We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Trouville Hotel to your Saves list
The Trouville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful. Good value, good pool. Perfect for lone business traveller. Staff friendly. Lodge rooms ok, Better than some in main hotel , but steep stairs to top floor. Always slept well, no complaints really. Good buffet breakfast. Fantastic location and plentiful parking. Not a hotel for young revellers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    89
    44
    27
See reviews for
38
115
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel the service was first class very friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good at a reasonable price. The breakfast was realy good value for money and very nice. We would book this hotel again next time we visit Bournemouth

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Surprised at the negative reviews! Partner and I had a great stay at the Trouville - room was spacious and spotlessly clean, bathroom newly refurbished, and very quiet. Staff were extremely accommodating and professional. We had incorrectly booked room only but the staff ensured that we had breakfast for the remainder of our stay at the pre-booked price. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a wide variety. Chose hotel for close proximity to the BIC and was not disappointed. Close proximity to the town centre and beach also. Ample free parking. Clean and inviting communal areas. Loud pidgeons, however. Enjoyed so much booked for next year!

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo de la Miel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Bed in room 102 old and sagging crippled my back and I asked for a single mattress to be laid on the floor, but I was offered another room (101) not next door as might be expected but around several corners up and down a couple of short flights of steps where the bed was slightly better, not good but slightly better.

Water in the bathroom was signed as not drinkable so perhaps a bottle of mineral water in the room would be acceptable.

An old building, or rather a chain of three buildings linked together crating a maze of corridors and a series of interminable fire doors to negotiate and manhandle your luggage through.

Both of the rooms were used had windows looking onto interior walls and roofs that were particularly disgusting due to the pigeon droppgs and and assortment of other detritus that has accumulated on the window sills and and in the “safety nets” that I presume were installed to catch heavier stuff falling from above. As an old building there were other problems, every floor board creaked hardly any windows could be opened (and we were lucky enough to be there in a very hot period)

A good hearty breakfast but Breakfast tea only 1 teabag in a huge teapot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I first arrived the hotel seemed nice. Check in was swift and staff were nice and efficient. The room was large and not too bad decor wise. The bathroom was in need of some redecorating. Now the interesting part! Our room had 2 radiators in it Both were on full, only one had a thermostat to turn it off. We were staying in JULY in was at least 25 degrees outside!! It was so uncomfortable even with the windows open. Outside the windows were the air conditioning vents which were very noisy but we put up with the noise rather than boil. I asked at reception if our heating could be turned off and after some difficulty making the receptionist understand what I wanted I was told it would be checked. When we returned that evening the heating was still on and we noticed the radiators in the hallways were also on! There was no chance of our room cooling down with heat being pumped around the whole hotel. The restaurant had the air con on and the windows open!
Also in the evening there was only one member of staff working at the bar who was also seeing to reception so we waited at least half an hour to get served a drink! If they turned their heating off they would be able to afford to pay another member of staff!
Would not stay there again on principle even though the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is traditional but contemporary. If you are walking to the hotel be warned its on a steep hill and even the fittest guy with luggage will find it a challenge.
The bedrooms are a good size and the bathroom could do with been updated. There is a shower over the bath but is connected to the hot and cold taps. The room can get warm in the summer and if you are at the front with the window open it gets noisy with traffic and party of people going to town. We did not have breakfast or dinner there but did hear from other guests it was great.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having read previous reviews, I was surprised not to encounter squeaky floorboards and faded grandeur. A clean, well-serviced, spacious room on the top floor (217), reached by a perfectly adequate lift.
Good location for the front and the town. Breakfast and evening meal were fine, and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#18 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#39 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#22 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville Hotel

Address: 5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trouville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.