We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic wedding day...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic wedding day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had our wedding at the Hotel Miramar recently and all we can say is what a fantastic day we had. Great staff (nothing was too much trouble!) a beautiful ceremony outside in beautiful surroundings and all our guests commented on the great food and accommodation. All in all a great day! Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    75
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
71
126
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I recently visited the Miramar for lunch with friends and couldn't fault it at all. The setting in the beautiful gardens overlooking the sea is second to none, and the minor problem we encountered with our booking was dealt with quickly and efficiently by Lyn on the reception desk. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

On arriving at the hotel for our summer evening of Jazz, we were greeted by several friendly staff, and we went straight to the beautiful gardens where the jazz was playing. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening, with a lovely hot meal and a bottle of wine whilst listening to the sounds of jazz. This was our second visit to this hotel and we will definitely be returning again, on the night of the 28th with a group of us, to enjoy another special evening. Well done to the Hotel Miramar for the music, food and the friendly staff you have.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Like the previous review, I struggle to find anything to fault with the Miramar. All the staff are polite and welcoming. The room we had was spotless, comfortable, and well appointed. Breakfast was served to our table (no buffet here, thank goodness.) Check out was friendly and efficient by Gemma. We shall see you all soon. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have been to Hotel Miramar on several occasions and always found the staff to be nothing but perfectly polite, attentive and pleasant (which is why we were surprised to read otherwise from other reviewers). Like many hotels and restaurants, they do employ foreign staff, but we can only speak as we find and say that generally their English is good, and they are always very keen to offer good service.

Our most recent trip to Miramar was for a birthday party. It was a really hot day, and we were able to enjoy the deck and what we would say are the best views in Bournemouth. We had a selection of hot and cold canapés served, which were really delicious, and all freshly prepared (again - don't know how anyone could report 'stale' food here!!!). There was live music and we truly felt like we were in a 'continental' venue.

Friends of ours ( 2 couples) were staying at the Miramar, and we saw their rooms, which both looked freshly decorated and pretty trendy (again, we struggle to match what we saw with the old fashioned and dated comments). Yes, we would say that it is a 'traditional' hotel - certainly not a 'boutique' hotel - but that is part of its charm.

We regularly use Trip advisor to suss out places to eat or stay, and it always amazes us how the comments can vary so much. On this occasion we really are amazed to read some poor reviews and negative comments, because they really do not match our personal experiences of times spent there.

Room Tip: If available choose a sea view room, and it is worth upgrading to a suite with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to be met by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who showed us to our room and explained where everything was. The hotel has obviously recently been refurbished and the room we had was certainly not dated as other recent reviews have stated. Throughout our stay all staff we came into contact with were polite and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble (even my special dietary needs.) Our only regret was that we couldn’t stay longer, but have already booked to stay again later in the year. Thank you to all the staff at the Miramar (especially Martyn), we shall gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

There were 2 reception staff and although we were waiting behind 2 other guests, only the friendly girl checked guests in. We were given our room key and met by a horrible stale smokey smell when we opened the door. I rang reception and reluctantly was offered a small double. I refused and the housekeeper was sent. She confirmed that guests had been smoking in the room. Eventually we were given another room - BUT never at any time was an apology given.
A pity as hotel has a good location and some of the staff we're accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.