We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Gluten free Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Gluten free Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

It was great stay with a fab location close to the beach and shops,The staff were very friendly especially Charlotte the receptionist who really went out of her way to make our stay relaxing. I'm gluten free which can be a really problem in some hotels but not in this one I bought my own bread down for breakfast and they toasted it for me to bring out with my breakfast, they even changed some of the food items around to meet my needs and this was not a problem. It was a great stay and would 100% return if I was staying in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: The rooms are average size however there was only two mini milks in the room for Tea and Coffee faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    112
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
32
105
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Came for a 1 night stay with friend. The rooms were clean,comfy and cosy and the staff were friendly.The let down was cooked breakfast.After a 35min wait we had 1egg, undercooked bacon and the rest was cold and tasteless. Such a shame!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my wife on a weekend away after Christmas.We arrived by rail at Bournemouth Station and after a 10 minute taxi ride we were at the Hotel. A warm welcome from reception and we were soon checked in and in our warm cosy room..
It was a small double room as requested that had ample room for 2 with two super comfy beds a flats-creen tv and tea and coffee making facilities,along with a private bathroom and clean and fluffy towels.
We could not fault the room, but a larger version was available but the one we had suited our needs for a couple of nights.
The holel is a 10/15 minute walk down hill to the pier,beach and town that on a nice warm day is an easy walk and luckily we had 2 great days.
Breakfast was included in our deal and was excellent with a large choice of cold items and a choice of hot breakfast also.
There is a lift to all floors, a bar and a garden for guest to enjoy, wi-fi is available free and served our needs well.
We found a couple of good restaurants close buy and a much larger choice down town.
Overall a great place to stay for a weekend break of longer but say in a larger room upgrade
Highly Recommended

Room Tip: There is a lift set in the hills overlooking the sea,so this makes waling back to the hotel easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Lovely Hotel with Lovely Staff but we had a room next to the reception area where we could hear everyone talking at reception and in the bar area.
Clean rooms but a bit small for 3 people.
Close to the BIC

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it was superb.The staff we're spot on and it ticked all the boxes just a few minutes walk into town, food was superb really good value for money.we would like to thank everyone for making our stay so good and comfortable . Mr and mrs Rose 14th Dec 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very friendly 3 star hotel, Charlotte on reception was lovely and helpful. Easy to find, plenty of free parking, rooms had a homely feel, With it being an old building the flooring was a little creaky so could hear room above walking but not enough to disturb me. Good breakfast, generous portions and well presented.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Located away from the Hen/Stag Hotels but only a short walk from the centre it could not be better located.

The staff were very friendly, the room was amazingly clean and everything worked including all channels on the TV(very rare in the UK).

It would have been a 5 star if the room had been a little bigger, it was very much on the small side plus the shower tap had a mind of it's own.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western
Address: 13 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Montague is a friendly 31 en-suite bedroom, Metro bed and breakfast hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location when visiting the south coast. Being only a stones throw away from the cliff tops with spectacular views across the bay, open promenade and miles of sandy beaches. Only a five minute walk will bring you to the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants, cafés and vibrant night life. For the business traveller we are in a prime location for the Bournemouth International Centre.Our key facilities include: complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms and public areas, lift to all floors, ample free car parking and a 24 hour reception, bar and night porter service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.