We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab breakfast, lovely hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marlins to your Saves list
Marlins
2 West Cliff Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fab breakfast, lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

We have stayed at Marlins twice, once as a couple and once with our 4 children and we cannot recommend this cosy little hotel highly enough! The hosts are friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and beautifully kept and they serve the best breakfast in Bournemouth! There is the added luxury of a rear courtyard area which is a sun trap and a very pleasant place to enjoy a drink and read the newspaper. We made the mistake of joining friends at a different hotel last year but will be back at Marlins this year. Book with confidence!
Julie and Kevin, Birmingham

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    52
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
238
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Have just returned from a couple of nights at the Marlins Hotel. The owners were very pleasant and helpful with ideas of places to visit , or local places to eat. The hotel was extremely clean everywhere.the room we were in was quite small though ok for a 2 night stay.The toilet/shower room was very small though clean. The only thing I would comment on was that after our first night we left our dirty towels on the bathroom floor before we went out for the day,, assuming that we would be given clean ones, when we arrived back later that day we found the wet towels still on the bathroom floor. When we checked at the reception we were told that towels were only changed EVERY OTHER day. But we were given clean ones there and then ,once it had been brought to the owners attention. We checked through the welcome book in the room and nowhere was this mentioned. As there was nowhere to dry the towels I feel this was not very good.Perhaps a note of this could be mentioned in the welcome book for guests to be aware of. We would visit this hotel again as it is a perfect location to Bournemouth beaches , and shops and theatres.Also car parking is a big bonus at the hotel.The breakfast was lovely,grilled food not greasy fried breakfast items.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, Middlesex, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

This was the third time that I have stayed at the Marlins, and I yet again I was left with a great impression. Having stayed twice before with my wife, I decided to take my elderly mum for a break. I booked 2 rooms at the hotel, both of which were quite different but equally impeccable. They were both spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast never fails to disappoint. How many hotels get their sausages directly from a local reputable butcher, rather than a wholesaler. You can definitely taste the difference.
The hotel owners are a credit to their profession, and nothing is too much trouble.
I travel a lot in my job (airline staff), and can honestly say that the Marlins hotel constantly beats some five star hotels on cleanliness, hospitality and food quality.
My only reservation with filing this report is that the hotel will become even more popular, and I will never get a room again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Hospitality, Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teignmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

The third visit to Marlins by members of Dawlish Rotary Club! This time for the 2007 National Conference held on 12-14 April and on this occassion we took over all the rooms and hoisted our banner on the hotel facade! A joy to come back and see the continued upgrading of faclities with none of the basics having been forgotten. As usual, every room and all public areas were clean,tidy and welcoming.The beakfasts are generous,freshly prepared on an individual basis with quick and pleasant service. It's so nice to be greeted with a smile in the morning!
Making arrangements and allocating rooms for 24 people could have been a headache but the proprietors made this an easy task and also met various individual members specific needs without demur. Thanks again to Neil and Michael for making my job easy and ensuring that our stay was a most pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Clean,friendly,welcoming and close to all amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

The Marlins Hotel and owners Neil and Michael have provided many a pleasant holiday in Bournemouth. Rooms clean and welcome so warm. Just like the weather lately.
If you want a relaxing break then this is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshman in England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We have just returned from our firts visit to Marlins Hptel in Bournemouth. We had a wonderful weekend, the room was well furnished and very comfortable and the food was superb.
The owners did all they could to make us feel welcome, they offered advise on where to visit as well as information on where to eat etc.
I am sure this will not be our last visit. We are already talking about our next stay at Marlins Hotel.
Of course, the weather helped too. Sunny and sultry!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Stayed two nights great location for bic beach shops but could be bit of a steep walk back up a hill for some from bic beach ?
parking can be a bit tight / blocked in if you have a big car or everyone in hotel brings a car but we was fine as parked up for 2 days never used car till we left

Neil and staff very friendly, breakfast was good ,room very clean
we would come again and stay but this would be our 2nd hotel of choice the lampeters with its bar. under the hotel and views over the gardens for about the same per night gets our vote
but this still a nice place

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlins

Address: 2 West Cliff Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlins is a 4 Star guest house located within a short walk of the Conference centre (BIC), beach and town centre. We offer free off street parking and wireless internet access. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, each room is inspected daily by the owners to ensure the highest standards are maintained. We will do everything possible to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Marlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlins Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.