We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Suncliff Hotel to your Saves list
The Suncliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here Friday till Monday in January. Lovely room ocean view and a balcony a bit dated but clean and everything we needed. Stayed in for evening meal three courses very nice staff very polite and attentive. Great entertainment in the evening and other guests friendly. Breakfast excellent nice and hot and plenty of variety the restaurant manager very funny. We swam in the pool everyday it was so hot! The location is ideal the beach is opposite and we had a lovely walk to Boscombe although the weather was a bit rough we still enjoyed it. The town is within walking distance as well. I would recommend this Hotel for location and the staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    328
    150
    98
    54
See reviews for
207
417
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Alright for a budget hotel, but avoid if u have the chance to stay at the village or hallmark. It's very old, rooms are dated and unfashionable. Spa facilities are rubbish, we was suppose to stay for 2 nights but ended up driving home after the first nite. Floorboards are squeaky and loud entertainment at nite until about 12! In the morning breakfast was moderate nothing to rave about. Maid asked if we wanted the room cleaning I replied no because I was changing and then 10 minutes later and man came in unannounced whilst me and my partner was on the bed.... Very embarrassing. Rude staff at times.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend and found that the the staff were really helpful and polite. I was on my own in the day whilst my husband was working and was made to feel very comfortable. Staff were always willing to help with local knowledge and the pool was lovely and warm. I also enjoyed the splendid breakfasts and delicious cream teas served in the lounge. The entertainment was not really our thing but the coach parties seemed to be having a great time. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary at the Suncliff hotel, Bournemouth, in their conservatory function room. We had about 50 guests attend and had a fantastic time. The organisation of the party was flawless and the staff could not have been more helpful throughout the whole function.
The food was excellent and plentiful and the DJ arranged by the hotel was very good.
At the end of the evening we were able to sit quietly in the bar and catch up with the family and the staff were happy to serve us until the early hours of the morning.
The accommodation overnight was nice and breakfast in the morning was very good.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and felt that the Suncliff offered very good value for money, also nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. This is our third visit and we look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with a balcony are very nice. If you want to be extravagant try one of the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Travelled from North by coach. Very good first impressions were confirmed by good, warm accommodation, hot water and pleasant room. Dining room was above average, very friendly staff and evening meals were excellent. Breakfast buffet was again excellent. Evening entertainment each night was good. Our trip had 99p drinks from 6pm till 9pm. Everyone there seem to enjoy themselves, no moans that we heard but for £110 for 4 nights, travel and two included day trips what could be better. Holiday taken 20/02/2014 to 24/02/2014. Well done Suncliffe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although parts of the hotel are a little tired, it is priced accordingly and all the staff are fantastic, helpful, smiley and pleasant. The food is good and the amenities keep the kids occupied. Good family of all ages accomodating hotel and the catering bent over backwards for us. We were there in July 13. A little late with the review but have been too busy since and thought we owed them a good write up! On the entertainment front, all singers etc were luvly and the "music box" had us in stitches !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have just returned from long weekend break, everything was excellent, the room, the food, the entertainment, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was like a hot bath, the only slight complaint is that the pool area and changing room are in need of some attention. Could not fault the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suncliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.