We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a very nice weekend at this hotel. The first impression on arrival was that the hotel looked a bit dated but inside seems to have recently been refurbished and is in pleasantly good decorative order. There was limited parking at the front of the hotel. Since there was a wedding on Friday, we had to park on the street. Our room (407) was very pleasant (I would think it has recently been refurbished) with nice sea view. Although we were on the top floor, the music from the wedding party was still quite loud. It was the same on Saturday night. However, once the party was over (at about 11:30), it was very quiet and we could hear the waves from the sea. (If it was not for the party noise, I would have given the sleep quality a very good instead.)The hotel is at a good location. The pathway through the hotel garden down to Boscombe Beach is an added bonus (5 min and you are at the beach). From there, it's about a 35 min walk to the Bournemouth Pier (or £2 one-way on the Dotto Train). Breakfast is of good standard. Overall it's good value for money (Amazon deal - would not pay for normal rates).

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    300
    80
    39
    27
See reviews for
200
349
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My family and I have been coming to The Chine for many years now and the Hotel already holds some very special memories for me of great times with my friends and family. When I graduated from the a University in Bournemouth, my parents asked me where I wanted to go to celebrate and my first choice, was The Chine.
In May 2012, during a stay at The Chine, my then fiance (now Husband) and I decided that this was the perfect place for us to get married. Your wedding is the most special, important day of your life and you put your complete trust into a venue and it's staff. With The Chine, the trust was already there and I knew they would make the day perfect for us.
Karen Pocock, the wedding and events manager is an absolute credit to the hotel. She is amazingly efficient, extremely patient and really takes to get to know what your needs and wants are to make the day perfect. Also, another very special mention has to go to Alex, the restaurant manager, who looked after us so well it was like he was part of the family.
A few highlights for my husband and I...
Arriving on Friday to find the room beautifully and perfectly decorated, the gorgeous food for our family meal the night before, my amazing (and huge) room to get ready in (I always find the rooms to be clean and very well presented every time I have stayed), getting married in the beautiful gardens, the quality of the food for our wedding breakfast and evening BBQ and finally, the room itself which is just perfect for what we wanted.
I cannot recommend The Chine anymore highly than I have and our wedding day truly was the best day of our lives and a huge amount of credit is due to the staff and the hotel. This hotel is perfect for any event from a huge family to a quiet weekend away.
Mrs A Honour

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked for May 2013 and the weather along with everything else was wonderful. We booked 16 rooms for guests coming from N.Z., U.S.A, Scotland etc and no one could fault the service or food. Wedding took place outside where we had wonderful sea views. Children were catered for in the Soft Fun Room which had a door leading into the main function room. So, everyone happy! Only problem was the lift broke down, but staff on hand to accommodate people that needed help.Wish I could do it all again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times before, the last being some six years ago, and having treasured memories of it, i was looking forward to a couple of restful days with the same level of service that i remembered. The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. My room was clean but old and tired with a perpetual smell of urine coming from the ensuite, although not overpowering. The wooden sash windows were in disrepair with spiders living in the top holes. My first night's dinner there was an enigma. The soup was delicious but my garlic pasta was tasteless. In fact the few lettuce leaves strewn accross it had more taste to them. I wanted a leisurely last morning there so hung the room service card for breakfast on the door the night before, as advised in the instructions. I had chosen to have my breakfast delivered at 8.30-9.00. Luckily i happened to look on the door at 8.20 and the card was still there. It had not been picked up during the night. All in all i came away from my much needed break with a little grey cloud of disappointment hovering over me.

Room Tip: Definitely need a sea view room. Makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So it was my wedding night last Thursday room was all paid for by family as a suprise we checked in an was asked for a debit card swipe, little did we know they were actually charging us £134 for the whole room even thou it was paid. Check out and assured we would have money cleared back into our account by the end of the day. A week later and still no sign, in fact was actually charged a further £134 today but they did admit their mistake. Management waste of time, reception barely speak English so at least the hotel continues to live up to its name it's had for so many years. It's supposed to be a fjb hotel, jokes! Guys don't let them have your debit card they will have a field day with it also don't ask for the manager as he (Martin) still has not returned my call a week later about as much help as a fart in the wind. Save your money folks and go further into Bournemouth town the extra few quid is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We came back today after 3 nights at the Chine. Overall it's a very good experience.

Booking the trip was a breeze. I advice you ring the hotel in case they have a promotion not offered by Internet booking agents. In this case we were advised to buy an Amazon vouchers worth £169 for 2 nights for 2 b&b with free dinner on our first night. We had to upgrade to include our 3y/o child and add another night. This was still reasonably priced.

Like most older hotels the facade and interior decoration looks a bit tired, but the facilities are well maintained and the communal areas are immaculately clean.

Our hotel room was sea facing with a balcony overlooking a well manicured garden. The room size is more than adequate for two adults an a child (or two). The furniture is old but clean. The toilet could be updated but again clean. I'm impressed with the shower as unlike some hotel rooms I've been, this one works really well!

Breakfast was passable. Our free dinner was good - I could have eaten the three courses twice. Beware though, our wine was £20+ and the child's fish fingers, chips and peas was £12.

The facilities. We booked this hotel for the swimming pool. We expected the indoor pool to be heated, bonuses the was that the outdoor pool was also heated. In fact it was warmer than the indoor pool. My 3 y/o swam every day and she had fun which was the whole point of this break. They had private access to Boscombe beach which was very handy.

The staff. They are warm and accommodating. They made us feel very welcome. They work very hard and there's always a smile for us.

Parking. Could be improved. On arrival we found a space, but the rest of our stay we parked on the roadside. For mid September it was busy, what more during high season?

Downsides? Weddings and parties. If you have a young family who sleeps early or you want an early night, you may need to wait until after midnight for peace and quiet. The floors creak along the corridor. The lift - quite a novelty but be careful your fingers don't get caught. Parking.

Despite the downsides this is a brilliant hotel. We will go back one day :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff, the rooms where clean and modern.
The bar was very reasonable price wise and the atmosphere was great.
Good restaurants near by (check out Urban Reef) and of course the beach.
The hotel had its own private walk to the beach which goes through it's beautiful garden.
Great hotel for the money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.