We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely 7 days at the Savoy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A really lovely 7 days at the Savoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Writing this from the balcony outside my room on my last day here.
Lovely hotel, excellent food and plenty of it and superb staff across all departments! Shall be sorry to leave tomorrow morning.
Thank you John and ALL your staff, will definitely come again.
Alan N
Shropshire

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to know that you experienced the ultimate in confort and convenience at the Savoy hotel and I would like to thank you for writing such a lovely review.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    221
    99
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
283
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good hotel, good food with clean and comfortable rooms. Reserved parking was a bonus. On the whole the staff were friendly but be careful not to sit at the wrong table at breakfast! If you are a party of two and you sit at a table set for three (because all the tables for two are not cleared) you will be berated by the waiting staff, and if you ask to see the manager, you will be totally ignored by the waiting staff. Such a shame, as this spoilt our short break away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Savoy Hotel.

I am sorry you had a bad experience in the restaurant, our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations.

We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem mentioned.

I am glad to hear that overall you had a great stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good hotel for 3 star. Food was very good, good choice and served very hot. Waiting staff and reception staff very pleasant. Very clean and comfortable. Very enjoyable holiday. Excellent location and lovely to look over lawned area out to sea. Had small problem with bedroom lock but quickly shown how to resolve.

Room Tip: We asked for high room and we were given an attic room which meant that it had restricted roof space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the food and appreciated our very central location close to the town centre and the beach.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A others have commented this is a very good hotel. Food excellent, service good but some lack of local knowledge. We travelled by car & used their car park for the whole stay
Down side was the short hose shower & the one lift. However,the lift did always operate & although cramped gave us no trouble getting to the 3rd floor..

Room Tip: Book 1st floor & if by car book the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am really sorry if you did not find the lift adequate.

I am hoping to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyable break,the hotel staff were excellent,friendly efficient and helpful.Hotel in good position.Limited parking but you can park jn the street free.Comfy beds but rooms a little tired could do with refurbishing.Lift very small and no air conditioning in hotel .Food quality average but overall hotel good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Savoy hotel Bournemouth.

I am delighted to read that overall you had a good stay with us and that you did find us good value for money.

We are looking forward to your return visit.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We popped into The Savoy for breakfast on two mornings last week and were greeted by a very nice French gentleman on the reception desk. We enjoyed two breakfasts served by very pleasant and helpful staff - the food was everything we could have asked for, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you for writing such a positive review on trip advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfast with us and enjoyed our French touch and courteous staff.

And who knows, we might welcome you for a couple of nights stay in the future.

Sincerlely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

just returned from a nice four day break

hotel and room excellent went for the upgrade well worth the money

only real observation would be that breakfast could ber organised slightly differently to allow a quick turn around of table

air extraction or air circulation in the resturant would be a help found it hot and uncomfortable at meal times

otherwise food excellent staff very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for your kind words.

We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the issue with breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.