We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chine Hotel to your Saves list
The Chine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked last minute and got a greatly reduced double room with sea view and a balcony which was not perfect but outstanding value cleanbathroom comfy bed with lovely sparkling white sheets. As other trip advisors have mentioned the staff and the food were outstanding.
We would definitely go back for another short break.

Room Tip: It exceeded our expectations but Thursday morning is Bin Collection day in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    296
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
195
347
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2013 for his birthday. We stayed in a sea-view room for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The view was spectacular, and the room was large with an ensuite bathroom.

The staff were very friendly and always looked after our every need. We had dinner in the hotel at the Sea View Restaurant the first night and it was very formal, giving the food a rating of 7/10. The breakfast however was wonderful. A large selection including bacon, sausages, hash browns, beans, eggs etc. and it was buffet style so could have as much or as little as you wanted.

Overall, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay - somewhere I would definitely recommend. I would rate this hotel as 4/5 due to the local amenities, pools and spa facilities and the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend paying to upgrade to sea-view for an extra £20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights at this hotel . We thought we would try the restaurant the first night. So glad we did! So we ate there the other 2 nights as well! The food is amazing. The flavours and excellent quality of the ingredients in all 3 courses were fabulous! And such great value for what I would say, is fine dining indeed. I did ask the waiter to pass on our compliments to the chef and his staff, but if he didn't I would like to pass them on now!

I also used the outdoor pool! Yes it had just opened and was brilliant. So warm and empty when I used it . I used the small gym as well as the outdoor hot tub.

Our room was a standard double, and it looked on to the garden. I think it was an accessible room, as it had a wet room. This was fine, but I think the next time we stay, ( and yes. I am certain there will be a next time) we will treat ourselves and upgrade.

I would thoroughly recommend this lovely friendly hotel in a lovely area of Boscombe.

Even if you don't stay here, the restaurant can be highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March this year. First time at this lovely hotel. We were in the West wing, which I thought it a little odd to cross the car park to get to the dining room, but having seen our very large room with lovely views, this wasn't a problem.
Large, clean and beautifully decorated room, could see the sea in the distance.
Easy access to the promenade through the lovely landscaped gardens, must be a perfect spot when the sun is shining. Easy walk into Bournemouth along the prom, or cycle, which we also did.
Delicious breakfast, with many choices from full English, fruits, cereals, and seed and nut sprinkles, a perfect start to the day.
Sadly our stay was cut short due to an unexpected family bereavement, but we hope to reschedule our stay sometime soon.

Room Tip: request room in main building if requiring easy access to restaurant and other facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from yet another very enjoyable few days at the Chine. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff both on reception (Cassa and Marius) and the restaurant (Alex and Laima).
They are always most welcoming and remember us from previous visits. They consistently do their utmost to accommodate our preferences both in choice of room and food in restaurant.
Location is excellent with lovely sea views, gardens and a short walk down to the seafront.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel both for comfort and location. Looking forward to our next visit already booked.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea and garden view worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Carol G for this fantastic comment. Our staff really take pride in what they do, I will pass this great review on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Wonderful location and very nice service, clean and refurbished room (No.100), reasonable spring prices, magnificent views, overlooking the sea through a big window, very good food and drink, good wine selection, good expresso coffee at the bar, beautiful garden and a basic spa.
Very near the beach and pier, access through the gardens.
The walls of the restaurant, lounge and bar decorated with pictures of actors, such as Terry Thomas, Audrey Hepburn, Sammy Davies Jr. etc. a 'grand piano', surrounded by windows and really spacious.
What else can you ask for?
A very nice outdoor pool in the summer? They've got one!
Wait for it!
No problems parking the car in the street.
We will return!

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the sea are very nice, especially if you like the sound of the waves... Wind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this positive review alfonsoposada, we are very glad that you found the facilities first rate. Hopefully the weather will be slightly warmer in time for your next visit so that you can take a dip in our outdoor pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Chine last week for 3 nights in a double room with sea views. The hotel is lovely with a great restaurant / lounge area that, because of the position of the hotel on a hill, gives broad views across the landscape to the sea and has trees outside the window such that you feel that you are in the trees.

Regarding food I only ate a Caesar salad but it was very good.

The room was wonderful, with comfortable bed and en-suite bathroom, again with views to the sea.

The hotel also has an indoor and outdoor pool, an indoor whirlpool, sauna and outdoor hot tub. I especially enjoyed the outdoor hot tub which is glorious in the rain.

All in all a lovely hotel and I would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: I can only recommend what I took which was a room with a sea view, but I believe you can also get ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Chine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this review FleetwoodFan, We are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and facilities. The next time you visit us, be sure to have a look at the rest of our mouth watering menu, you wont be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.