We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first family holiday......fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durley Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Durley Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Durley Grange Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first family holiday......fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast for our first family holiday with our 1 year old twins in july. We had the superior suite room which was huge and spacious enough for our double bed, 2 cots and room for our twins to play with their toys. it also had a sofa which was handy. The bathroom was also a lovely size and very spacious. The welcome and staff were exceptional 5***** we were all made to feel most welcome. The breakfast was superb as were the choice for dinners......I thought it was very good value for money and would recommend. I think the swimming pool was a huge bonus and one of the reasons we booked and weren't disappointed.
The only room for improvement would be room décor.....our room was very damp (as it was above the pool) it was also quite dated and full of condensation and smelt quite bad so maybe that could be improved but it wouldnt put us off returning to this hotel again. overall 4/5

Room Tip: room 122 was really big and nice size but it was damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    83
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
43
92
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Booked ourselves a late deal bargain so certainly can't criticise the price! (£50) All the staff were very friendly and helpful with a particular acknowledgement for the kindly lady on duty at breakfast, who made the experience a very homely, warm affair. The breakfast was ample, with a good selection of cereals etc plus the full English. Nice location: Close enough to the beach, and yet tucked away in a quiet corner of Bournemouth. Apparently we missed out on the swimming pool!-Didn't even realize it had one! But we did indulge ourselves with the curious charm of the lift which was an experience in itself. The bed was impressively comfortable and the room and facilities did the job. Some might say dated, others, and myself included, might say endearing, charming and full of homely character. Would definitely stay here again if we could get a similar price

Room Tip: We stayed in 203. Second floor overlooking the front of the Hotel. Quiet room. Not massive, but comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We decided to find a deal on booking.com for the same evening and came across this hotel, After our near two hour drive we were greeted by the receptionist who was very polite and efficient. we stayed in room 203 at the top of the house, nice room, average size and with all that we needed. We went down to the bar area to enjoy a drink and the the woman running the reception was also running the bar so 10 out of 10 for multi tasking. We noticed a shelf bulging with games so took a look, we decided on chess but unfortunately not all the pieces were there so we improvised and used three dice, draught counters and a trivial pursuit dice. It was a really nice chilled out evening with a few other folk sitting about playing Ludo and cards ect. we choose to use the lift to go back up to our room at the end of our evening, this was the tiniest lift I have ever seen, it allowed 2-3 persons in and if you moved slightly towards the opening it would stop, you could actually see the doors and floors whizzing up and down. We slept really well, nice quiet room and the bed was very comfortable, we both used the shower and after a little getting used to it was fine. Breakfast was included in the price and is between 8 & 10am we got down about 9.40 and were show our table, there was a selection of cereals and other bits and bobs such as yoghurt's, fruits and juices that we helped ourselves to, the waitress came over and took our order for our cooked breakfast, guessing that my husband would like a full English (correct) and I choose a selection of vegetarian options. The breakfast was wonderful and freshly prepared, the senior waitress was full of beans and chatted to us between her jobs. at on point she told my husband off for putting his knife in his mouth after spreading his toast which was funny and sums up a lot about the hotel. Its family run and the staff have been around a while which makes it and warm and pleasant place to be, The waitress was the star of the hotel and she would be a large reason we will stay here again. Parking was on site, but we parked across the road as being a later arrival there were no spaces to be seen, however the receptionist did inform us there were more round the back, but we didnt bother as it was raining and the car was fine on the road. All in all a great place, friendly staff and family run.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Emma the manager was unreal. Let me in 3 hours early to get changed for a wedding, then when I was leaving and asked if she could call me a taxi as I was running late -when I came downstairs she had 2 bacon rolls ready for me as she knew I was missing breakfast! Now THAT is proper service!

Clean rooms. Nice central location.
Book it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Good Value. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. Furniture was looking tired and the stair carpet needs replacing.

The staff are wonderful. The receptionist was brilliant, helpful, funny and just professional enough for you to realise that she really knew what she was doing.

Sue in the dinning room is really lovely and remembers what everyone likes, she was jolly and polite, even to the rude people.

We stay in Bournemouth a lot as we have family in the area. We will stay there again.

Entertainment every evening - prices are higher than the pub, but it is a hotel and you always pay more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent although the hotel itself is a little tired and the drinks were expensive. The changing room of the pool was not very well kept and the toilet door was so warped it wouldnt shut.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Every time we go to this hotel the staff seem happier more helpful and above seem to work harder
the food just gets better and better one little moan the bar prices are a tad too high i think but there you go what else can you say about our favorit hotel even loopy lo our friend Sandra loved it but she is easly pleased will be back next year Swiming pool is still great the best thing was that there were no kids there and most of the time we had the pool to our shelfs

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#33 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#30 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#15 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelrest Bournemouth
Travelrest Bournemouth
#45 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#44 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durley Grange Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durley Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.