We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friends 70th birthday weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“friends 70th birthday weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived approx 11.45 friday morning to ensure we had a parking space in front of hotel,timing it for when guests had checked out.room was ready for 2.15.room 301 was huge with a very large bed,setee in the room,massive bathroom and fantastic view down to Boscombe pier and the sea.we walked regularly down through the lovely mature gardens to the seafront and a lovely half hour walk into bournemouth.we also walked the opposite way as weather was so beautiful admiring all the beach huts on the sea front.we used outdoor pool twice and the water temp was glorious.gym was small and a little shabby but even though we didnt use it the indoor pool looked very inviting.dinner in the rest was very good and we had the 2 courses fror £14.95 each.breakfast was buffet which is usual these days but food was kept hot.the only thing we found a little strange was having to go and help ourselves to tea and coffee.drinks were reasonably priced at 4.50 for glasses of prossecco,1.50 diet coke and we had some fantastic strawberry mojiitos for 7.50 each.
public rooms ie reception,bar and rest were all very modern but the grand staircase carpet was threadbare in quite a few places.what a shame!there was a real mixture of ages with lots of families as good facilities for the little ones,quiet places in the lovely gardens for the mature custs to sit and we in our later forties felt v comfortable.we would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    323
    92
    41
    31
See reviews for
224
374
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
port talbot
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife andI have had a 3 night break at the chine,I was a little concerned by bsome of the comments I had read but I neednt have been, we were in the west wing room 36,fab views ofthe gardens,sea and pool.The staff were friendly,helpful and always willing to help,the breakfast was all you could wish for,would we go back,yes tommorow.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view,we did and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel. The position is fantastic close to everything but away from crowds. Our room had great sea views from bedroom and bathroom. However the bed was dire and probably the worst nights sleep we have had.We asked for another mattress but this did not make much difference. Room was spotless but very outdated with threadbare carpet.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Restaurant was nice with great food and ambience for breakfast and dinner.
We will return but will insist on a room with sea views and a better bed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've not visited Bournemouth before but decided to try it when a Secret Escapes offer came up.
I don't know what other residents experienced but our stay at the Chine Hotel was excellent. The hotel is situated just outside Bournemouth at Boscome but it's a lovely walk from there into Bournemouth or you can catch the road train that runs every 30 mins. Our sea view room at the hotel in the main building was spacious, clean, modern and comfortable with none of the problems that previous reviewers have mentioned. The service throughout the hotel was excellent and the restaurant was reasonably priced with a three course dinner for £19.95p per head which again was excellent quality. Breakfast was a full hot and cold buffet, again of excellent quality. The tranquil grounds have extensive, well maintained gardens and an outdoor heated pool in a tranquil setting. An indoor pool and gym are also available. Given the chance, we would definately book another stay at the Chine next year.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room you're not happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have booked a sea view room and was very pleased. the place was quite accessible to the sea front and we had a fantastic time. Heated pool was amazing and the restaurant served delicious food. Highly recommended to everyone going to dorset.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This must have been a splendid hotel in its day.
The public areas are nice. Staff pleasant and helpful.
Function room lovely with the added bonus of a soft play childrens area (un staffed).
Grounds are fantastic, and you can walk down to the beach. Pools etc also brilliant.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied. Usual English buffet with fruits etc and cereals. Great views.
the problems come in the rooms. Some rooms and corridors very shabby.
Our room had stained wall paper, awful bed and painted up windows. Only 2 would open and it was sweltering. The corridors are all sealed (no opening windows) and have no air circulating. It was like a sauna and then affects the rooms. The lift is a Victorian relic but actually quite charming as long as there are ony 2 of you in it. Double sets of gates for the lift are noisy and you can hear this from all rooms in its vicinity. (Avoid room 314!)
We were attending a wedding and apparentely had a discount. It wasnt value for money at that rate and had I paid full price I would have been furious.
I will say that the wedding bit was great! The ceremony was in the garden and was a beautiful setting with the sea as a backdrop. The function room for the wedding breakfast was also
lovely. Food was okay and the staff great.
This could be stunning. Spend some money on it!

Room Tip: 317 has a balcony and sea view and one of the updated rooms. The pictures online do not seem to ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I were invited to a friends wedding at the hotel, so we decided to stay there for the weekend. We arrived on Friday afternoon for a 16:00 wedding which was held in the garden, then inside for the wedding breakfast, the service was very good so was the food. we got up on Saturday morning and had a very nice breakfast, and saw our friends off.
We decided to go for a walk down to the beach, when we came back we had a sandwiches for our lunch, as we felt very relaxed there we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant, which also was very good and excellent value for money. the hotel has 2 swimming pools and a gym, I used the pool on Saturday and Sunday before breakfast, had another good breakfast before we left on Sunday morning.So a thank you to the hotel team for looking after us.

PS If I have one complaint it is about the Wi-fi which needs improving to give better access and to prevent it dropping out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#13 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#37 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.