We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here most Sundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We go here most Sundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We love this hotel, we have a trip most Sundays and we have taken friends and family to this hotel, our friends have stayed here as well. Excellent food great service, you can just pop in for a light lunch or have a meal in main restaurant, always get a nice welcome especially when Elliot is working.

Room Tip: Double room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    211
    69
    25
    10
See reviews for
169
346
55
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently had to go to Bournemouth on business and found myself booked into this excellent hotel. The Hermitage is ideally located - a very short walk from the beach but also close to the town centre. The room was comfortable and the public areas light and airy but what really made it stand out for me was the staff. Everyone we dealt with there was extremely helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We had a very early start to the day the following morning. The desk staff apologised that they couldn't provide us with a hot breakfast that early (6am) but offered to deliver a continental breakfast to our rooms - and it was excellent and there was plenty of it.
A really enjoyable stay in a friendly and comfortable hotel. It well deserves its 4 star status.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It was 1st time we stayed Hermitage I must say We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in particular the Excellent staff. I could not describe highly enough of the dedication in ensuring our stay was totally memorable. Specially reception staff(Anneles) as I have been served 3 times. staff really worked hard on our needs, Reception staffs are very informative & polite.especially as we had a vehicle involved they allowing us to park extra 3 hours after we checked out.This hotel got a very good parking facilities.Hotels in a top location.we stayed room 308 Beds were great rooms spacious,lovely sea view ,Excellent Breakfast well worth the effort.we will definitely coming back soon.Highly recommended .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although the hotel web site has several room types, we used Booking.com which only had "double room" so did not have high expectations. Our room was very large, additional area with desk, coffee etc, and very large bathroom. All were spotless, and we had a sea view. Only food we had was breakfast, which was very good, and the dining room is very well run. Tables cleared promptly, coffee and toast order taken quickly, and supplied within minutes. A better fruit selection would have been nice would be only criticism. Location, with free car parking could not be better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hermitage is our favoured hotel of the six in which we have stayed in Bournemouth. It is situated some 200 yds from glorious beaches and a short stroll through the well manicured park to the very good shopping centre. We stayed in a "superior " room with some features not often found in more prestigious establishments (a Nespresso machine, Terry towelling bathrobes, tissues and bottled water) The hotel's Victorian origins are seen in high ceilings and elaborate coving in the well appointed public areas which reflect thoughtful updating.
Menus are varied, well presented and good value. The wine list is balanced and refreshingly short; house wines start at around £17.
The only downside to a sea view room was the persistent sound of pop and rock in the evening from the covered stage some 200 yds away offset only partly by double glazed windows.

Room Tip: Look for a superior room on the second or higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the Hermitage with my partner and 3 boys in a spacious family suite. Hotel staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast menu quite extensive . tasty full English! Drink prices very reasonable. Only grumble was it was too hot . We did have a fan in the room though. Air Conditioning would have made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just come back from a three night stay at The Hermitage Hotel. My wife says I'm fussy when it comes to staying in hotels and she's right! I can't stand roughing it and I'm glad to say I couldn't complain about anything at The Hermitage Hotel. The family suite (617) was very spacious and the bathroom was large, there wasn't a view from the windows but we booked last minute and were just glad they could find us a room. The hotel is situated in the best possible location, just minutes from the beach and the town is a short pleasant walk through the wonderful gardens. The staff are very helpful and professional and I must mention the cleaning staff who made our room look like new every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.