We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend for Two!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Weekend for Two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Couldn't recommend more highly. The staff were excellent - so friendly and helpful. They made our stay effortless and very comfortable. Our room's sea view was superb. Ideally positioned very close to the beach. Lots of parking. We couldn't fault it. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    211
    69
    25
    10
See reviews for
169
346
55
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Best hotel we have stayed in by a long way. Stayed in Superior deluxe room. Excellent facilities, spotless room, friendly staff and gorgeous food. Ate out the first night but after having sampled the food on the second night wished we had eaten in both nights. Been to Bournemouth many times but never stayed in the centre. Will definitely be coming back. Thank you for a long weekend break to remember.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel off the internet as it looked nice! I wasn't disappointed. When I checked in I asked for tea and cake to be brought to my room and they went out of their way to find me some cake ( a warm Bakewell tart) even though it wasn't on the menu as such. I had aproblem connecting my MacBook to the wifi. They went out of their way to sort it out including the manger coming up to my room to help me. They got it sorted within minutes and then I had access to the fastest hotel wifi I have ever come across. The meal I had was fantastic value and really well cooked; it would have done credit to any fine dining establishment. Breakfast was good and cooked to order. The room was fine with a lovely sea view. This reminds me of the sort of family run hotels you find in beauty spots in Italy - this is meant as a very high compliment. Any way great hotel with staff that really care and do their job well with a smile - A little gem!

Room Tip: Sea View is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are now regular visitor's here, and, as of last week, it was even better than before: the room, the staff, and the amenities were all top-notch (and - in spite of our disloyalty in even looking - it worked out cheaper than the Premier Inn (as breakfast and parking are included here)), and, because of that, it is undoubtedly our go-to venue whenever in Bournemouth!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hermitage Hotel is located in the centre of Bournemouth overlooking the seafront and Lower Gardens and within easy walking distance to all the local amenities and the seafront.

The entrance to the car park is next to a large round glass fronted building which detracts from the otherwise attractive hotel building, especially as it appears only to be used as a furniture store.

The main entrance into the Hotel is at the right side of the smoker's tent (which detracts from the hotels external appearance). Inside the Hermitage Hotel you will find bright, clean and well furnished reception area, lounge and dining rooms.

The staff are very polite and well trained in their duties. All the meals we had during our stay were of a good standard and presentation, accompanied by faultless service from the dining room staff.

The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and well appointed. The double bed was only a standard size and uncomfortable, (which resulted in a poor nights sleep). Not what is expected of a hotel that is advertised as a four star luxury Hotel.

My advice for couples staying at the Hermitage Hotel is to request a twin-bedded room with a seaview.

Room Tip: Request a twin-bedded room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last week we stayed at the Hermitage hotel for the 2nd time - room and bathroom clean and tidy.
Was disappointed that our room had a small double bed and as we are not obese or overweight - found it very uncomfortable and no room to move during the night.
The next time we stay at this hotel we are going to request a twin room and therefore by doing this we should have a peaceful and rested night.
However, the staff are very pleasant in this Hotel. It was good to see 'Charles' the Restaurant Manager still working his charm in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are good, but request a twin or king size bed if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just arrived back from 2 days at this wonderful hotel and we could not praise it enough. Had a superior suite which was exceptional value for money and can honestly say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in - we will not stay anywhere else when visiting Bournemouth again.

Room was stunning with sea view, spacious, luxury, comfy and had everything we needed. The 6ft bed was the comfiest night's sleep we have ever had and the shower was a hot powerhouse. The staff were welcoming, friendly and so accommodating and the food was splendid.

Fabulous location, stones throw from beach & pier and easy walking into town across the gardens. Perfect break at a perfect hotel - amazed it is only 4* as it definitely deserves to be 5*.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.