We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
N.Lincs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Visited with our two grandchildren aged 10 and 14. Found that any small problems were dealt with very quickly and to our satisfaction. Had no major problems.
Staff found to be friendly and efficient.
Be advised that parking is a problem especially when events taking place at the hotel and would advise that if possible use excellent bus service nearby.
Agree with other reviewers that some of the carpets in communal areas are threadbare in places and hotel could do with coat of paint in places.
Room was comfortable and sheets were changed at least twice in 9 day stay, towels changed more frequently. 10 year olds feet tended to get a bit dirty after she had been dancing around room barefoot.
Had requested room with sea view and was more than happy with it.
Outdoor and inside pools used frequently and were good
Breakfast was outstanding probably best we have had in a hotel over last 10 years. Dinner tasted good but overpriced so we tended to eat out.
Three weddings held there during our stay but had no problems with noise.
Beach only few minutes walk away through gardens but be warned it is steep on way back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    319
    91
    41
    31
See reviews for
220
374
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of weekends ago and we managed a last minute booking. As my wife has stayed at the other hotels in the chain (Sandbanks and The Haven) we were quite pleased to secure a last minute room overlooking the sea.
The parking is at a premium here so be prepared to have to walk a short way. There is an overspill car park about 5 minutes walk away.
On arrival it was abundantly clear that a wedding was about to take place as there were several people all dressed up smoking, drinking and swearing at the front steps to the Hotel.
Once past that all was fine and we went to our room that had a small balcony overlooking the sea. Very comfortable and clean so no issues there.
We made use of the bar before dinner and all was well, there was plenty of available tables in the restaurant and the waiter was excellent. There was a set menu which I normally try to avoid but the food was very good and we had an excellent experience.
It went downhill after about 11pm when we returned to our room. Directly below us was the wedding party which was in full swing. Our balcony was placed just above the area where the smokers congregated and so we had to endure the loud conversations that accompanied the smoking. The music finally ended at 1am and then of course the room parties started.
All in all, this was not a Hotel in which to rest and recuperate. The breakfast area in the morning was mobbed and the staff were at straining point in dealing with the masses.
The pool seemed a good bet for us to slink over to after breakfast to escape the masses. Sadly there were several of the wedding party guests around the pool who were doing their best to brag about their room parties and drinking exploits. There were two men in the pool clearing their throats and spitting into the pool - nice.
All in all we felt that we had been a little unfortunate in booking at the same time as this large function. This place is a wedding venue and so I thoroughly recommend that you check prior to booking if you want a quiet stay.
I would probably be persuaded to stay again so long as it was a midweek booking.

I did express my disappointment to the reception when settling the bill. Sadly, I think the staff are immune to these sort of complaints. We checked out at 11am and as we walked out we had to ask several people to move out of the way to let us pass. These people were clearly part of the wedding party and were sitting on the steps of the Hotel smoking and drinking.
Not a positive experience for anyone staying there.

Great location and faultless service both in the bar and restaurant.
Set in lovely gardens and a short walk to the beach
Check before you book............

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Had an evening meal, three course, with my family. Food was excellent and well worth the money, which I thought was very reasonable. Would recommend this, and was very impressed with Hotel in general, particularly the children's entertainment.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel with friends and our two children in August 2014. The hotel offers an amazing location, excellent standards of customer service and the children loved Funsters and the enthusiasm shown by the entertainers! Our rooms had wonderful views of the sea which was complemented by fantastic food. The amenities including the outdoor heated swimming pool are excellent and was a big selling point for the adults and children alike. Overall we think the hotel offers excellent value for money and we shall stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Booked a 2 day mini break via amazon local deal as a birthday treat for my husband. Staff were friendly and we were delighted to find out our room had been upgraded to one with a balcony at on extra charge! Great views over the beautiful gardens and also sea view.
Everywhere was spotless, breakfasts were great and had lovely 2 course meal in the restaurant one evening. Will stay again in the future happily.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was a forth visit to The Chine with our two children. This time we stayed in the first block from the main hotel (room 22). Large room with a separate small room with bunk beds from the kids.

All the staff were very friendly from reception to the restaurant staff. For two nights we stayed half board and the other two B&B. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, toast, cooked breakfast, yoghurts, pastries and a range of fruit juices. Evening meals were to a good standard and very tasty and well presented.

The funster staff who kept our children fully entertained through out our stay were really great. These guys worked their socks off to give our children the best time.

Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Chine was pretty much what we expected. The location is great for a long weekend at the beach. we didnt use the car once, we could walk to the beach whic isnt commercialised, use the outdoor pool which was properly heated and warm for our toddlers, and the soft play was perfect after breakfast. The bedrooms are very tired - and need more than a spruce up really - the cildren frequently commented on the fusty smell in parts of the hotel , but overall a great break and we willl be back, thank you.

Room Tip: If you have children some of the family rooms do have small side rooms with bunk beds so a bit of fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#14 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#37 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.