We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #24 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bargain Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed first week on February 2014, when the weather as dreadful. This hotel is very conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the seafront and town centre even for those with restricted mobility (age in our case). The outstanding feature of the hotel is the staff who, without exception, were polite, friendly, and efficient. Our room was the standard grade, and was large, clean, with comfortable beds. The en suite was also clean, but was really in need of up-grading. Everything worked but the plumbing was prone to strange noises, and the ceramic and bath items were different colours. However it turned out to be the quietest room we have ever had bearing in mind the hotel was nearly full (just under 170). The food was plentiful with a choice to suit most and veggie options included. We stuck to the table d'hote offerings and were completely satisfied. There was an interesting range on the a la carte menu, which initially looked expensive, but the prices are substantially discounted if replacing the included table d'hote. Bar prices were about the norm, but we benefitted from the £25 per person vouchers provided to mid week clients, so ended up paying very little extra at the end of our stay. As indicated the weather was very bad and it appeared there was an issue with the central heating system, particularly in the otherwise superb lounge and dining room which were cold with non operational radiators. This was a pity and the source of critical comment by a number of guests we spoke to.
All in all we can not think it is possible to get better value, and in criticism we remind ourselves of what we got for our money - a great deal!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an informative review. We do feel we offer excellant value for money with £25.00 per person in house credit to spend on food and beverages within the hotel, with a varied menu each evening and the choice to pay a supplement for items on the a la carte menu.
We have an on-going refurbishment programme of bedrooms at the Savoy with16 rooms completed in December and more planned for this year. Your lovely comments for our staff will be passed on to the team. We do apologise for the issues we've had with the heating downstairs, this is something that is being looked into at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    178
    75
    22
    21
See reviews for
55
216
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A Shearings four night break in January as a solo traveller. I was made to feel welcome not only by the other passengers on the coach but by the lovely people also staying at the Hotel from around the country.

The Hotel is in an excellent position and I found it easy enough to walk into the town although the steep hill back was enough to make me realise that I really needed to do more exercise.

Staff were absolutely wonderful and could not be faulted with their can-do attitude and customer service.

The food was really very good and we had the tastiest roast lamb on the Friday night that was excellent. I think there was a good choice in the standard menu, especially considering how much the holiday cost.

My bed was comfortable, the bedding was crisp and clean, and the only thing offputting was the squeaky floorboards, but this is an old building after all.

The entertainment was very good ( I agree with the review from FandMD about Tuesday and Thursday entertainers) and we were also blessed by a lively party from Liverpool staying who really enjoyed having a good time and welcomed everyone one into their fun.

I would like to go back to Bournemouth during the summer months and would not hesitate to stay at the Savoy.

Well done to the management and staff of the Hotel and to Shearings for making it all happen.

Room Tip: If you find you are in a room that does not suit, why not politely ask the charming reception staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It's lovely to hear that as a single traveller everyone was so welcoming towards you, people can make such a differance to a holiday.
We are in a great location for seeing the sites of Bournemouth, for the less fit amongst us there is a bus service running in and out of the town center just around the corner of the hotel. Our menu is varied and different each evening with a choice to suit all tastes.
Thank you for a great tip for future guests, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please do not hesitate to see our Reception team who will only be too happy to do their best.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

very cold hotel/room ..room not clean we cleaned bathroom ourselves all crockery chipped even in restaurant bar v.cold...staff lovely...food lovely ..room modern but cold and cleanliness let it down will not go again shame as special surprise

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Our sincere apologies for the let down on what was a special occasion. We are dissapointed to hear that you found your room cold and not clean, this is by no means or usual standard and your comments have been passed on to the relevant persons.
It is lovely to hear that you found the food and staff lovely. Should you change your mind in staying with us again please contact the hotel direct.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at The Savoy for four nights on a Shearings coach holiday. This is the best Shearings hotel we have been to so far.
Booking in was slightly delayed because two coaches had arrived at the same time, but this was hardly the hotel's fault. Our actual checking in was straightforward and quick with pleasant and efficient reception staff. We had paid extra for a "garden view" room and were not disappointed. Our room (206) had obviously been refurbished as it was nicely decorated, had new looking furniture, a flat screen T.V. and was lovely and warm. The beautiful view from the balcony over the gardens to the sea was well worth the extra money.
The dining room, looking out over the gardens, was nicely decorated and the furniture looked new. The food was excellent with a good menu choice, good portions, well presented and all served by very pleasant and friendly staff. We also liked the system of choosing the time you wished to dine as this meant the staff were not rushed.
The evening entertainment was very good, especially on the Tuesday and Thursday nights, and a big bonus for us was the bliss of there not being any Bingo or pub quizzes. Consequently there was no mad rush of guests finishing their dinner to grab seats in the entertainment area.
We would agree with the comments that some of the public areas felt rather cold, and although the lift was supposed to be able to hold six people, most thought four was about limit. As for the comments about the charge for parking, we noticed that you could park on the street for free.
We really enjoyed our short stay at the Savoy and hope to return some day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a "garden view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that we have been your best Shearings hotel so far. When coaches arrive together it can take a liitle longer to get everyone checked in, we try and make it as quick and efficient as we can with a high volume of guests.
We are glad that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms, the garden view balconys are lovely to just sit back, relax looking out at the views.

Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and found the service good and our staff pleasant and helpful. We can only apologise for the temperature you felt in some of the public areas, this is an issue we are looking into.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a really good time. Book in was fast and efficient and all of my booking requests had been satisfied.Meals were tasty and offered real choice.The Hotel benefits from a near perfect location with dining room an lounge overlooking extensive gardens with the sea beyond. Good Hotels become great when people are great. All the staff were extremely polite and accommodated every request. I look forward to visiting this Hotel again .

Room Tip: Garden room worth extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's always great to hear our guests views about their recent holidays with us. Our location is indeed almost perfect, getting out and about in Bournemouth and the surrounding area is easily accessable from the Savoy, and our garden rooms do boost lovely views of our gardens and the sea beyond, well worth the extra supplement if you wish to sit back relax and look out.
It's lovely to hear that you found our staff polite and helpful and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

On arrival we were given Room 102 supposed to be a refurbished standard plus room It was cold and damp and musty and a lot smaller than I thought it would be .No radiator except for a Dimplex and the point was right next to bed which makes us think it was a single room really and not a twin The reception staff were very helpful and when we complained offered us another room next door which was double the size and very nice. The radiator, however wasn't working properly and the (heated?) towel rail in en suite wasn't working so we complained and got a Dimplex. The hot water was temperamental and you had to let it run for ages until it got hot. The food was nothing special unless you paid extra for the a la carte menu which was lovely if you didn't mind waiting for a long time or to be told they were out of steak that night! Waiting staff helpful if they understood English correctly. The public areas were cold and droughty had to wear jumpers all the time. Our room was directly over the lounge and you could not have an early night because the noise from the amplifiers was overbearing and the room was vibrating with the sound of speakers. It took 9 hrs to travel back by the coach which is ridiculous we are in Northampton. we left at 9.30 then stopped 2 hrs walked around in cold got on coach stopped again at interchange for another 1 1/2 hrs then stopped off 4 times to drop people off in their local destinations

Room Tip: lst floor rooms are noisy if over lounge and there is a singer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your recent stay with us. However I am pleased to hear that our reception staff were able to help in some way.
We are a big old building and sometimes the hot water can take a several minutes to come through the taps early in the morning.
We normally have such praise for our staff and food and apologise that you found both unsatisfactory and for running out of steak, this is a popular item on the menu.
We do have a few rooms above the entertainment room and try to keep the noise from this at an acceptable level, entertainment finishes at aprroximately 11.30 pm.
The other issues mentioned we are looking into at the moment and comments passed on to the relevant persons.

We do hope you will give us a try again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from the savoy today, what the heck are people complaining about, it was fabulous , I was in a single room, the room was 214 . Which I had read a huge complaint about on here, so when I got the key I thought oh no this is gonna be bad, what a lovely room, spotlessly clean, ample wardrobe, more drawers than I could have filled if I'd been staying a fortnight, clean comfy bed, flat screen tv with free view , plenty hot water, very quiet, only slight prob was the bathroom window was draughty, I could live with that, reception staff, waiting staff and bar staff were exceptionally polite and did their job superbly, the food was very good, served hot and quickly, how anyone could complain about this hotel I don't know, I would definitely stay here again, well done all at savoy, I applaud you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a positive review, thank you. It's lovely to hear that despite reading a previous complaint about the room you were in that you were not dissapointed. We offer guests all the comforts of home at the Savoy...without the cooking and cleaning to do!!
It's great to hear such positives about our staff who work so hard and these will be passed onto all of them.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#25 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.