We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burley Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Burley Court Hotel to your Saves list
Burley Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
corby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

my wife and I stayed here 10/06/14,although the decor is very dated, the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly and efficient. The room we stayed in (room 2) was very large, clean and comfortable. It overlooked the terrace and pool. The hotel is very well situated with only a ten minute walk into the town and also a ten minute walk to the pier and beaches. It is also only a five minute walk to the east cliff lift. We will be returning to this hotel within the next few weeks and think that it provides great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    27
    15
    34
See reviews for
36
79
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Positives:
Loved the location of the hotel to the beach and town.
We were allowed to check in 40 mins prior to our allocated time.
Great price

Negatives:
Very outdated in terms of decor.
Staff not very friendly.
Swimming pool was not open

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

stayed here overnight so we could get an early ferry from southampton.

rooms were very dated and not up to much.

got up at 6am to get ferry and when turned the shower on found the water was stone cold.
we did not have time to do anything about it but mentioned it when we left.

i sent a complaint email to the manager and got the response that (I am very sorry. If you had just explained this when you checked in yesterday the problem would have been resolved. Our hot water is on a timer and it comes on at 6am. If the reception had known you were leaving at such an early hour then we could have adjusted the hot water to come on half an hour earlier. Most of our guests if they know they are going to check-out before the receptionist comes on duty at 7.45am will notify reception. In your case you said nothing, even when you came back in after your meal last night you said nothing about leaving early.If you had rang down to the nightporter when you found out there was no hot water he could have put it on for you.
If you feel that threatening us with reviews on tripadvisor is the course of action you want to take,then that is your perogative, but please remember to tell the complete story.)


DONT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here from 25/04/14 until 28/04/14 along with friends.The food in this hotel is excellent and the service we received from all the staff was greatly appreciated. Yes we would return to this Hotel again and I'm well traveled and this hotel ticks the boxes the only thing that does let it down is that it does not have lager on draft instead it's in can's but it's very pricey for them as well in all fairness. But Luke the manager I think he is said that when they have coach parties and when in the busy periods they do put draft beers on.We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor it was very big and clean. The bed was comfy for me and my wife also found the bed also ok. It's in a brilliant location right by the Town Centre as Well and a 10 minute walk to the Beach. Ignore the bad reviews as now I've had the experience of visiting this place you have nothing to worry about. The reason I have only gave it 4 on my overall stay is because of the lack of drinks on offer when we did stay other than that it was great. We had breakfast and evening meals here as well. I'll give the food 10/10 for quality. You go and enjoy it folks. We did.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a large room with a double bed and also a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Another great stay had the normal friendly greeting excellent room and great breakfast
Room nice and clean no complaint Will always stay there has to be one of the best hotels in Bournemouth and excellent price this hotel is right on the top end of the town as we'll so all facilities are in walking distance
from Christine ;-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent the night unknowingly with bed bugs! Manager/owner agreed it was "disgusting" and eventually apologized. However, when we asked for a refund for the night he got very angry and seemed to really want a fight with someone. He said our money was non-refundable. At one point he even took my key card and wiped it and refused to give us our bags and possessions which were locked in the room. Environmental health and the police very interested to hear about events. We are seeking our money back with the help of trading standards. We ended up having to find another hotel to complete our stay (as he could not accommodate us for the next 2 nights that we had booked). We received no help in finding alternative accommodation and the manager still refuses to give our money back. Do not risk this hotel, especially women traveling alone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

hotel was ok, good location, breakfast ok but we had no hot water in the evening or early morning, staff were not very friendly at reception and did not respond to information about lack of hot water. heating was not good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burley Court Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Burley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burley Court Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burley Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.