We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

35 of us had a fantastic afternoon tea at the Hermitage Hotel at the end of our sunny day in Bournemouth. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive. Booking was simple and the hotel were very good at catering for different dietary needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    211
    69
    25
    10
See reviews for
170
343
55
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location, across from the sea, by the gardens and a few minutes walk from town. The Staff are well trained, young, friendly and extremely helpful. We asked for a sea view room and couldn't have had a more fabulous view facing the sea, the pier and over the gardens. The dinner was first class, attractively presented and very plentiful in portion size. The bedroom was clean, the linen fresh each day and with bottles of water daily at no charge - a very nice touch. We had a lovely, relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with the big arch windows are delightful with stunning views on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a 'compact' room, and frankly, I'd love to see a normal room, because the compact was huge! Loads of space, lovely big bathroom, very clean. Only complaint is the lack of air con (expected in a building of this age) as the room was uncomfortably hot!

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice. We had dinner one evening in the bar, excellent and very reasonable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. General atmosphere is very relaxed and the location is perfect! Spotlessly clean and very quiet, even in high season. A lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I asked for a quiet room and apart from the call of the seagulls it was amazingly quiet considering the hotel is right in the central gardens/beach area of Bournemouth. The beach, shops, cinemas, theatre and restaurants are a short stroll through the beautiful gardens, in fact the hotel couldn't be better situated.
The room was on the side of the hotel overlooking the gardens. It was well equipped and well cleaned each day.
The food in the dining room was excellent, especially at dinner when the choice and presentation was really impressive. I have found it difficult to find reasonably priced, good restaurants in Bournemouth that aren't chains or of the fish and chip/hamburger variety, so I was delighted with the food at The Hermitage. I couldn't fault it.
Staff are efficient and charming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room 111 is titled as 'Superior' but I dont know what it is superior to. It was a disappointment. The room is a good size (but I have had equally large rooms for a lot less). It did have a 'seaview' - over a flat roof, between some trees and a raised concrete flyover, so how much of the view is sea? It did have some good features - iron and ironing board, tea/coffee, flat screen TV, but most of these are standard in most hotels these days.

The room was very, very hot - and this was on days which were mainly overcast, cool and rainy. It was a relief to get out of the room - not a feeling you should have for this price. I cannot believe they do not have air-conditioning in this room and a ceiling fan. A table fan was provided but this is far less effective. We had to have the fan on all night the room was so hot. Only one of the windows opened and only a small amount. I noticed other rooms did have other windows that were able to be opened. This is a very odd room. I guess it was the last one available. Perhaps they should make its shortcomings clear when booking and adjust the price accordingly.

The other oddity was the lack of power sockets. There were only two accessible - one needed for the fan, which left only one free for laptops, phone charging, kettle etc - Superior?
The Wifi is free, which is good and quite fast - but it kept failing.

I was aware of the variability of the rooms and so I originally phoned the hotel to book, but was told they had no rooms available. I then went on their own website and booked it! I dont understand why this happens. It did mean I couldnt identify the room and avoid this sweltering room. Other hotels with rooms of various quality have websites that allow you to view each room and book individual rooms - and rooms are priced accordingly. The only 'Superior' point for this room as far as I can see is that it is larger than some others. The price did not reflect the value.
We stayed at the Ramada Hotel previously and it was a much better room and hotel - and a lot cheaper (without the 'seaview' and a short walk to the beach)

On the positive, all the staff were pleasant, breakfast was good - they do have vegetarian sausages available, but no signs, you have to ask - and the bed was very large and very comfortable.

The main plus being is that you can walk to the beach in about 1 minute without crossing roads. However this is not worth the money. It may have been worth 4 stars in the past, but other hotels have overtaken it.

I would not recommend staying in this hotel, it is overpriced, poor value and poor quality facilities. I do not enjoy writing bad reviews, most of mine are very positive, but I would not want others to feel disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 111 is uncomfortably hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week in a superior seaview room. The "sea view" was disappointing....and first impressions are really important! Yes we could see the sea...just about...but it was largely obscured by ugly promenade buildings and a carousel. Obviously the hotel can do nothing about these....but maybe the decription of the view could be more honest. I have stayed in beauiful hotels where seaview means what it says but here? only with a good pinch of salt. In fact the view in general was spoilt by the horrible flat roof of the extended dining room on the floor below.

We were warmly welcomed, check in was swift and efficient and the staff, in general, were friendly and very helpful. The room was impeccably clean and well furnished. It was described as a "very large room" ; large, yes,...very large, not really. When we arrived, the room was extremely warm, had no AC and the window would only open a few inches. At our request, a gentleman arrived and showed us how to undo a clip so that the window could open a little more.....and pointed out implications of health and safety (aaagh, that term!!), the danger of people falling through windows etc. One of us is "older" , the other is distinctly elderly! A fan was provided in the room and I had brought my own ,so we used these at all times to try and regulate the temperature. There was, however, a shortage of electricity sockets. Whenever a phone needed to be charged or a kettle boiled we had to disconnect some appliance or other.
The bathroom was a good size and a gown , slippers and cosy towels were provided. There was a shower above the bath but it was difficult to regulate and was affected by the amount of water being drawn in other locations in the hotel. Really annoying!

Breakfast was buffet-style and included a good range of food although I would have liked a better choice of fruit. It was almost always prunes, melon and oranges . The staff who served breakfast were lovely people although the restaurant manager failed to hide his slight uneasiness when we arrived for breakfast 20 minutes before the official opening time on a Sunday. We needed to catch a ferry.

The hotel is in a really convenient position, a few minutes' walk from the lovely municipal gardens and from the shops. We were not bothered by noise although we were at the front of the hotel and had the window open all night. The hotel itself is quiet and calm with a pleasant bar area for relaxing. We always managed to find a space within the car park.

Despite all the niggles mentioned above, we had a lovely week at the Hermitage and would recommend it to anyone seeking a relaxing break in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our second visit to The Hermitage Hotel and wonderful stay we had. We received a really warm welcome from reception upon arrival and was shown to our room by Steven. We stayed in one of the suites which was a lovely spacious room, with a very comfortable bed.

Evening meals in the restaurant were delicious with a good choice from the menu. The buffet breakfast was equally as good with a good choice on offer. Service was excellent lead by Charles and the team.

All the reception staff were really helpful and attentive, with a friendly smile to greet you.

An excellent location for the beach, gardens, shops and theatres.

Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.