We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at the Savoy for four nights via Shearings Coaches in a 'Garden Room', the room was very good, shame about the garden though. It is a spacious hotel with excellent helpful staff and amenities, the food was good but the quantity a bit on the small side. On what we encountered we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter and no higher than the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear CowsHolidays,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work hard to ensure an enjoyable holiday experience for our guests, and your comments will be passed on. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    202
    88
    27
    26
See reviews for
62
254
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good location, close to the sea front, although access to the beach is down some steep steps. About 15 minute walk to High Street but need to be fit as very hilly.
Nice spacious lounge and terrace area to ground floor, with bar.
Outdoor pool and gardens, which are well groomed. Nice area to sit. Evening entertainment was to a good standard, male singer.
Good sized dining room, well laid out, tables not too close to each other.
Rooms clean and tidy, with good facilities.
Excellent food and service.
Will book again.

Room Tip: Book a sea front room or lower ground floor with own terrace overlooking garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Geoffrey G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. There are buses which leave from just around the corner of the Savoy for those amongst us, who are less fit. I'm happy that you enjoyed the hotels entertainment and facilities, and enjoyed your two nights away with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Savoy. We had a lovely room and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in an ideal position - close to the beach but far enough away as not to be noisy.. The breakfast was fine although we did prefer the buffet option which we had last time we stayed. I must admit that the portions at the evening meal were a little small but were adequate.I was a little disappointed that my husband couldn't celebrate his birthday with a glass of prosecco at dinner however, as it was only sold by the bottle.
We asked what the ground floor garden rooms were like as I may take my elderly father later in the year. We were given the key of one of the rooms to have a look on our own. Very helpful. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are good. We stayed in 309 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear RandG1978,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and that you came back for a second visit. I do agree that we are ideally situated in Bournemouth not too noisy but close enough to enjoy the beach and town centre. I'm happy to hear you found the staff helpful and were shown the ground floor garden rooms as these are lovely rooms opening out to the gardens. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Savoy for 5 days with Shearings, excellent value for money. After reading some of the above reviews thought I must have stayed in a different hotel. Hotel has a fantastic location, sea views, garden, friendly staff, spacious lounge and although bedroom wasn't overlooking the gardens it was clean tidy and spacious. Will go back and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in August . Breakfast fine, dinner extremely poor. Poor choice with second rate ingredients and small portions. The garden is very poorly maintained. Poor enteryainment in the evening with a large gap between dinner and the start of the entertainment .People bored with wait maybe would like a quiz or bingo.

Room Tip: Choose an updated room for which they will charge you . Pay for parking at 5 pounds a day is bit ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Anthony L,

Thank you for your recent review. Your comments have been noted and passed on to the relevant persons.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The whole experience staying in this hotel was awful. The staff were rude, the breakfast was disgusting, I couldn't even drink the coffee. I was literally waiting for the elevator for ten minuets. This hotel is like a jazzed up old peoples home. We were never told it was £5 parking per day and it was not on the web page. This hotel is awful, I would go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear tanyaw,

It is disappointing to read your review. We do cater mainly for the over 50s with many returning guests who enjoy the fact we are not full of younger persons wanting to party. Your comments regarding the staff and food have been passed on. We do charge £5.00 per night for parking should we have no spaces available then off street parking is available at a charge.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is my third visit to the Savoy. I always pay for a superior room, as they are large and have lovely views over the sea. My room was very large, king size bed. Bathroom was large and very clean. The restaurant is light and airy. Breakfast is part buffet and waiter service. Dinner is all waiter service. There is a good choice on the menu. There is a small bar. Most nights there is entertainment, but I was not impressed with the singers.

I have spoken to other guests, who only paid for a standard room, and they say for what it had cost them, they were satisfied. I will definitely return to the Savoy hotel on my next visit to Bournemouth. For only a 3star hotel, I think it was very nice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear SwintonLancs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's lovely to read you had a peaceful time with us. Our superor rooms are indeed worth paying that little bit extra, with great views of the gardens and sea. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.