We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum

Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
East Cliff Promenade | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
01202 451858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 86 things to do in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private home of extensive travelers Sir Merton Russell-Cotes and his wife Lady Annie was one of the last Victorian manor houses ever built.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

that we recently visited. The building is enchanting with lovely well kept gardens. We were asked for a voluntary donation but do feel that there should be a sign up asking for this rather then being put of the spot and paying because you feel you have to. Saying that it was well worth the £5 but if people want to volunteer it then let them do so.

There is building work being carried out at the moment and you can not enter every where but the rooms we were able to see were beautiful. Of course a lot of this comes down to taste but I found it to be full of treasures and paintings that I would have been happy to live with.

There is a cafe there but we did not use it. Also a small gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    175
    22
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such an interesting place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We both enjoyed this visit very much. The contents of the house itself were fascinating and the art exhibition was delightful.
We had a cup of tea in the very pleasant cafe area There was a request for a donation rather than an entrance fee which was unexpected.
I 'd go again.. it was great to see some interesting art and such a collection of artefacts.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I last visited here 55 years ago! I like Victoriana and it certainly have lots of character. Staff were helpful. They have added an extension since I was last there, and the cafe serves lovely food. Entrance was free but they requested a donation, which I gave. I am not an art lover, but did enjoy some of the exhibits. Female visitors are advised to visit the ladies loo...they just dont make loos like that any more! The weather was dreadful, and they seem to have a problem with the glass roofing leaking in places, but all the more reason to visit, I am sure that could do with the money. Fortunately they had stripped off the white gloss paint (!) since I was last here and revealed the Victorian decoration underneath.Do go and give it your support, the garden is lovely.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Russell-Cotes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great place to spend a wet morning. Lovely building, beautifully situated at East Cliff, but only one or two opportunities to glimpse the view as the blinds are down to preserve the artworks. Lots of excellent paintings to see, also sculpture and artifacts collected from travels in Russia etc.
And when you need a break - a cafe with good coffee and all the papers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth popping in to fill an hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited this venue in October, which was out of season, so it was free to enter. The building was currently undergoing repainting and covered in scaffolding, which didn't detract from the visit as the beautiful gardens were still open to explore.
On entering there is very little direction as to where to go. We made our way through the gift shop to the first floor and it was empty with no information.
We continued on to the next floor where the cafe was and wandered through a few corridors before finding the main house where we could explore. Many of the rooms were closed due to reorganisation. It was quite warm inside and I did't really feel that the areas were coordinated into certain themes or times.
We spend around half an hour walking around before leaving.
I would recommend a visit if your interested in antiques from around the world but I wouldn't go out the way to find this venue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.