We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Hastings
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at very short notice (booked the night before!), as we needed to find somewhere to stay for one night to visit relatives. We actually chose this B&B as it was the cheapest one we could find at the time, and although the reviews we had seen were great we were not too worried about it as we were not planning to stay long-term.
As it turned out we were incredibly lucky to find such a gem of a place!
Karl was lovely, very laid back and friendly and very accommodating (moved his car when we got back at 11pm so we could park in front of the hotel).
Our room was at the front but the noise from the road was not at all intrusive. The room itself was beautifully clean, as was the bathroom, and complimentary items provided were of extremely high quality.
The bed was wonderfully comfy and I slept extremely well.
Breakfast - well this was amazing, initially I was a little disappointed to find we had to pay extra for a full English, but we just opted for the continental anyway. I was very glad I had, as the range of cereals was stunning, catering for all tastes including those with allergies to wheat. The crowning glory was Karl's fresh fruit salad - delicious, fresh and full of top quality fruits such as mango, blueberries, strawberries to name a few!
The garden was also a delight as were the two cats that befriended us!
I would highly recommend this place for both short and long stays and if ever we are back that way would stay here without hesitation.
Thanks karl for making the stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite at the front of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent 3 months at the Strand from February till April this year, and everything was just fine! The rooms are tidy and cosy, people were friendly and everyone were very helpful! The hotel has a very good atmosphere and it is very close to the beach, just 5 mins on foot! The common areas, and the garden are also very nice. I just can recommend it to everyone! Thank you for the nice time I had there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the Friday night of the Bournemouth Air Festival. The owners were friendly and helpful. We were able to park on the front of the property, although there is only room for 3 guests to park. Our room was fresh, clean and tidy, with a nice TV to watch [which actually worked]. The bed was comfy. There were loo's and showers on all floors as far as I could make out. Breakfast choice was vast and plentiful. There was a garden to sit in for a little relaxation, or a smoke if that's your pleasure. A nice relaxing, quiet place to stay. Around 10 mins walk to Boscombe Pier.

Room Tip: You could see some of the Air Festival activities from rooms at the back of the property, unfortunat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Starting with a warm and friendly welcome, Karl the hotel manager/owner didn't miss a beat. He went so far beyond what would be expected in even a fairly decent hotel for twice the price. Attention to detail was very high. Lots of very high spec amenities (giant flat screen tv in the room, mirrors in the bathroom that even I could use being 6'10, high quality tea and coffee, dvds to watch, gluten free cereals!). Karl cooks a mean fry up too! Quality ingredients done well, for half the price you'd find them elsewhere (kind of sums up the whole experience!). The hotel it self is immaculate spotlessly clean, and well located for the beach or the center of town.
Best bit - Karl! He's only been running the place for a short while, but the easy laid back and friendly way he just bends over backwards to accommodate his guests made this one of the best hotel visits I've ever had.
Worst bit - we only stayed one night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My view of British B&B's is unfortunately quite low and I wasn't expecting much from The Strand. How wrong I was! It has restored my faith in what the UK can provide in terms of quality B&B accommodation. I arrived quite late in the evening but was given a very warm welcome and shown around. The room was a single, 100% clean, comfortable and with all the adequate faculties. The choices on option for breakfast would put far larger chains to shame – really, whatever your preference, it was there. And all for £25. I can’t recommend The Strand enough, whether it’s for a one night stay or for a longer family holiday in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant place to stay. All the staff are friendly and very helpful in all your needs. The rooms, although small, are very well decorated and lovely. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone considering staying in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed for one night, together with our bikes that found a dry and safe place in the garden shed. We had to set off early in the morning, and our bikes were put into the entrance ready to go. The rooms were small and accommodation basic, but nice and clean and the owner incredibly friendly and helpful. I would recommend the place without hesitation.

Room Tip: I am very noise sensitive, and next time would ask for a room that does not open out to the road - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 19 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel is a small guest house in the centre of Boscombe offering comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. Boscombe Pier and beaches are just a 5 minute walk away, whilst the centre of Bournemouth with many attractions is just 1.5 miles away. The O2 Academy Bournemouth is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and AFC Bournemouth football ground is about 1 mile away.The room price includes a continental-style buffet breakfast (cooked breakfast available at extra cost) and there is free wifi access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.