We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum

Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
East Cliff Promenade | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
01202 451858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Bournemouth
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private home of extensive travelers Sir Merton Russell-Cotes and his wife Lady Annie was one of the last Victorian manor houses ever built.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A charge seemed to have recently been introduced, only £5 and we presume to help with the building maintenace, but we weren't expecting this as my boyfriend had been a number of times before. The building and view from it could make this a wonderful attraction, but all the blinds in the building were drawn (to protect the artefacts we presumed), but this meant that we couldn't see the magnificent view, which i've been told was the main drw to this place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    155
    20
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this museum which is in the historic house that Sir Merton built for his wife Annie. The main hall has a remarkable collection of high Victorian art. Several of the rooms had souvenirs from the couple's travels with items from Russia, Australia, New Zealand and Japan.

Entry is free from October to March but we paid as it was high season. We had a bite to eat in the little cafe that is there. We wanted scones and tea but they had sold out of the scones.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the life of the Russell-Cotes family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

the guided tour which explained everything about the artefacts
I had seen before on several visits,it was most interesting and followed by an excellent cup of coffee servrd by friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an great place to visit. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable & helpful.

They also have a delightful Café "Urban Renaissance" which fits in superbly. oh yes the drinks & cakes are fab too!

There is No charge for Some of the year to enter the museum & No charge all year round for Café.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice cakes and lovely coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

i went to the museum and what a surprise there was a lovely little cafe with fab food and nice people who made your visit very enjoyable

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.