We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stays.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Bournemouth to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Bath Rd, Bournemouth BH1 2NS, England (Formerly Pavilion Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 200 Points
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stays.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night stay with my sister. We stayed on a Tuesday night in school holidays. It was a last minute day before booking and were surprised we could find anywhere on all fairness so late on. Especially a brand known so well.

And we weren't disappointed!

We arrived at around 12 and went straight to the hotel as we wanted to find it and couldn't remember what time check on was. It was 2pm but they were happy for us to leave the car in the car park ( which seemed to always have space) and go off and enjoy our trip, we also did this the following day. Also the free parking is a big bonus. Some hotels in the area don't have any and 24 hour parking in local car parks is around £20.

This hotel is in a good location. Just a 10 minute walk to beach and shops etc. It is at the top of a steepish hill ( as is a lot of bournemouth) so if you have walking difficulties you might want to consider using the local buses.

After a couple of hours on the beach we returned to check in. The reception and bar/dining area is all one bright airy space. Check in was easy and went up to our 1st floor room. The room was clean and functional. It had a wet room Style bathroom. Which considering its locations to the beach is actually a great idea, as it's more practical for dealing with sand etc. the shower was good and the products in the bathroom were good and presented in a more ecological way.

The beds were comfortable and had 2 pillows per person and nice duvets. There was a TV with plenty of channels and of a big enough size. There is only minimal storage so for longer than a couple of nights this might be an issue but wasn't for us. There was a safe which is always useful. We didn't have much of a view ( building next door and some trees) but we weren't worried by this as it didn't have a balcony to sit on and in general we don't sit staring out the window! The room had air conditioning that worked well and wasn't noisy as we had it on overnight. We had a good nights sleep, and other than doors closing didn't hear any noise.

Breakfast the next day was nice. The food was constantly monitored and refreshed so was always hot and fresh. It wasn't a huge selection but was plentiful and well cooked. It included fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato, bread and rolls, fruit ( which was lovely and fresh) yogurt, cheese and pastries. We didn't use the bar for dinner or for a drink in the eve as we got back late and decided to just go back to the room.

Staff were pleasant and polite in general. My only little problem was with a male member of staff. When we returned from dinner we wanted to get a couple of bottles of water and went to the bar where a staff member was gossiping with a lady ( I assume another guest or friend) we stood there for a few minutes unacknowleged until a receptionist realised he hadn't served is still and came to do it despite being in the middle of some paperwork. He was still gossiping.

Despite this I would stay here again for a short break. For longer breaks I might consider a hotel with a pool or rooms with more storage and possibly a small fridge, as weather was very hot and would have been good to have had more cold drinks in the room possibly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I can only agree with all your comments and I will also speak to my team about your gossiping comment, it may of been a genuine situation but still I will speak with them. I hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    483
    120
    24
    8
See reviews for
136
516
41
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel is located 5 mins walk from the pier and about 5-15 from a vast selection of restaurants and bars. It is on a hill and its quite a steep walk back up from the beach.
The hotel itself provides free parking, a definite plus for Bournemouth, and free wifi. It is clean, bright and airy with large, if sparsely, furnished rooms. The bathroom is a wet room design so can be a bit soggy underfoot. The room has a good aircon that is quiet enough that it can be left on overnight.
Breakfast is very good with a decent range of hot and cold food on the self serve buffet. The buffet is topped up regularly so no overdone eggs or cardboard bacon. We decided to eat in the restaurant on one night and the quality of the meal greatly exceeded our expectations much better than some of the more well known chains.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Over all great value for money and we will definitely return on our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of similar style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am so pleased your enjoyed your stay at our hotel and even better enjoyed our evening food selection. We have been working hard to improve this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My friend and I have stayed in the Ramada around 6 times. The staff on check in are always happy and helpful, and always have a welcoming smile on their faces. I have near had a problem with noise and have always found the room and bathroom to be absolutley spotless! The location is great with just a short walk to the town and beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you sooo much for your continued support. I really appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our first time staying in Bournemouth. This hotel was one of the worse that I have stayed at in quite a while. There was several little things that need mentioning, There isn't a fridge in the room, The tv was a 21 inch, to be honest I didn't think they still made them that small. I asked for a map and was told they had run out. How do you run out of something like that? When you only have so many left you order more. These little things shouldn't be enough to stop you but the big one for me was how disgusting the bathroom was, I swear it hadn't been cleaned properly since it was built. The clean spots on the shower floor were from the rubbing of people's feet. It was plain and simply gross.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel and I am also surprised about the bathroom cleanliness, and will bring this up with my staff at our next meeting. We are normally reviewed to be very clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Prompt, cheerful service, a well equipped room, comfortable bed and a good breakfast; what else do you need? Free parking - yes; central location - yes; free wifi - yes; free bottle of water and a chocolate bar on check in. A bonus!
They even let us leave our car in the car park after we checked out.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less traffic noise, but we didn't find it a problem anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and its great you are a wyndham rewards member. Why not also sign up for our monthly newsletter. simply visit our website to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Recently stayed at the Ramada Encore and we were all pleasantly surprised by staff that were/are there, in that they are very helpful, polite and always willing to help, which considering its a mid range/priced hotel its a credit to the staff.

The hotel is clean and somewhat modern, the breakfast is very good well worth the money...well cooked bacon and sausage...fruit, pastries, wide selection of cereal and good coffee..just make sure you book the day before so you get it for £8 rather than £10.

The hotel attracts a lot of stag do/hen do's and the staff seem to like and cater for that and aren't arsey about drinks late on, or none hotel members coming back for a few drinks, which was a refreshing change.

The location is great, you can walk to the city centre, the beach and the local bars within minutes, the parking is free (again another bonus), so overall very good and would recommend for young couples or large groups wanting a cheap getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestyBournemouth, Director of Sales at Ramada Encore Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I would agree with your comment about young couples, but we only cater for small groups generally, which tend to suit us very well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#14 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Bournemouth

Address: 22 Bath Rd, Bournemouth BH1 2NS, England (Formerly Pavilion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel, close to the town centre, shops and sea. With 114 bedrooms the Ramada Encore Bournemouth is an exciting new hotel experience. The concept is simple - fresh, stylish, vibrant and upbeat, with comfortable, contemporary accommodation. Rooms include doubles, twins and wheelchair accessible twin rooms. All bedrooms are air-conditioned, with power shower, internet access, generous work area, and more. Car parking on site with no extra charge, and a licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ramada Encore Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Ramada Bournemouth
Bournemouth Ramada
Ramada Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.