We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Connaught Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Connaught Lodge to your Saves list
The Connaught Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed one night in the Lodge which is effectively an annex of the Connaught Hotel with full use of all facilities. We needed somewhere to stopover on our way back from Devon to the London area and found the hotel on one of the late rooms web sites. Frankly we got a great B&B rate so as long as the place was clean and decent we had no room for criticism! To be honest initially we thought we had got what we had realistically expected. First impressions count for a lot and the car parking is a nightmare both at the hotel and the lodge if the hotel is busy. Beware that your car really is at risk as it is so tight. Also our room was a bit drab with no pictures whatsoever to try and personalise it. Just a box really. Now the good news. The hotel staff are plentiful and excellent. Particular praise to Petra who seemed to be on reception at all hours and served at dinner with a lovely smile and personality throughout. The hotel restaurant is really very good serving lovely food, well presented in a semi-formal setting and priced very well for the quality and setting. The spa facilities are very nice - clean and not too crowded despite the fact that the hotel was full (I think). The hotel is located in a quite area only 5 minutes from the sea front and despite my comments on our room the bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless and new. So overall a very positive impression. Had it not been for the car parking and the drab room I would have rated as a five.

Room Tip: The Lodge is an annex across the car park - better value but if you want to pay a bit more a stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review Highexpectations and following our recent communication the picture is now proudly hanging in your room - thank you for bringing it to my attention and thank you also for the 5 star review you posted for our double rosette restaurant, Blakes; I was really pleased you enjoyed the experience so much.

Best wishes to you both and a very happy new year.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
24
83
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My mother & I stayed in the Lodge, which we found met all of our needs. The room was lovely and the bathroom appeared to have just had a new refit - fabulous. We arrived on a Thursday and entered the main hotel to receive a very warm and friendly welcome by the receptionist. We were informed of the hotel facilities etc. Once we were in our room, we received a call from the receptionist to see if we had any issues with the room - which we didn't (what great customer service). The breakfast each morning was of a high standard and the service was professional yet friendly. We're only sorry that we did not get round to having an evening meal in the hotel. On the Friday, we had booked ourselves a relaxing pampering day in the Spa and received fabulous treatments by two lovely and very professional employees. We highly recommend the hot stone massage. The swimming pool was a good size and we even enjoyed the use of the steam room. There was plenty of parking for residents and we both thoroughly enjoyed our time with the Connaught Lodge. The location was excellent for the main shops & BIC - which we actually saw 'wet wet wet' on the Saturday night. The cleaning of the room was daily, with fresh towels etc. We even received a knock at our door by the housekeeper to check that we were pleased with cleanliness of the room (which we were). We would recommend anyone to stay at the Connaught whether it be the hotel or the lodge.

Room Tip: Although there is a lift (very small), if staying in the lodge and you do not like lifts or stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much Clare for your lovely review - we have so many mothers and daughters staying with us these days and they just love the opportunity to get away in nice surroundings with good food and to be looked after and pampered!! We hope to see you both again very soon.

Our best wishes to you both for 2014

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 2 rooms left for the New Year celebrations!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lovely clean hotel, really helpful staff and great facilities. Room was a very good size and extremely comfortable and the buffet style breakfast was excellent although slight delays waiting for fried eggs to be replenished but well worth the wait. We are regular visitors to Bournemouth and would definately return to the Connaught.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We're looking forward to the return visit Ruth, thank you for the "Fab", 5 star review.

Best wishes for Chistmas and 2014

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 7 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in the Lodge at the hotel, which is still in the process of being refitted.

Our room, which also contained a bunk bed in a small room off of the main bedroom, was adequate in size, clean and well decorated.

You will need to be patient with the lift if you do not like walking up stairs, which creak like a "Nightingale Floor".

Breakfast had a good variety, with a plentiful supply of cooked food.

The bar was well staffed and comfortable and the prices didn't seem too steep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much Terry for taking the trouble to write your review which is very much appreciated. Hope you had a safe trip back to Ireland.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 7 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here with family for a birthday celebration and we were very happy with it. The main hotel building is very nice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms in the lodge were fine and pretty much what you would expect for what you are paying. If I was being very picky I would say that the rooms (I saw all 3 that our family were in) could be considered a little tatty but it's only small things i.e. the back of our sliding bathroom door was really badly scratched. Some of the rooms in the lodge are being revamped though so maybe the management are on to it!
Some of our party used the spa and would have liked some of the treatments but it was completely full so I'd advise advance booking. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Many thanks Eddie for your "Perfectly nice" review. We are almost finished with the rooms in the Lodge and our next challenge will be the entrance lobby early in the new year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is perfect for the BIC just a few minutes walk away and the same for the seafront. On arriving, the car park was full as there was a conference in situ. A helpful member of staff advised me to double park and it would be sorted out when the car park cleared. My room was in the lodge next door which was perfect for my needs, being reasonable in cost (only staying for one night) and very clean. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Many thanks for the 5 star review AJHP. Have a wonderul Christmas and we look forward to seeing you in 2014!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 10 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were part of a group booking so had no prior knowledge of the Connaught. Our room was in the Lodge and was very comfortable. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was a good size. We slept well as our room faced the courtyard garden and was very quiet.

The food was good and the management had taken the trouble to prepare special menu cards with a dancing logo representing our club's interest as well as place cards with our menu choices at dinner. They were clearly adept in managing large groups and very well organised. The food was good, tasty and well presented. The buffet style breakfast had an impressive range of choice to suit every palette, including gluten free cereals.

The staff were courteous and helpful at all times and the level of service was impressive and commented on by many members of our group. The Manager was very much "hands on " and visible at crucial times e.g. evening meals, and clearly had high expectations of his staff's performance, which were fully borne out.

We didn't use the spa on this visit as we had other group activities taking place.
Car parking can be a bit limited if there are functions taking place as well as resident guests. However, the hotel is within very easy walking distance of the town centre and beach/pier so no need to use the car unless travelling further afield.

We would be more than happy to come back to the Connaught and to recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Back rooms in the hotel and Lodge face the courtyard garden and are therefore quietest. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much Chris for your very comprehensive and complimentary review of our hotel. It was a very successful weekend and everyone enjoyed the event so much. Hope to see you all again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished, AA 4 star Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff being just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden, sandy beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and complimentary membership of the Bluewater Spa, located in the adjacent Best Western Connaught Hotel, is available to all Lodge guests. The spa has an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa why not enjoy a superb dinner with first class wine in Blakes', the Connaught's award-winning, double rosette restaurant, also located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, Ben Nicol and his young team of highly qualified chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connaught Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.