We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Value Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My Wife and I stayed for a three night break at this very friendly hotel on a 3 4 2 offer as we have stayed before on a half board basis.
Food and staff were excellent.Room a little dated with a modernised bathroom which unfortunately lacked any shelf space for toiletries but bed was firm and comfortable.Entertainment very good Friday/Saturday and catered for the age group.One bad point was only one small lift for manly elderly and less mobile clients.
Top Tip book car parking in advance otherwise nightmare Bournemouth street parking if you are lucky.

Room Tip: Non road rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear hartland190735,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your break away with us and found the hotel friendly. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    194
    81
    26
    25
See reviews for
61
239
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been to the Savoy hotel many times. Its a Shearings hotel and we have always been very happy with it. This weekend visit was awful. The room was dirty,carpet coming up. Toilet seat broken and shower either cold or boiling. Fan not working in the bathroom. Reported this on arrival Friday and every day after but did not get fixed. Food awful on Friday but did get better. If you do go do not stay in room 124 or 118. Your be sorry!

Room Tip: pay extra for a premier room or stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Chrisl3075EF,

Thank you for your recent review. Your comments have been actioned and passed on to the relevent persons. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I do not like leaving a critical review, however I feel compelled to do so having just returned from 4 nights at the hotel. Location - excellent - food good - staff helpfull BUT we ended up complaining of no hot water 4 times! It would appear that if you want hot water before 6:45 am boil a kettle, late afternoon before 5:30 the same. Tried to talk to duty manager at approx 6pm to be told that I would have to wait until the following morning. Maintainence man eventually agreed that a valve had been turned off but that he could not change the settings unless authorized by his manager. We did eventually get hot water after three days but only during the afore mentioned times. Weather was hot so needed open window at night, problem was that the room door rattled with the breeze so had to shut window and sweat. Told that we couldn't check out before 8:30 am as night staff not able to do that function. We did manage in the end to get a member of the office staff to come and do the job but as a supposed 3 star hotel I'm afraid it leaves a lot to be desired. Note room 304 was a 'superior' room at a premium of £12pppn ie we paid £96 for the privilege!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear GordonC,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. My apologies for the issues you had during your stay with the hot water. We do state that guests wishing to check out earlier than 8.30am should settle their bill the evening before as our nightporters have no access to monies. I am glad that you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the location and food.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a Shearing's tour , View from the terraces excellent ,just the place to watch the sun go down with a cool glass ( or a hot one)

Only one small problem Large hotel buy only on lift

Room Tip: Upgrade for a sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear MikeB,

Thank you for a lovely review. The terrace is indeed a nice place to sit and relax with a drink whilst watching the sun go down. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute just for a night.
When we booked via another site it said no parking available but on arrival the was most definite parking. When my partner asked reception he was told you have to pre book parking . And he explained about the web site we booked through. The lady at reception explained that we can park on the road outside, well 2 hours later we still could not get parking and we have a 9 month baby with us so not the best start to the day.
On returning back to hotel we where given a superior room which I have to say was beautiful and very very clean.the views across the gardens to the sea was lovely.
Check out is at 10am so we paid the supplement to leave later as there is a swimming pool outside. You would think this would be heated wrong it was freezing so again some disappointment. So we left at 11am and was still charged for the late check out.
All in all good hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Amanda23-Scotland,

Thank you for your recent review. We do have a carpark at the Savoy with limited spaces, where guests can pre-book a space or pay on arrival should there be any spaces available, unfortunately our car park was already booked up at the time of your stay, with guests out and about in their cars during the day it may have looked like there were spaces available. I am pleased that you found your room beautiful and enjoyed the views of the garden and sea. Our outdoor pool is open from May to September and is non-heated, with this lovely hot weather we have been having it has been a welcome relief to our guests. We do hope you will visit again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at the Savoy for a week at the beginning of June, stayed the same week last year. We had a superior garden view room, which was large and excellent. Not sure that the 'one fit's all' decoration policy of Shearings works in every location, but with the canvas that they have to start with in old properties it overall works quite well (We have been to 8 different hotels in the coast & country chain). This I think is our favourite. Staff are excellent, particularly in the restaurant. They were a good team last year but I think this years are even better. A pity that they originate from lands far and wide, but I have unfortunately no doubt that if it had been staffed by UK people then you would have a vastly different impression. The food is excellent, a couple of days we ate off the al la carte' menu for the main. It was excellent. All the food is beautifully presented. One word of warning; stay clear of the fish and chips. if you live south of Watford or stay clear of the fish & chips at all costs if you come from North of Watford. We learned our lesson last year, but we heard people complaining that had them this year. I think the chefs seem to muddle them up with spam fritters. All in all an excellent stay, we certainly would not have returned if it had not been. For anyone that feels this is not good value for money, I would say get a life, your not getting out enough

Room Tip: Upgraded garden view rooms are excellent. Haven't experience of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Malcolm H,

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do feel as you said that we offer good value for money, one of our biggest assets at the Savoy is our team of staff, from far and wide but always happy to help and do their very best for our guests. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked the Wake for my late Father at The Savoy Hotel. The service was beyond excellent, the staff were kind &, friendly and always ready to help. The Hotel had organised lovely flowers to be arranged around the room, which gave a special atmosphere. All of the guests that attended the wake commented on the great selection of tasty food on the buffet, which was more than plenty for everyone. I highly recommend anyone wishing to book any event at The Savoy Hotel as you will certainly receive a very high and excellent quality service.

Room Tip: A hotel that has everything a guest could need, friendly staff, good food, perfect location, near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear AnnaP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to take care of the arrangements for the wake and we are very pleased that you found the service, staff and food excellent.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.