We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connaught Hotel Bournemouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connaught Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Connaught Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Connaught Lodge
32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Connaught Hotel Bournemouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I cannot understand why this hotel is only 3 stars, it should be 4/5 stars. Superbly located only a few minutes walk from Bournemouth's town centre, wonderful beaches and promenade.

We stayed in the adjacent Connaught Lodge which was only a very short walk across the Garden terrace to the main hotel. The room was well decorated, albeit no air conditioning, but a fan was supplied and the sash windows were able to be opened to allow in fresh air. There was little or no traffic noise.

The main hotel facilities were first class, well decorated and comfortable both inside and out in the two garden terraces. The real secret to this fabulous hotel is the management and staff, from the chef to the cleaning ladies, they were extremely professional, competent and friendly. We had a minor fault with our bathroom door this was fixed within ten minutes of it being reported to reception. The restaurant was absolutely magnificent well led by the restaurant manager. The food was of high standard with a well stocked and comprehensive wine list. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly, and when in Bournemouth I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your very special review Commander and thank you also for the similar review that you posted about our award-winning restaurant, Blakes.

Best wishes and hopefully we'll see more of you in the future.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
23
71
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked this holiday for two weeks from 8th June to 22nd June 2013 but cancelled the second week. I emphasised when I booked the holiday that my wife was disabled and we needed facilities to (a ) charge her electric buggy and ( b ) a lift to the room. We were assured that the buggy could be charged downstairs and there was a lift which would take us to the first floor where a flight of 4 or 5 steps would lead us to our room which had ben newly refurbished and was 4 doors from the stairs. I tried to book the main building but it was fully occupied, however I was told that we had the use of all the facilities in the main hotel and all meals were served there. We were also told that it was a short walk across the car park to the hotel.

We duly booked in and we were escorted to our room which was a short distance away. We had to walk through the hotel, out by the back door , across the rear beer garden and in through the door of the lodge. We later discovered that the rear door was locked after about 8.00pm and thereafter we had to walk a longer distance onto the street, around the front of the Lodge and the Hotel and in through the reception area. We were offered a plug in the boardroom to charge the buggy and that meant that every time it was needed, we had to contact reception to get somone to let us in.

Our room was on the first floor but it was down a corridor and a left turn into another corridor approximately 12 doors away. That is important to someone with a disability. The room was quite pleasant and had indeed been refurbished but there were only 5 hangers in the wardrobe and we had two cases full of clothes for a two week holday. There were only 5 small drawers in total, for our clothes. Consequently both cases remained on the floor taking up most of the floor space.

Our holiday was on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was in the restaurant in the Hotel. It was the usual buffet breakfast with choices of cereals, juices or full english and we were served tea or coffee promptly and efficiently. The quality of the ingredients was very good. The staff were very polite and friendly.

Unfortunately on our first venture into the town centre and sea front we discovered that parking is a problem and the main shopping area is very hilly. It is most unsuitable for electric buggies. The sea front is spectacular and the beach runs for miles but it has to be accessed by means of a lift.

The following day we asked to speak to the manager, a Mr. David MIllar to relay our complaints. In fairness, Mr. Millar was very accomodating though he did say that in Bournemouth it was not usual to book for two weeks. The norm would be a few days and most people were happt to put some cl;othes away and then put the cases on top of the wardrobe and work out of them. We agreed to compromise and stay until the following Saturday when we would go somewhere else. He agred to give us a full refund for the second week.

For those who are not disabled, it would be unfair to judge the Hotel from our perspective because if you are fully mobile, most of our troubles would not affect you. The hotel is well situated. it is easy to get to all of the amenities in Bournemount and the resort is very beautiful. There are many attractions within a short drive. Poole Harbour is very nice though beware of where you park. There is a very aggressive policy towards errant drivers.

Dorchester is very historical and the Tutenkhamen exhibition is first class and good value. Those of you who watch "Monkey Life" on Sky will find Monkey World fascinating and well worth the visit. We were very impressed with the set up and it was remarkable to see young, tanned and obviously happy staff working there. They were all cheerful and obviously content with their lot. The village of Christchurch is a must. There is a spectacular Priory and many medieval buildings and pubs.

All in all I have only rated the hotel as 2 stars but had we not had the disability problems, it would have been 3. Had we tried the pool and spa it might have been 3.5 but my wife was too tired when we came back from sightseeing to face walking around the outside of the building to get to them. Dorset is worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
The sad and misleading part of your review Alexander was the fact that it deliberately omits the fact that you were called on two separate occasions by our reception manager, on my instructions, to advise you that the Lodge might not be suitable for your wife due to the stairs but you chose to ignore our advice and come anyway!! I can't say a lot more really.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is lovely but we stayed in the Lodge next door. It felt a bit like student accomodation and needs updating. Room clean and tidy but again needs a lick of paint. Room also very warm and a bit stuffy.
We had a problem with noise from a pump in the room next door but when we informed the manager he dealt with it promptly and efficiently although I would definitely not say the lodge is worth £90 a night for its accomodation.
Spa was lovely with a great pool etc and nice and clean.
Breakfast also very good with lots of choice with friendly staff.
Parking there is also good and very useful if you choose to walk to the beach.
We hope to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Sincere apologies about the annoying pump problem straighttalking which was immediately turned off. The Lodge has undergone a great deal of refurbishment works and your room has a brand new bathroom. I presume what you meant to say was that your room needed a lick of paint which indeed it does and is on our final list of things to do. Glad you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer.

Best wishes and thank you for your review

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I plus 2 family members stayed in the Lodge for 2 nights B and B earlier in June 13 - The rooms were really clean and tidy although not all the same size and there could be a problem with the stairs to the first floor, despite there being a very small lift there were two further sets up and one down to access the bedrooms. The management will arrange a porter if needed. We were quite happy being in the Lodge as the room prices reflected not being in the main building.
The staff were extremely helpful in Reception, Bar and Restaurant - Nothing was too much trouble but they were not overpowering at any time. We also met the owner who is an extremely nice chap and was prepared to spend his valuable time chatting even as we were leaving.

We travelled to Bournemouth by train and were impressed by the hotel location being on the West Cliff and walking distance to the beach, pier and town centre and parkland. Also there appeared to be ample parking available. The railway station was only a few minutes taxi ride away and was very reasonable (about £8 - £10 for four people).

We also used the Reception staff to advise and book taxis's when required for evening meals out.

One word of warning do not go to the Durley Inn Harvester on the beachfront - We had the most awful experience with food and comfort. The Harvester food outlet has no connection the the Connaught hotel.

Although we did not eat our evening meals at the hotel the breakfast was superb with every variety of food available and was served hot by the waiter to order. Loads of cereals and juices as well.

All in all the Connaught Hotel meets all requirements and is conveniently local to the town and we would recommend it for a short break ,weekend stay or longer.

Martin and Jenny
Bicester

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Martin and Jenny,

It's me again and thank you very much for your very generous comments about the hotel, its facilities and our very enthusiastic team - it is most appreciated. I do hope we have the pleasure of your company again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

For this holiday my husband and I decided to book through Best Western instead of Premier Inn's where we normally stay. We made a mistake doing this as unfortunately the Lodge was unsuitable.

I am well aware that the Lodge may be of a different standard to the Hotel but the Lodge has bad soundproofing and doors that bang far too loud, especially at 3am in the morning, followed by hearing someone go to the toilet and a tapping noise for an hour.

As well as this the bathroom extractor fan came on and buzzed even when putting the kettle on, in a small room the sound of this amplified and made trying to have a rest in the room unbearable.

Although the parking is free, breakfast and Wi-fi included our short stay was let down by having to park on the car park with beer cans and a view of flats to the side of our room. Although the reception area is nicely presented I feel more care needs to be taken with the outer areas of the hotel and lodge.

As the room was rather warm we had to have the windows open, if the windows were closed the extractor fan came on, which meant that we also could hear people outside shouting in the early hours of 5am, if you want a quiet holiday where you can get a peaceful nights sleep I would not recommend staying at the Lodge or the area in general.

Maybe at a quieter time of year we may have had a better experience but unfortunately we left the Lodge after two nights as we did not feel that our stay would get any better. We made our decision to leave but at 7.30am there was no Reception staff to speak with to discuss these problems.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at the Lodge if you want a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Greys

I have already communicated with you by email regarding your stay with us. R208 is a brand new room with a new bathroom and furnishings throughout and I'm afraid, with the best will in the world, extractor fans do not come on in a bathroom when you put the kettle on in the bedroom nor do they come on when you open the windows!!! I did explain to you that the noise was from another fan next door and because the noise was so bad you could hear it in your room - once you advised us, after you had left, it was dealt with but sadly at no time during your stay with us did you address any issue. It seems that you just did not like Bournemouth and wanted to leave at any price and leave you did!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hello arrived at the Connaught about two hours ago. Plenty of free parking. Very attractive reception area. We were booked into the Connaught Lodge. Not nearly as plush but room 214 is compact clean and with a pleasant outlook onto a central courtyard garden. Bedroom furniture is of a good quality and well maintained. All bedding and towels spotlessly clean and freash. Ample tea coffe sugar etc. Good TV and wifi if that's your thing.
We've already made good use of the spa area. The pool is a good size for a hotel and is fine for a good workout swim followed by a pretty good steam room and sauna. Towels supplied for spa area again clean and fresh. Changing area small and very warm two showers and a £1 required for lockers. All staff thus far have been pleasant and polite. A positive stay so far
Be aware that if you book to stay here because its a Best Western (as we did and pretty much always do) You will not qualify for loyalty points and the benefits your Best western rewards card brings, if like us you booked through an alternative booking agent site!!!!! Although we saved a fair amount we were disappointed to find we couldn't bebefit from our rewards card? Surely a stay at a Best Western is a stay at a Best Western no mastter which way you arrive there?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review Starzzman and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. To get Best Western Rewards points there are two conditions: 1. You have to stay in a Best Western hotel - the Lodge is owned by the same company as the adjacent BW Connaught hotel but it is not part of Best Western, hence no points BUT much less expensive and you are able to use all their facilities. 2. Best Western require that you book the hotel direct or via their central reservations office -- if you book via any other agent, as you did, the points are not rewarded. I hope that answers your question. Just a small point - the £1 for the lockers is to ensure the locker key is returned at which point your £1 is returned!!

Best wishes and thank you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Connaught Lodge with a group of friends in May 2013. The hotel was excellent value for money. The rooms were clean and comfortable. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great location. Would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Many thanks Crusey for writing your excellent 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Connaught Lodge offers smart and comfortable en-suite accommodation and is centrally located on the West Cliff, just 500m from the town centre, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and those golden beaches. Free WiFi and Free Parking and Guests staying in the Lodge have the added benefit of complimentary membership of Best Western’s Spa and Leisure Club,located next door, with its 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gymnasiums and a massage and beauty therapy suite. Reflexology massages also now available.After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in Blakes’ award-winning, double rosette restaurant, located in the main building, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef, David Hutcheson. During the warmer months dine out in the beautiful award-winning terrace garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connaught Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.