We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Holiday week in the savoy September 17th 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shearings Holiday week in the savoy September 17th 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at a number of Shearings holiday hotels and believe that the Savoy Hotel the best. The location is ideal with the gardens leading to both the esplanade and beautiful views of the sea. The hotel has an extensive terrace where for the not so nimble can marvel at the views and enjoy coffee and snacks. The food was part of the package and we were very impressed with the meals which were both imaginative and very tasty. This brings me on to the service provided in the dining room which has views towards the sea. Considering the number of diners the service was SUPERB and all the staff were both professional and very courteous. They seem to really enjoy their work, very smartly dressed but extremely efficient. For lunch we had the Ceasar salad which was superb and well presented. The reception team were also very welcoming and helpful especially dealing with guests of all ages. The weather for the week was absolutely wonderful which made the whole experience enjoyable. The staff at this hotel seem to be from all parts of Europe and provide a lesson for all of us how to work together. If this isn't the flagship for the Shearings group it certainly should be. Congratulations to the Savoy team at Bournemouth!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are light, quieter and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay at the Savoy. The team are happy to know you enjoyed your holiday, we like nothing more than to know we are successful on what is the most important factor of our jobs: Guest Satisfaction! I send you 50+ hello’s from all the staff at the Savoy Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    220
    99
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
283
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorney in uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely views of the sea from the terrace and rooms.My husband and I have travelled the world but we have never met such kind staff and the food is soooooo good.Such a choice 3 course breakfasts and dinner served so well.Our room was at ground level and we had lovely views of the garden and the sea.You can change tables and eating times as we did after 2 days when a new intake arrived and it was done very easily by their excellent staff.Nothing was too much trouble.WE WILL RETURN.

Room Tip: any garden rooms 1-10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you! Thank you! For another great review and for taking the time to share your views on the Savoy Hotel, comments like yours motivate our team...we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

my mother stayed at this hotel from 17th to 21st sept 2012, staff very good, rooms very plain with with extremely small bathrooms,the entertainment was very good twice a week only, food totally very very very poor with no selection unless you like chicken then you would be in heaven, this holiday was with sherrings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Sorry your relative did not enjoy their stay at the Savoy, I believe everyone is entitled to their opinion even when you find them a little extreme, we do not like when customers go away unhappy and we apologise we did not meet your mother’s expectation during her holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My mother and I arrived 10th September with shearings for 5 days we had room 303 with sea view and balcony we had the same room in the last week of may this year would like to thank all the staff, nothing is to much trouble for any of them what a wonderful team you have at the Savoy. The only thing the food was not as good as in may not sure if the Chef is the same but we had a lovely stay will look forward to seeing you next year.
Many thanks Mrs Taylor

Room Tip: Room with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and plan to come back soon, take advantage of our brilliant special offer, 15% off bookings done between October 2012 and May 2013!!! Our chef is still the same and as passionate for food as always, we do change menus seasonally, I am sorry this was not of your liking and hope you enjoy it next time. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wALES
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and we were certainly not dissapointed. We booked a sea view which also overlooked the gardens. Our room was a nice size and comfortable.The only thing wrong was we were not able to eat till 7.45 as we were one of the last ones getting off the coach and the first lot got the earlier times for eating. Meals were good as usual and and plenty to choose from. All the staff were very friendly.Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Much nicer to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Such lovely review! The team will be happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon - thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Savoy hotel! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just returned from 5 days coach holiday with Shearings 7 Sep 2012- found the staff amazing nothing too much trouble, food was varied, enjoyable and exciting.
Dining room staff waiters/waitresses excellent the meal times were as fine tuned as a symphony orchestra, I was amazed how efficiently these people delivered the wonderful array of food, at no one time did I ever see a ? restaurant manager/supervisor etc on the premises, yet all diners were served promptly and with great courtesy. Well done, our table,number 63 was serviced by Judith, Allona, and several others ,their un retiring attention to detail must be complimented.The hotel is well located and appears to be undergoing some modernisation/decoration. The housekeeping staff maintained a great standard of cleanliness, the only small gripe would be that one had to ask at reception for replacement bath/shower gel daily[ surely the cleaning staff could keep these on hand and replenish as they did with tea, coffee, milk etc.
How wonderful to have an electronic piano in the dining room but please increase the volume as many diners altho interested voiced the same opinion-almost inaudible.The Savoy is a fine hotel and the deal with Shearings was good.Coach driver Tony,his first visit to the area was both professional and caring.... pity we had to wait on homeward journey at Woodall Service area for almost two hours for interchange to take place, but still a great holiday experience ,well done and thanks to Shearings and all concerned. We will be back
BH

Room Tip: Single room 126 no sea view but quieter and easy accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review - I have passed on your great comments to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

would never return again after being charged £5 aday parking fee. we were told that there was free parking in the street , we tried there was no spaces. so wye was we not informed about the charge like many other drive customers none of us would not return again..your loss sheerings.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our car park charges, however this new initiative has come about from looking at what is happening in the industry and comments/requests from guests about their desire to be able to reserve a car parking space for a small sum - £5 isn't bad I had to pay £12.50 the other day at a hotel I stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.