We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a peek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum

Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
East Cliff Promenade | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
01202 451858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Bournemouth
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private home of extensive travelers Sir Merton Russell-Cotes and his wife Lady Annie was one of the last Victorian manor houses ever built.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Take a peek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our visit to this Gallery @ Museum..How the other half lived, even way back in time...Spoke to the Museum Curator, what he didn.t know was not worth knowing...Really pleasant man...Small Cafe inside Gallery..Lucky if you get seat..Food fresh food to order and tea nice...Worth a visit...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    156
    20
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey. England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This museum is very interesting with lots to see if you have an hour or so to look around. there is a cafe on the top floor where you can have a rest, also has a nice garden outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were disappointed with our experience. No sooner had we set foot in the place when we were reminded that admission was 'free' except they expected a donation. This was OK, but my wife was then immediately told she would have to place her fold up carrier bag, which contained only a newspaper, into a locker following which within two minutes I was also told by another staff member that I could not take any photos, which I had no intention of doing, I was merely carrying my camera.
We felt the staff were officious and hardly welcoming. Given that Bournemouth is a holiday resort they must take great delight in chastising everyone who visits.
Better that the staff seek to encourage visitors rather than find fault.
We left without viewing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“relaxing visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

spent a nice couple of hours looking around this lovely house.
It has some nice art collections and rooms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great place to visit, full of history and unusual things brought back from all around the world. Nice cafe and you can easily spend half a day wandering around this little treasure of a place.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.