We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Enjoyable Stay - Thanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yenton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Yenton to your Saves list
The Yenton
Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Enjoyable Stay - Thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On arrival we had the most wonderful “Afternoon Tea” after being shown to our room which would put most of the top class hotels to shame. Breakfast absolutely first class and must agree with other reviewer that the sausages were delicious along with eggs bacon etc. The Yenton was a friendly hotel with lovely gardens to look out on, good parking and a nice walk from the beach. Well Done Hotel Yenton.

Room Tip: WiFi not in range in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    79
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
59
131
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Looks over the lovely garden. The room needs updating, paint on the ceiling left hand corner flaking off. Bed (2 joined together) new mattress needed (squeaky). Very small TV you will need your glasses to see the screen. Pine wardrobe and chest of drawers. Hospitality tray one of worse we have come across, silver tin with basic tea and coffee sachets. The bathroom, no individual bath/shower products. Badly in need of refurbishment!! Noise from other rooms flushing their toilet/s quite alarming!!
Friendly, proprietors!
Breakfast very good, lovely view over the gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has plenty of character, it's close to the beach and not far to town.
We got our stay through KGB and t was great value.
Breakfast - nice sausages and eggs! A bit f fresh fruit would be lovely.
Bed - comfy enough and I'm writing this as someone who is 7 months pregnant
Room - clean big, changed daily, coffee and biscuits was an unexpected, lovely touch
Shower - our friends was great but ours was the only thing we could complain about no pressure or regulation but we had a bath instead so ok.
Service- lovely staff but maybe need a few more people on the bar or breakfast.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a short break at the YENTON on arrival we were served afternoon tea sandwiches/tea cakes and cake what a great way to greet guests.Our room 12 overlooked the garden which was lovely.This hotel has a fantastic location a 15 min stroll to the gardens in the centre of Bournmouth and in the opposite direction to Boscombe again a 15 min stroll .The local bus service to Poole is first class and the nearest bus stop 3 mins away.Finally back to YENTON the breakfast was great, numerous cereals and to follow a great cooked offering of bacon/sausage/ mushrooms/eggs etc. We will return and with friends .Thanks to all at YENTON

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am sorry to say I was most dissatisfied with my stay at the Yenton. Firstly I would expect a change of sheets to be included in the price of staying per night in a room at a hotel. On my first night, I ate a chocolate bar in bed and fell asleep, so woke up with some chocolate on the sheet and pillow (not a great amount). When I checked out after two nights I was charged £27 for a) cleaning the sheets and b) replacing them? why would you clean them if you are replacing them? and why would chocolate simply not wash out? and wouldn;t the sheets be washed after each visitor anyway?
Further, the bar closes at 10pm so no chance of a night cap before bed unless you are a real early bird, and even when the bar is open you have to go and find someone to come back and serve you at the bar, and when you do you are made to feel like they are doing you a big favour.
I definitely will not be staying at this hotel again.
Dean Parkin (London)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyenton, Owner at The Yenton, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with the charge for replacement sheet and duvet. This is the amount that the laundry charge for replacements less vat ( which as we can reclaim we did not charge.)
The stains on the sheet and duvet cover may have been the colour of chocolate but smelt and looked liked something entirely different and the laundry refused to take them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here, in the Garden Room, for 2 nights in September. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed and it was lovely opening the patio door onto a small sitting area in the garden. We enjoyed sitting out there with a cuppa.
Breakfast was good, in fact the vegetarian cooked was excellent, even my meat eating husband was attracted by it.
It was a 10-15 minute walk to the seafront and also to places to eat, although we walked a bit further to an excellent Mexican recommended by the Yenton.
All in all a perfect location for us as we prefer quiet.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had had a Groupon afternoon tea at a premier Bournemouth hotel earlier in the Summer but the Yenton surpassed this with ease.

Friendly, attentive and efficient staff serving chamopagne followed by a large afternoon tea was a good basis. Added to this, though, was the overall quality - excellent home made cakes, pats not packs of butter, clotted not pretend cream, tasty not anaemic ingredients including sweet strawberries (even in October), linen tablecloths... it could hardly have been better value.

Whether or not the actual hotel can maintain such standards with its rooms etc we could not tell (we were told that some rooms are being upgraded during the coming winter) but the staff certainly seemed to care about the well-being of patrons so that is one essential ingredient in place. As others have noted, it is also close to the sea, the town centre and the main station / bus station.

Next stop, their winter afternoon tea, which sounds very appetising.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yenton

Address: Gervis Rd | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Yenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yenton Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.