We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde English Charm with contemporary chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Olde English Charm with contemporary chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here to celebrate a friends birthday, the venue was perfect with a large function room with adjoining Bar area plus we could access the private garden, which in the July heat was a godsend.
The room was large and comfortable with a modern fitted bathroom including a huge walk in shower. Air conditioning was also a well received bonus.
The quintessential English custom of afternoon tea could be enjoyed on the lovely terrace overlooking the delightful well kept gardens and the sea beyond.
We were kept entertained after the party into the wee small hours by the lovely Night Porter John - originally from Scotland and great company to finish the evening off.
Up early the next morning to enjoy a beach stroll and dip in the sea took less than ten minutes down the slope towards the Pier
Breakfast menu had a good choice - Chef even supplying a vegetarian option on request which was served piping hot, the staff were always on hand to make sure everything was satisfactory - looking resplendent in their smart uniforms.
Even after checking out, the hotel made our stay special by allowing us to leave our car in the car park so that we could enjoy the joys of Bournemouth for a few more hours.
I would definitely return to the Miramar and have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel to others

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    64
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
60
100
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Merstham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We attended a wedding at the hotel and booked to stay the day beforehand. Grounds are beautiful with palm trees and sea view it felt like we were abroad. Room was lovely with very modern bathroom and a huge bed. The staff are excellent and very friendly. We heard lots of stories from other guests about how they stay again and again. The hotel is very well situated above the beach which can be accessed by a short walk down a path which also brings you out at the edge of town or if mobility is a problem there is a lift two minutes away which takes you directly to the beach. We had one lunch at the hotel which was excellent as were the breakfasts. The hotel has a feeling of how hotels were run in days gone by as the staff make you feel extremely welcome and relaxed. The hotel is in no way old fashioned I felt like I was in an episode of Poirot but without the murder.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have huge half moon shaped balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Enjoying this summer heatwave we decided to go out for supper by the sea and chose Hotel Miramar. They have re-vamped their decking area with very cosmopolitan rattan furniture and massive parasols, so there is extra seating where you can gaze out to sea. We were lucky that there was a golden sunset which reflected onto the sea and the purbecks, then the moonlight later on. Very romantic for a stroll back.

We enjoyed tempura prawns with fries (£10) and melon and parma ham which was served on a board and beautifully presented (£9) washed down with a chilled Sauvignon Blanc.

Not a massive menu, but on a hot evening something light was just right ( and good value).

What we didn't expect was live music which was a brilliant surprise. There was a classy jazz band playing, with a brilliant male vocalist. It was like being on the continent, enjoying a balmy evening, smooth music and the moon reflecting on the sea. Apparently they have live music on Tuesdays and Thursdays through the summer, so we'll be going back.

Only downside - the music stopped at 8.45 and we would have loved it to have gone on longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been using the Miramar regularly as a family since we got married there 8.5 years ago. I have always found David and the team to provide incredible service and food.

We just held my Mum's 60th birthday afternoon tea there.... What can I say!.... wonderful service, we felt like we were the most important people in the world!

Thank you David and the team for making this such a great experience and for the delicious afternoon tea!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Miramar for many years now each time for a week in May. Its a business trip so a busy week. I cannot praise the hotel enough, it is a haven for the week, the service is consistently good, the Management is excellent and the fact that they retain the same staff is testament to that. Our Company host a big party at the hotel each year and I have never been disappointed with their organisation and the quality of the food which has been a different theme each year. It is a pleasure to return each year, to walk through the door and see all the same friendly faces who simply cannot do enough for you. The food is first class and breakfast is freshly cooked to order. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked this Hotel following positive reviews from Tripadvisor. It could and should be a really nice Hotel. It has lovely grounds and is well located. Rooms are a big let down with a tiny bed with a mattress dating back to the coronation. Bedding reminded me of my chilhood, with wooly blanket and sheets. Surely this is rare in a Hotel nowadays.? Breakfast was quite nice and again in a really nice setting. I really need internet when I travel and this Hotel is supposed to have WIFI. The WIFI was down with no immediate chance of fixing it any time soon. There was no apology from the Hotel. I expalined that a lot of Hotels now charge for WIFI, "oh no Sir, ours i free" I was told. "but you don't have any" I replied and so it went on. I feel entitled to a discount for this loss of amenities, but gave up with the staff who were vague and looked like they had better things to do than talk to me. A real shame...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have held three retirement lunches a year for several years at the Miramar and have always had excellent meals and service from the friendly staff. Our guests enjoy the location by the sea, and many enjoy a stroll along Bournemouth pier before or after lunch. Those coming from further away can stay for a short break and enjoy the other attractions in the area.

Room Tip: At popular holiday times (or conferences in Bournemouth) book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.