We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Day Of our Lives, Our Wedding Day - Thanks to the Chine!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Day Of our Lives, Our Wedding Day - Thanks to the Chine!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Chine is the perfect setting for a glorious wedding. 3 acres of beautiful gardens leading down to the beach, fantastic decor through-out, AMAZING staff and the best customer service you could ask for. Thanks to many - Tom and Karen in particular, we had THE most amazing day of our lives. The food we choose was a BBQ, luckily the weather was perfect and this went down a treat with our guests! The Garden Room, where our reception was held is light and airey, there is a massive panoramic window at the rear with fantastic views of the gardens and sea making it the perfect setting. Nothing was too much to ask from the staff and Tom was on hand at all times to check we had everything to ensure our day was running exactly to plan. Karen had done all the preperation in advance and went above and beyond to help us arrange this magical day.Another great touch is the 'soft play' room for the kids which is linked to the garden room. This ment the children attending the wedding didnt get bored and fidgety, and for us - it kept them out of the way during speaches ect!!
I honestly couldnt reccommend this hotel and the staff highly enough. It is rated 3 stars, however, with the recent refurbishment and facillities this hotel offers, in my view, its way above this rating!!
Once again, thank you to everyone at The Chine who helped to make our day a day to remember!!

Kathryn & Leigh Eldridge

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Owner at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear Kathryn & Leigh,

Thank you for your fabulous review of The Chine. It is always a pleasure for us to be involved in momentous occasions. Helping create those moments you treasure, is a privilege indeed!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    296
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
195
347
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I really liked this charming hotel with its lovely garden, outdoor pool and path to the beach. We had a king size room room, in the older part of the hotel with a massive window and a sea view, we watched the full moon over the sea . Everything was well kept and comfortable. Nice breakfast well presented in room overlooking the sea and gardens. I plan to go back. We stayed in the Sandbanks in May which was much more expensive and not nice.This hotel is maybe a bit less suitable for young children or people who cant manage steps. We didnt try the bar or restaurant

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I went to this hotel as my friend was having her wedding reception there. After getting over £8 for a glass of wine I settled in for the night. I went to breakfast the next morning which was very nice with a good selection.However when I got back to my room I found that I had been burgled. The receptionist was quick to come to my room to find out what had happened but that is it. It is now two weeks later and I am still waiting for somebody to get back to me with regards to insurance. The staff there have been contradicting each other and don't really seem to care that a theft happened in their hotel. I have written to the hotel manager and to the owner but still have had no response.
The hotel itself is lovely, views are beautiful and the gardens are very pretty. The food is wonderful and in relation to the drinks, is very reasonably priced and they will also change the food slightly for you if you ask them. I would reccomend this hotel to people but I would say don't expect the staff to be helpful if anything happens while you are there. It's such a shame that the staff let this hotel down.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Owner at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
LadyP33 – We are sorry that you felt the need to place this comment on Trip Advisor, as the sequence of events following the alleged burglary was unfortunate. All correct authorities were informed on the day and were working with us. This can be difficult at times when staff availability is based on shift patterns.

It’s always useful to remember when having to deal with external authorities and our own internal processes that generally accepted timescales may be elongated.

I understand this matter has now been resolved with the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaries, preferably
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This hotel is a very good 3 star hotel and base for Bournemouth. There is some parking at the front. Communal areas are nice and rooms are large. The gardens are lovely, there is a pool, and a path leading down to the beach. Beds are large and comfortable, bathrooms are fine. Breakfasts were good

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

For a 3 star hotel I couldn't have expected any more. the staff are extremely pleasant, although, sometimes a little under-trained, but pleasant non-the-less, the location is fabulous, beautiful beach at the end of the garden, spa very nice, clean, well maintained and although we were in one of the rooms that have not been re-furbished, it was fine. A little dated and tired, a bit dusty behind the beds and drawers, but a view (we booked a sea view with balcony), to die for.

We stayed here for a few nights whilst our children were away on their school trip, so during a quiet period. But we will re-book to come back with children during August, I just hope i'm not disappointed with the volume of children in the resturants, spa and pool areas, that are un-supervised. I did notice tell-tale signs of this, with sctraches on tables etc. created by children that are clearly allowed to run riot whilst mum and dad watch on proudly.

If you do stay in this area, you must take a visit across the chain ferry from Sandbanks, to Shell Bay and Studland. When the sun is out, you could be anywhere in the world... Absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I booked this hotel via Booking.com a couple of months in advance and managed to get a very cheap deal of £45 for a single room. I wasn't expecting more than a bed to sleep in at night and a breakfast in the morning. What we got was a great hotel which catered for all age groups and so many extras that you could actually stay here quite happy for a whole week!

The reception looks very inviting and the decor being to a high standard. Staff were all very friendly and efficient. We had a porter to carry bags to room, hotel is quite large with lots of different areas and floors which makes the building look more interesting.
The room looked recently decorated with all modern furniture and was spotlessly clean.
My mother had a double room which was huge with a big plasma screen and queen size bed, she is very fussy and notices every little imperfection and even she was very impressed.

It was a lovely hot weekend so we got to take advantage of walking around the gardens, there are so many nooks and crannies with ponds, waterfalls and lots of nice flowers. The gardens wind there way down to the beach and you come out right at the Boscombe Pier which makes it very easy to switch between relaxing on beach or in the gardens.
Lovely outdoor heated pool with sun loungers. There is also a great indoor pool with jacuzzi and sauna.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant/bar, prices are fairly high for drinks but we were happy to spend as we had saved on cost of rooms. Restaurants looks out to the coast which is a nice touch.
There was a wedding going on at the time so hotel was fairly busy however it was nice to see the guests happy and enjoying the day.

Breakfast was great, again a sea view - it was busy with the wedding party there but staff were helpful. Lots of choice from hot, cold and fruit selections.
Check out was easy and then even let my dad park at hotel for rest of the day so got to spend the rest of the afternoon out at the pool.

I have stayed in many hotels abroad and am very surprised that this hotel is not a 4*.

I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Owner at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Marfey – thanks for your fabulous review of the Chine. It’s always great to hear positive feedback, especially when we are able to exceed your initial expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel is great for families with young children without having the feel of a 'holiday camp'! The staff are efficient and friendly...with a relaxed approach. The public areas are stylish and modern with great seaviews!

This hotel offers a combination of charm and comfort...ideal for all occasions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
sandi29 – Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you had some an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff both efficient and friendly.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.