We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, no complaints at all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suncliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Suncliff Hotel to your Saves list
The Suncliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Herts, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“For the price, no complaints at all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rooms, were a good size. We got a 4 poster bed. The staff were all welcoming. The breakfast was good for the prices. Cereals, full breakfast, teas coffee, juices.
The location is a nice 10min walk to othe main pier, but the beach is about a 5 min walk (using the stairlift cost £1.20 each way for adults).

Would I go again, YES! For the price, compared to others it;s not bad. There are hotels closer to the gardens, town etc, but find a balance between price and location and you'll be happy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
A_Kalra

Thank you for you comments reguarding your stay. I am please you also feel that we are value for money and hope you will return to us soon.

Best wishes to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    340
    155
    99
    55
See reviews for
214
430
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got back from a nights stay here and had a great time, great location for beach just being across the road and for the shops just 10 min walk away, breakfast was fantastic and great service, all very helpful. Nice pool and gym also,we will be retuning soon .thank you all !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, Assistant Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay, I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Tom Pinn, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose The Suncliff Hotel because it is on the East Cliff on Bournemouth seafront with on site Parking and a Swimming Pool. STAFF Very professional and efficient LIFT Yes
BEDROOM We had a lovely surprise when we opened our Bedroom Door. Our room looked brand new and it was spotlessly clean (see photo) It was big enough for us. TV Modern flat screen wall mounted on the wall opposite the bed with a very good picture and lots of channels. VIEW We could see the sea from 2 of our 3 Bedroom windows (see photo) Good lighting. BED Very comfortable. Slept better than we do at home !
BATHROOM Brand new with complimentary Soap, Shampoo/Shower gel. Glasses Lovely soft Towels. STORAGE. Lots of drawers and a hanging rail and hooks TEA TRAY Yes with Tea, Coffee, Milk, Sugar, Hot Chocolate, Herbal Teas and Biscuits HAIRDRYER Yes
INDOOR POOL We went into the Pool for an hour late in the afternoon and found it empty. One other couple came in later. There are changing rooms with free lockers. Hubby put his locker key in his pocket and lost it in the pool so make sure you choose a key with a ring on or take a safety pin to attach it to your bathers ! Luckily we did find the key on the bottom of the pool. The pool was clean but one safety rail was missing (see photos)
BREAKFAST was perfect. Lots of choice of cereals and fruit. Buffet help yourself Full English Breakfast which was really lovely and not greasy. Proper Butter and nice cutlery. Loved the Wholemeal Bread which was really fresh. One of the best hotel Breakfasts we have ever had.
DINNER was a bit too pricey for us so we had Dinner at The Brasshouse and the Moon in the square in Bournemouth. We paid £164.05 for 3 nights B and B. and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Happymousewestsussex

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, sounds like you had a fantastic time, if you book direct next time you can put a request in for the same room and we will do our best to re-allocate this for you.

So many positive comments, all I can say is thank you on behalf of the Suncliff team for you support.

Best wishes and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have had the great pleasure of arranging a Masonic Weekend at this hotel....staff Amazing from start to finish. Reception staff attentive and very helpful along with the housekeeping. Managers brilliant and very helpful. Brian Robbins in conference is ...simply the best!! Jose, rest. manager is someone not to be missed, he's def. in the right job!! Food is an extremely high standard. Would definately recommend this hotel and if this hotel has the same standards as it's sister hotels would recommend them also. Def, the best staff we've encountered all the years that we've been coming to Bournemouth! Can't thank them enough, all of my guests were impressed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy if staying at the weekend although disco doesn't go on too late. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Tasmin W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your weekend function,

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and your guests over the weekend and I really hope you will return to us in the future. As you could see our main focus at the hotel is customer service which shines through from reception to housekeeping.

I have passed your comments on to Brian and Jose, thank you once again and my best wishes to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

12 guys booked on a golf trip for a long weekend, originally booked into The Cumberland hotel, but on checking into that hotel, we were moved next door to the Sun Cliff.

Arrived in our hotel room, bathroom was pink, pink bath, pink sink, pink toilet. Not very modern, hotel room was ok, smelt a bit stale.

But all of the above would not have happened if we were in the original Hotel. Which had been recently renovated, and why we had booked into that hotel.

Asked for a discount and was flatly told we can change your hotel last min, I get the felling if we were 6 men 6 woman we would have been let in to the original hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from a Masonic Ladies Festival Weekend and very enjoyable it was too. Although the bedroom decor was a bit tired, it was very clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was extremely good and breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of choice. It's within walking distance of the town centre and pier. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
27Twinkle27

Many thanks for the short but sweet review,

It was a pleasure to host your Lodge weekend at the Hotel and I felt it was a fantastic weekend enjoyed by all that attended.

I hope you will visit us again either as a group or individuals

My best wishes to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have now been to the Suncliff Hotel for Sunday lunch at least half a dozen times. They take bookings and on arrival one is treated as a respected and valued customer. Even when very busy, there is ample staff and service is always prompt. One has a choice of a-la-carte or the carvery which provides generous helpings and it is quite in order for one to return for seconds. The maître de and serving staff are attentive throughout the meal. The food is of a good quality. The ambiance is enhanced by a pianist playing thought out the lunch period. The prices are reasonable (approx. £13 for the carvery) and they have recently introduced loyalty cards. Collect 10 stars (one star for every £15 spent) and get £15 off your next bill. Three times I have been given 3 stars when the bill has been over £30 but well short of £45.

Room Tip: Sorry, I've not stayed at the Suncliff; only gone there for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
John D,

I am very pleased to see you as a regular visitor of our Sunday carvery still feel its as good quality and price since we started 4 years ago.

We are just about to launch a brand new menu and have some offers starting to hopefully introduce new guests to one of Bournemouth’s best kept secrets.

Jose and his team try and look after every guest that enters their restaurant and it is a very relaxed atmosphere where families and old friends can meet in comfort, enjoy good food, live music and not feel rushed.

I am sure we will see you again soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suncliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.