We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
wigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our favourite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just had a long weekend at the savoy, it was our second time here and we will definitely be returning. We had room 220 again which is lovely, good food, friendly and helpful staff who are fantastic with our children and the location is perfect for getting into town and down to the beach. Looking forward to coming again next year. We do find the bar a bit expensive but other than that can't fault the hotel in any way.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear spongebob87,

It's lovely to read that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed in the perfect location for the town and beach, not too far to walk especially with young ones. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    202
    88
    27
    26
See reviews for
62
254
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
watford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After two years of medical attention for serious illness a stay at this hotel was very relaxing and therapeutic. I would love to come back again and hopefully I will. We were lucky to have lovely weather and great views over garden from our third floor, room 311. Loved the piano in the dining room too.

Room Tip: Opt for garden/sea view, extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear maryjt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm glad you found your stay with us relaxing and therapeutic after your illness. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorney in uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Have just returned from our third visit to your lovely hotel. The food is still excellent , rooms soooo comfortable and the staff so helpful .We feel so relaxed as soon as we get to reception and meet their smiling faces. We had to change our room as I could not access the bath and it was done in minutes .Thankyou all .We will return.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear janbrench,

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt so relaxed here. Our team work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Have just come back from a lovely sunny break in Bournemouth at the Savoy. My Mother and I went on a coach trip five years ago and liked the hotel very much then and we returned this time with my sister and came by car.

Our rooms were standard but clean, comfortable and fairly roomy. The food was very good and the service was excellent in the dining room. Our waitress was Barbara who was both efficient and friendly. All the staff I came across, were very polite and helpful.

The evening entertainment varied but after a long day it is very nice to just sit down and get a drink from the well-stocked bar and listen to the music and comedy provided.

The hotel is in a very good position for the beach, lovely views of the sea from the hotel itself and it is a short walk into town or the beach, so you have the best of everything on the doorstep.

We all really enjoyed the break and would come again.

So thank you to all the team, your hard work is much appreciated.

Room Tip: I telephoned to make the booking, that way you can ask for your preferences with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear KayDarling,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm pleased that the sun shone for your holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in Bournemouth. Your wonderful comments will be passed on to all the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have just returned from a 7 night self drive holiday at this hotel.
Food quality.
As a Coeliac my diet has to be Gluten free, the range of food on offer for a Coeliac was excellent & great care was taken to ensure that I was advised as to what was available for every meal, all the food was well prepared, well presented & plentiful from a varied menu every day.
Room quality.
My room was first class & with a great view over the large grounds, Bournemouth beach & the sea, it was in excellent decorative order & was cleaned & tidied every day to a very high standard, "thanks Sabrina".
Entertainment.
There was entertainment for 5 of the 7 nights from 21.00-23.00 all the entertainers were of a very high quality, & did everything required to see the customers were happy, the 2 hours that they entertained just flew by.
Bar & drinks.
The bar was staffed at all times & the bar staff were pleasant & attentive, the tables in the bar/terrace area were always being tidied & cleaned of any glasses or mess, a well run bar all in all, my only concern was the bar pricing, as with all the Shearings hotels they charge far too much for the drinks & wines,"the house red was £14.95 per bottle, or £6.95 from the off licence down the road".
Overall view.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone be they Coeliac or not, all the staff from the reception through to the dining room, cleaners, & bar were well on their game & nothing was too much trouble.
Recommendation.
It's well worth the £5.00 per day/night for the on sight parking, the street parking is a nightmare with a high risk of your vehicle being damaged by others trying to get into very tight gaps, also the parking is both sides of the road with very little room left for passing traffic.
If you're a senior with a freedom pass there's a good bus service into Bournemouth town centre with excellent services running from there to most of the main Dorset resorts.

.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear MikeBearsby-Cook,

Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My family and I didn't have the pleasure of staying in this this hotel but we're lucky enough to eat in the restaurant. The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish. Great location with a lovely balcony and almost perfect sea views.

The staff were attentive and very friendly, nothing seemed to be to much trouble and the food itself was of a very good quality and best of all exceptional value for money.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the savoy hotel as a place to eat, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear KenS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Bournemouth is indeed a lovely town to explore with plenty to see and do. There is a bus service which runs from the hotel into town and back for those who may struggle with the climb back. We do hope you will visit Bournemouth again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Sea, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The company offer excellent value for money for a weekend stay and the Hotel has a prominent position on the cliffs to the west of Bournmouth. A short steady walk down the coastal path and you can enter the beach, the pier, the park and the shopping area. However, the return journey is a climb back to the Savoy but the views can make it worth while.
Bournmouth, and the surrounding towns, have much to offer the visitors and an excellent bus service makes them easy to access and return. The Hotel car park charges make life easier as it guarantees an 'off-street' space rather than having to search the local streets.
The Savoy is an old building which now shows it's age and some areas require 'some loving tender care' to maintain the standard expected by the modern day traveller. Whilst the food, the dinning room, and the staff, make the holiday an enjoyable experience, the room my wife and I stayed in is not to the standard we would normally expect. The corridors, our room door, and the bathroom, badly need a 'Handyman' with screwdriver, tube of filler, and some paint, to rejuvenate them to an acceptable standard due to their wear over the years. However, the condition of the bathroom, and corridor was reflected in the price and presented us with value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ken S,

Thank you for your recent review. We do feel we offer value for money and indeed we are in an excellent position for all of Bournemouths delights, be it a stroll to the beach or a walk into town. I'm sorry that the accomodation was not up to your standard and your comments have been noted, there is also an on-going refurbishment programme here regularly up dating our rooms. We do hope to welome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.