We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celebrity to your Saves list
Hotel Celebrity
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I wanted a hotel near to the town centre and the beach, with free on site parking and free wifi and the Hotel Celebrity provided all that, and also a decent breakfast. I liked the 'celebrity' theme, it was a bit of fun. The downsides were the lift was broken for the first 2 days, the decor is a bit jaded in parts and there was a couple of noisy parties on the Saturday night, but it didn't spoil our stay. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and I would go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Heather K,
many thanks for your kind review, it means a lot to all the staff at Hotel Celebrity!
We are glad to know you found out Hotel "a good place to stay" and that we met your expectations!
We are sorry the lift was out of order for two days and we hope this wasn't too much of an inconvenience. We are delighted you liked our Celebrity theme and that you appreciated the fun side of it!
We all look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable stay
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    239
    89
    42
    31
See reviews for
103
270
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently attended a party at the Hotel Celebrity and I have to say that it was quite a let down. We started off being allowed to sit on the terrace outside which was great as the weather was quite hot and it allowed us to get soem fresh air however, at 8pm we were told to come in and the door then had to be shut for the night as this was hotel policy, I thought this was somewhat strange as I have attended functions here before where the door has been left open well after 10pm! The next thing came as a great shock to me when I found that a member of the hotel staff had placed a table, yes a table in front of the FIRE EXIT!!! to stop people from using the terrace! As you can imagine having two very young children myself at the party this caused me great alarm and made me feel rather anxious, the security was alerted and eventually (after a considerable amount of time and complaining) the table was removed, I'm just glad there were no emergencies as the consequences of them doing this don't bear thinking about! I have never experienced such negligence in my life, and will definitely never be using or recommending this hotel to anyone ever again!

Room Tip: Don't use a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Whenever we have a function with a lot of 18 year olds present we always insist on a third party security company having staff present, (paid for by the party organiser). For this particular party not many people turned up which would have been disappointing for the party organiser. There was considerable noise on the patio from party guests and quite correctly the security staff insisted that the party members on the patio came back into the hotel and the door to the patio was shut - it was inconsiderate to other hotel guests for the noise level to be as it was. At some stage during the evening a table was moved. We don't know by who and neither, (since we were given several alternate security/hotel staff who had supposedly moved the table), did the party organiser. The table was moved back to where it belonged. The rest is the usual 'we're not happy so we'll make it up as we go along'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Attended a party here so this is not to review the rooms. Found the staff to be rude and have a 'don't care attitude'. The bar ran out of draft coke at 8:30 so had to buy over priced bottled drink, however this was an improvement as when served previously, the barman had banged my glass down so hard, half the drink sloshed out, when I asked for it to be refilled I was met with a shrug and his hand out for the £1.90 hmmmm thanks. We left early as the staff barricaded the only fire exit out, being there with my young family, this made me feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Whenever we have a function with a lot of 18 year olds present we always insist on a third party security company having staff present, (paid for by the party organiser). For this particular party not many people turned up which would have been disappointing for the party organiser. There was considerable noise on the patio from party guests and quite correctly the security staff insisted that the party members on the patio came back into the hotel and the door to the patio was shut - it was inconsiderate to other hotel guests for the noise level to be as it was. At some stage during the evening a table was moved. We don't know by who and neither, (since we were given several alternate security/hotel staff who had supposedly moved the table), did the party organiser. The table was moved back to where it belonged. The rest is the usual 'we're not happy so we'll make it up as we go along'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice this year and will continue to come back. The staff are excellent, friendly, fun and extremely helpful. The food is good, the decor interesting. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I will be recommending this hotel to everyone. Oh, & Roberto is fabulous !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear tim1002, a big, big THANK YOU for your amazing review, it is VERY appreciated by all the "excellent, friendly, fun and extremely helpful" staff, especially by me.....the "fabulous" Roberto :-) :-)
It was a real pleasure having you again with us and everybody at the Hotel enjoyed looking after you....I guess you are both as fabulous as me! :-) :-) :-)
Please, for your next visit, give me a call and we will make sure you are given one of our refurbished rooms, together with the best rate and a 20% of all drinks!
Thank you again for your lovely comments!
Kindest regards,
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a 4 night break here in July. We weren't expecting too much after reading reviews which mentioned stag/hen nights and parties. Because of this we emailed prior to arriving asking for a room which wouldn't have too much disturbance. We were given a room on the second floor and were not disturbed at all by noise from the hotel. The room was very bright and airy, exceptionally clean (thank you Sylvia - the cheeriest cleaner ever!!), although a tad on the small side and a plug higher on the wall would have been good for the kettle (we had to boil the kettle on the floor). The buffet breakfast was good - nice choice. The location is very good, close to beaches and town.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you jcobcreek for you kind review!
We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay, it is always easier for us to meet our guests' requirements when we are informed about them prior to their arrival and we thank you for e-mailing us requesting a quite room, great to know you were not disturbed and that your room was exceptionally clean! Sylwia is a real star, like the rest of our friendly housekeeping team, we are very lucky to have such wonderful staff, THANK YOU for your very kind comments!
Thank you for your comment on the socket, I have passed it on our maintenance team!
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in the unique Ken Dodd room, a very spacious family room that was more like a flat! Our room was spotlessly clean (like the rest of the Hotel) recently refurbished, with a comfy corner sofa (a bit on the pink side but the wife loved it) great, comfy beds, power shower, very airy and bright and plenty of pristine, fluffy towels! All the staff we met were very obliging and polite and went out of their way to help their guests. Breakfast was plenty and fresh and, even if you help yourself, the smiley and happy restaurant staff are always there to make sure everything is replenished promptly. It is a very quirky place with lots going on, very close to the beach and a short walk into town, still affordable and provides you with free car park and free wifi. We were down to see friends so we didn't try their restaurant for the evening meal, the menu was very inviting though and next time we visit we will definitely book a table for dinner.
Thank you to all the friendly, helpful staff, keep up the good work!
Pete & Lesley

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear peter and Lesley,
thank YOU for your lovely feed-back and for being such a lovely family, it's been a real pleasure looking after you and it is great to know you had a lovely stay.
Next time you come, book direct with us on 01202 316316 so we can make sure you are given the room you liked, give you our best rates and book a table for your evening meal!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this fantastic hotel on the first week-end of July and we will definitely go back! Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially Roberto, the manager, who checked us in very efficiently (he even gave us a tour of the Hotel). The ground floor is very classy and modern, we particularly enjoyed their Sherlock Holmes restaurant with fascinating displays and great food. During our stay there was a large stag do but this did not bothered us at all and we slept very well, our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is very good. All in all a fantastic stay, 10 out of 10. Well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Ian S,
a big, big THANK YOU for your glowing review!!!
We are very happy to know you had a great stay and enjoyed all aspects of your stay!
It's been a real pleasure showing around our "Fantastic Hotel" and I'm ever so glad you enjoyed our theme, particularly our Sherlock Holmes display that is a unique addition to a restaurant that aims to provide our guests with great, homemade food!
For your next stay, please give us a call on 01202 316326 and we will offer you our very best rates and a 20% discount voucher for all drinks purchased at the Hotel.
Thank you again for your lovely comments!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celebrity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.