We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Exeter Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Exeter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a great weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thanks to my husband and Groupon we have just had a wonderful weekend in this hotel. Quick and friendly reception. The room was clean with kettle and tea, coffee and biscuits. Bed comfortable. Room lovely and warm, I see someone else has mentioned a noise constantly outside but honestly I could only just hear it we were on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. Shower adequate. The staff very friendly and helpful. Parking onsite free for residents given a code should you wish to come and go but as we were so close to shops and seafront we walked. Two minutes to the shops and about the same to the seafront. Perfect location. Breakfast is from a menu - from kippers to full english which was brilliant. Also fruit drinks and cereals and fruit available. Couldnt ask for more. This weekend there as a band playing old soul music which was great seems lots of locals use this bar and gave it good atmosphere - cocktails there also. The restraurant has won awards but we did not eat there this time apart from breakfast which as I say was brilliant. There is also a night club for the younger amoungst us which was free entry but this was not for me but from the outside looked stylish and quite a few people in there. All in all could not have asked for more and especially good value. I would like to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    113
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
27
136
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just spent a night at the Royal Exeter as part of a few days away. The location of the hotel is excellent being opposite the BIC. and a few minutes walk into the town. nice secure carpark and very friendly reception staff. Our room was pretty standard with a very small flat screen tv on the wall compared to the premier inn the previous night which had a 32" The bathroom was a good size with a shower and sink. The drinks in the bar were little overpriced but to be expected. The restuarant was excellant with food to the same standard as many a cruise ship we have been on very very good. My only comment here was that we had booked this hotel through groupon and the waiter refered to groupon more than once which I felt wasnt appropriate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staff here were friendly,helful and efficient.The breakfast was excellent .Room comfortable.We stayed on a saturday night when nightclub/disco was in full swing.We had a room on the top floor,not too noisey. Other people we met wernt as lucky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and generally found rooms to be comfortable, food good and the location with free parking opposite the BIC, excellent. However be warned that if you are at the back of the hotel there is a continuous nightime fan noise that even ear plugs and pillows over your head will not eliminate.Even walking through the corridors the sound is still there and the night porters although friendly have no solution.
Virtually all the staff,with one or two exceptions, are eastern european and although well trained and pleasant, sometimes understanding seems to be lacking.

Room Tip: Noise - read above. Also be aware most windows are old single glazed and it can be noisy outside as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in a single room, was a single bed but room was a decent size. Was a fair price for what you got. Great cooked breakfast and a good location about 1 min walk to the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the triangle (centre)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself is fine, bed comfy etc, but very noisy on a Saturday night when we stayed. impossible to sleep so wouldn't recommend it unless you're on a party weekend in which case it's probably fine!
Had a long day and just wanted a nice early night at 11 which wasn't to be!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Exeter mid December 2012 and were pleasantly surprised at the welcome into the hotel and the room we were allocated, which was spacious and very clean. However a couple of comments we would make. The room was fairly dim due to insufficient lighting, another point was that there were no shelves in the bathroom or shower for personal items.
The breakfast was excellent and the range was very good and served by happy staff.
Tips: When you arrive, the intercom is just inside the entrance on the right hand side this allows staff to release the barrier rather than get stuck halfway down the hill. The location is excellent a few minutes into town yet far enough away to ensure a good nights sleep, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Exeter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.