small. Its usually good as a single room and not double. You really have to adjust in 2 people. Nothing fancy about the room. its more for backpackers or someone who just wants somewhere to crash. Not cheap by any standards. There are cheaper hotels right next to the beach which are better.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view. Those are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Small room, dirty bathroom (especially the shower head was block up with lime scale and dirt), out of date UHT milk in the room..... miserable staff and unpleasant breakfast.

We had very bad experience of our 2 nights stay. Room didn't have proper blackoout curtain, only venetian blind. So you will get a bright wake up call in the summer time. As the room was on the ground floor, we felt that our room is constantly overlook by others, we felt we didn't have any privacy.

Also, there was no noise isolation for the room. You can hear everything so bad luck if you are a light sleeper. We got the treat of wedding service until at least 2am one night, and noisy guesses jumping and banging at 5am the other night. No sleep for two nights. I think camping probably would be better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely not ground floor bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

we stayed here in the suite as a treat for our engagment i loved the room! we had a TV in our bed its large clean romantic snug. i cant wait to stay here agen.. but it only being down the road from me it does seem silly to do to often! would recomend to everyone! & we are looking on getting married here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Can't tell you how disappointed I was with this hotel. Really didn't live up to the images on the website or reviews. Check before booking if there is a wedding on. Our room overlooked the courtyard where people were drinking and smoking until later, plus the music from the disco in the function room could be heard as clearly as if we were in the room. The bathroom was ok, until the room above developed a leak and flooded it. We ere told there we no spare rooms and that we should say in our room although there was water flooding through the electrics. Eventually we we move to the Woodcroft across the road but that was so shabby we almost wished we'd taken our chances. Breakfast was greasy with cheap ingredients. Beds left we both with a bad back. Please don't go!

Room Tip: Away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

A party of 7 stayed one night at the Orchid on April 30, 2011. I organised the stay and was assured that we could get into the rooms by 12 noon as we had a wedding at 1. Our original booking was for the Woodcroft Hotel, Bournemouth and after emailing to confirm a week ahead of the visit I was told there was something wrong with the hotel and we would be moved to their sister hotel, The Orchid. I should have been told by them not by me enquiring about our stay. They only had two of the five rooms available at 12. They said when we tried to book in there was a gas leak at the other hotel and was not safe to stay there. When we were walking between our hotel and the hotel where the wedding was we had to walk through the car park of the Woodcroft Hotel. Imagine our suprise when a coach load of people were being checked into the hotel. The next day the staff at the hotel told me an electric meter had been stolen from the Woodcroft making it unsafe. Two people complained of stomach problems on the trip home after our breakfast at the hotel. One of the rooms smelled terribly of cigarette smoke and the overhead light didn't work. All of the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. One of the rooms windows had tape over them. One of the rooms shower didn't work very well. I have emailed the Woodcroft Hotel to complain and after two weeks still haven't had a reply from them. All in all a very nasty experience, one I won't make again and one I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: no tips other than don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is unique among hotels in Bournemouth....Our guests enjoy a retreat from the hustle & bustle in this Asian inspired & serene hotel, located just a five minute walk from the beaches of the exclusive East Cliff, along the amazing Bournemouth coastline...34 bedrooms, including our "Aspasia Suite" & superior rooms Chilled lounge , draught beers & fine wines Excellent venue for conferences, business meeting & company events Bright, open plan, ground floor function rooms Idyllic venue for weddings, christenings & celebrations BED & BREAKFAST...AND BEACH? We can boast fantastic access to Bournemouth Beach, but if it’s retail therapy you are looking for then take the short walk to the cosmopolitan town centre where you can enjoy all that the Bournemouth shopping centre has to offer, filled with an abundance of boutiques, department stores and beauty salons. Or, take a walk and relax in the picturesque Bournemouth Gardens, a place to sit back and escape the stresses of the modern day. And for your wedding venue in Bournemouth, for both wedding ceremony and wedding reception, The Orchid has a dedicated wedding planner who will be happy to assist you throughout the entire process. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.