We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Exeter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week while on a trip with a soccer/football team. Older hotel with a very good breakfast and clean well maintained rooms. Location was fantastic as you can get to everything in Bournemouth while being out of the middle of the night life. Not a modern place but well kept and a definite place to visit should I make it back to Bournemouth.

No air conditioning which is only an issue if it is truly hot (unusual here). Having said that, most of the places I stayed in England did not have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Wifi spotty in the rooms but great in the lobby. Would request a room not facing the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    101
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
125
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the sprawling size of the hotel and traditional seaside feel of it. Really good breakfast cooked to order and served rather than buffet style. Hotel staff very attentive and on the ball. Location is just a 5 minute walk to the pier and beach. Really enjoyed the outdoor patio at the SO bar and a good atmosphere.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here yesterday, staff were very good and helpful, breakfast was very good and nothing seemed to much for them. stayed on 2nd floor room size was very good, think some people need to remember this is the one of the oldest and historic building in Bournemouth so they are creaking floor broads. the only SMALL negative would be the landing and general areas could do with a bit of a repaint.
overall fantastic price and would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed one night with wife on a deal. The value we received was very good for half board. The Staff were very helpful. The location is ideal for the centre of Bournemouth but can be a little noisy at times but no real problem. You could say the interior in places is dated but we felt it added to the charm of the place. The Evening Meal was very good quality as was the Breakfast and Drinks at usual 3 Star prices. Overall we enjoyed our stay. No doubt in time Air Con could be installed but for us a minor issue.
Note - The Car Park is a little tight but is controlled by coded barrier

Room Tip: Higher Rooms probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just got back from a two night stay at the Royal Exeter Hotel in Bournemouth and stayed in room 201 at the front of the hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location for BIC, Winter Garden, Pier and Pavillion Theatre.
I will list the good points first and then go into the negatives. Good location for amenities, free parking, free wifi in room, friendly staff, great breakfast choice and quality.
And now the negatives, the hotel is located literally on a small roundabout, the bar / nightclub stays open very late and is very noisy, rooms are not air conditioned or cooled in any way. Rooms are spacious but very dated, pillows are hard. Some of these points to some people will sound very picky and unnecessary but added together they put the whole experience into perspective. The ceiling above the bed was patched to a very poor standard after what must have been a damaged roof. Room 201 that we stayed in is directly above the front reception of the hotel and bar SO which as stated stays open until very late with thumping bass music and groups of intoxicated people shouting and swearing into the early hours. This noise coupled with the road noise and passing vehicles sounding their horns from the busy junction made our stay unbearable. When we mentioned all these points to the two young female receptionists, they apologised but stated that because we booked on the internet we wouldn't have know it was noisy there!

Room Tip: Insist on high rooms at the back of the hotel which may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

.... not ideal in the hot summer weather we had recently as there is no air con in the rooms and they were absolutely baking!

A nice Central hotel close to the shops, beach, gardens and the Town Hall which is ideal for me when working with the council as I could just park the car in the car park and walk to work, but the room was just too hot to spend any time in aside for sleeping in and it was pretty much too warm to even do that!

Please invest in some air con even if you have to put the price of the hotel up a bit!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff are all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. You do not have to ask them they offer help and advise. I was going into the the gym when one of the housekeeping team came over and offered to set the TV for me, turn on the air con etc. the breakfasts are great all the food is cooked fresh and again the staff are really great. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at and I paid a lot more elsewhere and got a lot less

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Exeter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.