We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Booked a 2 day mini break via amazon local deal as a birthday treat for my husband. Staff were friendly and we were delighted to find out our room had been upgraded to one with a balcony at on extra charge! Great views over the beautiful gardens and also sea view.
Everywhere was spotless, breakfasts were great and had lovely 2 course meal in the restaurant one evening. Will stay again in the future happily.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    296
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
195
347
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was a forth visit to The Chine with our two children. This time we stayed in the first block from the main hotel (room 22). Large room with a separate small room with bunk beds from the kids.

All the staff were very friendly from reception to the restaurant staff. For two nights we stayed half board and the other two B&B. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, toast, cooked breakfast, yoghurts, pastries and a range of fruit juices. Evening meals were to a good standard and very tasty and well presented.

The funster staff who kept our children fully entertained through out our stay were really great. These guys worked their socks off to give our children the best time.

Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Chine was pretty much what we expected. The location is great for a long weekend at the beach. we didnt use the car once, we could walk to the beach whic isnt commercialised, use the outdoor pool which was properly heated and warm for our toddlers, and the soft play was perfect after breakfast. The bedrooms are very tired - and need more than a spruce up really - the cildren frequently commented on the fusty smell in parts of the hotel , but overall a great break and we willl be back, thank you.

Room Tip: If you have children some of the family rooms do have small side rooms with bunk beds so a bit of fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed a night at this hotel in August 2014. Staff were friendly and free parking was a bonus. There is a lovely garden to walk down with access to Chine Gardens and Boscombe beach. The room was large with lovely high ceilings. Breakfast in the Seaview restaurant was plentiful and the indoor and outdoor pools were warm and quiet both days we used them.
Good price and great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Found a 3 night break through Secret Escapes for an amazing price in July. Hotel was clean, rooms quite large and the included full buffet style breakfast was fantastic with a good choice of items. We went with my elderly parents & were pleased to find there was a lift in this hotel. Pleasant gardens, outdoor pool and lounge areas. Parking was provided, but limited spaces available. Very enjoyable mini break in lovely Boscombe/Bournemouth location.

Room Tip: The sea views rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Arrived Friday 1st Aug and were met by a very attentive waiter at reception who ran out to find a parking space for our car on the road as the parking is to say the least limited with about 8 bays in front of our hotel anybody else had to park on an already full road.

The staff were friendly and efficient and is a saving grace of The Chines,

Our bedroom was large and airy I say airy because of only two small sash windows in a very large panoramic non opening frame only one was closable and the catch on that broken window was falling off the rotted timber of the window the paintwork of the whole frame was cracked and peeling.

Sea view. Magnificent but ruined by the fact that the restaurant flat roof was about 24 inches blow our window sill and could be accessed from the balconies of other rooms this is a robbery waiting to happen.

The beds are soft and uncomfortable the meals expensive and very lack lustre.

The pools one indoor and one outer are well tended even though there didn't appear to be any lifeguards.

I wake very early and creaked my way across the floor waking my wife, the room was stiflingly hot until I wangled a fan from one of the reception staff.

During our stay we saw no disabled access ramps or lifts although in all fairness there was an antique metal concertina lift from the 20s and still working ???

I was asked by the family if we would ever go back to The Chines my answer was not even if I were kicking and screaming.

The only answer to a worn out hotel like The Chines is either refurbish it or tear it down !

Room Tip: Simple- find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Overall I found the hotel satisfactory.

The location was great. A walk through the gardens and you're on the local beach. The beach is fairly quite, clean with shower and toilet facilities. Doesn't offer much in terms of restaurants. There isn't much of a choice bar a Harvester!

The hotel itself is tired. They made an effort with the public areas but the rooms are great. The carpets felt filthy and the furniture grubby and stained. Although the bed linen was fine.

The windows are a nightmare if you have small children. We wouldn't dare open the sash windows more than a few inches in case the kids fell out! It's an accident waiting to happen.

We had a broken bathroom window which was fixed with gaffa tape and a toilet seat that was half hang off.

Thumbs up to the staff though. All were very pleasant and friendly.

Food at the hotel was good. I wouldn't bother with the children's buffet though. Breakfast was good but be prepared to walk a great many times to the buffet as the tables are laid to a skeleton. You even have to grab your own cups and saucers, tea, coffee, toast, etc....

The pools are generally good, clean and well equipped.

Given the location we would return but the hotel is grubby and is not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.