We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Trouville Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Trouville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Trouville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Cheap and cheerful. Good value, good pool. Perfect for lone business traveller. Staff friendly. Lodge rooms ok, Better than some in main hotel , but steep stairs to top floor. Always slept well, no complaints really. Good buffet breakfast. Fantastic location and plentiful parking. Not a hotel for young revellers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    64
    31
    20
See reviews for
24
77
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel the service was first class very friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good at a reasonable price. The breakfast was realy good value for money and very nice. We would book this hotel again next time we visit Bournemouth

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Surprised at the negative reviews! Partner and I had a great stay at the Trouville - room was spacious and spotlessly clean, bathroom newly refurbished, and very quiet. Staff were extremely accommodating and professional. We had incorrectly booked room only but the staff ensured that we had breakfast for the remainder of our stay at the pre-booked price. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a wide variety. Chose hotel for close proximity to the BIC and was not disappointed. Close proximity to the town centre and beach also. Ample free parking. Clean and inviting communal areas. Loud pidgeons, however. Enjoyed so much booked for next year!

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo de la Miel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Bed in room 102 old and sagging crippled my back and I asked for a single mattress to be laid on the floor, but I was offered another room (101) not next door as might be expected but around several corners up and down a couple of short flights of steps where the bed was slightly better, not good but slightly better.

Water in the bathroom was signed as not drinkable so perhaps a bottle of mineral water in the room would be acceptable.

An old building, or rather a chain of three buildings linked together crating a maze of corridors and a series of interminable fire doors to negotiate and manhandle your luggage through.

Both of the rooms were used had windows looking onto interior walls and roofs that were particularly disgusting due to the pigeon droppgs and and assortment of other detritus that has accumulated on the window sills and and in the “safety nets” that I presume were installed to catch heavier stuff falling from above. As an old building there were other problems, every floor board creaked hardly any windows could be opened (and we were lucky enough to be there in a very hot period)

A good hearty breakfast but Breakfast tea only 1 teabag in a huge teapot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I first arrived the hotel seemed nice. Check in was swift and staff were nice and efficient. The room was large and not too bad decor wise. The bathroom was in need of some redecorating. Now the interesting part! Our room had 2 radiators in it Both were on full, only one had a thermostat to turn it off. We were staying in JULY in was at least 25 degrees outside!! It was so uncomfortable even with the windows open. Outside the windows were the air conditioning vents which were very noisy but we put up with the noise rather than boil. I asked at reception if our heating could be turned off and after some difficulty making the receptionist understand what I wanted I was told it would be checked. When we returned that evening the heating was still on and we noticed the radiators in the hallways were also on! There was no chance of our room cooling down with heat being pumped around the whole hotel. The restaurant had the air con on and the windows open!
Also in the evening there was only one member of staff working at the bar who was also seeing to reception so we waited at least half an hour to get served a drink! If they turned their heating off they would be able to afford to pay another member of staff!
Would not stay there again on principle even though the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is traditional but contemporary. If you are walking to the hotel be warned its on a steep hill and even the fittest guy with luggage will find it a challenge.
The bedrooms are a good size and the bathroom could do with been updated. There is a shower over the bath but is connected to the hot and cold taps. The room can get warm in the summer and if you are at the front with the window open it gets noisy with traffic and party of people going to town. We did not have breakfast or dinner there but did hear from other guests it was great.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having read previous reviews, I was surprised not to encounter squeaky floorboards and faded grandeur. A clean, well-serviced, spacious room on the top floor (217), reached by a perfectly adequate lift.
Good location for the front and the town. Breakfast and evening meal were fine, and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville Hotel

Address: 5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trouville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;