We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Pier

Bournemouth Pier
Pier Approach, Bournemouth BH2 5AA, England
01202 451781
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 86 things to do in Bournemouth
Attraction details
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was surprised we had to pay 60p to go on the pier - I know its not a lot in the big scheme of things but it doesn't really encourage you to go and have a look around. Despite the expenditure we went and ventured around - and to be honest were very disappointment there is a cafe you can have a drink at plus a few rides at the end of the pier and that really is about it - to be honest not worth spending the money rather have an ice-cream

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    141
    156
    51
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The pier”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pier is best seen from the beach. The pier has very little to offer. Our priced cafe that is not very clean. It's a great shame that the pier has not been updated. Bournemouth is lucky that it has its beach and the pier should be a great bonus. I do not feel that the charge to walk along the pier is justified for what facilities there are on it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bournemouth Pier is a great scenic spot if you are visiting England's southern coast. Breathtaking views and a cool breeze, a good spot for photos and relaxation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good typical seaside food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice views but typical normal take away/ caf'e menu. Would visit again as staff seemed nice and helpful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, but lose the fee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We love Bournemouth pier and enjoy the view and having a drink / food in the Keywest Restaurant. There is also a fantastic theatre on the pier, which should really get a great deal more attention from locals and holiday makers - some of the shows are great and the atmosphere is far nicer than the other local theatre, the Pavilion. The only thing I would say is that the council should lose the fee that is charged for customers to purely 'walk' along the pier. It's not on, can't create a huge amount of money, and dropping it would encourage more people to visit the pier, and to book tickets for shows in the theatre.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bournemouth Pier also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Bournemouth Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bournemouth Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.