We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celebrity to your Saves list
Hotel Celebrity
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a 4 night break here in July. We weren't expecting too much after reading reviews which mentioned stag/hen nights and parties. Because of this we emailed prior to arriving asking for a room which wouldn't have too much disturbance. We were given a room on the second floor and were not disturbed at all by noise from the hotel. The room was very bright and airy, exceptionally clean (thank you Sylvia - the cheeriest cleaner ever!!), although a tad on the small side and a plug higher on the wall would have been good for the kettle (we had to boil the kettle on the floor). The buffet breakfast was good - nice choice. The location is very good, close to beaches and town.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcobcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you jcobcreek for you kind review!
We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay, it is always easier for us to meet our guests' requirements when we are informed about them prior to their arrival and we thank you for e-mailing us requesting a quite room, great to know you were not disturbed and that your room was exceptionally clean! Sylwia is a real star, like the rest of our friendly housekeeping team, we are very lucky to have such wonderful staff, THANK YOU for your very kind comments!
Thank you for your comment on the socket, I have passed it on our maintenance team!
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in the unique Ken Dodd room, a very spacious family room that was more like a flat! Our room was spotlessly clean (like the rest of the Hotel) recently refurbished, with a comfy corner sofa (a bit on the pink side but the wife loved it) great, comfy beds, power shower, very airy and bright and plenty of pristine, fluffy towels! All the staff we met were very obliging and polite and went out of their way to help their guests. Breakfast was plenty and fresh and, even if you help yourself, the smiley and happy restaurant staff are always there to make sure everything is replenished promptly. It is a very quirky place with lots going on, very close to the beach and a short walk into town, still affordable and provides you with free car park and free wifi. We were down to see friends so we didn't try their restaurant for the evening meal, the menu was very inviting though and next time we visit we will definitely book a table for dinner.
Thank you to all the friendly, helpful staff, keep up the good work!
Pete & Lesley

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear peter and Lesley,
thank YOU for your lovely feed-back and for being such a lovely family, it's been a real pleasure looking after you and it is great to know you had a lovely stay.
Next time you come, book direct with us on 01202 316316 so we can make sure you are given the room you liked, give you our best rates and book a table for your evening meal!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this fantastic hotel on the first week-end of July and we will definitely go back! Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially Roberto, the manager, who checked us in very efficiently (he even gave us a tour of the Hotel). The ground floor is very classy and modern, we particularly enjoyed their Sherlock Holmes restaurant with fascinating displays and great food. During our stay there was a large stag do but this did not bothered us at all and we slept very well, our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is very good. All in all a fantastic stay, 10 out of 10. Well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Ian S,
a big, big THANK YOU for your glowing review!!!
We are very happy to know you had a great stay and enjoyed all aspects of your stay!
It's been a real pleasure showing around our "Fantastic Hotel" and I'm ever so glad you enjoyed our theme, particularly our Sherlock Holmes display that is a unique addition to a restaurant that aims to provide our guests with great, homemade food!
For your next stay, please give us a call on 01202 316326 and we will offer you our very best rates and a 20% discount voucher for all drinks purchased at the Hotel.
Thank you again for your lovely comments!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The rooms have not been updated since Yul Brenner was a sex symbol... At least some of the rooms. The floors are creaky and everything is so depressing. The restaurant is also depressing and it always looks empty, even though they ask for reservations... The staff is very slow moving in helping. Even though we asked in advance for a baby crib, it was not in the room when requested. The location is pretty nice, close to the coast and downtown, and the breakfast is ok too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Maria P,
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry you were disappointed with your bedroom that, it is true, is in need of some tlc.
I personally find you comments about our restaurant and staff a bit unfair, our Sherlock Holmes Restaurant may not be of your liking but it is hardly a depressing room and, during the summer season, it gets busy from 8:00pm, the high chair you requested was not already at your table as we let our guests decide to chose the table they prefer, a nice touch that you seem to be confusing with slow service.
If the ambience of our restaurant wasn't your cup of tea, you could have had dinner in our more contemporary Birdcage Lounge Bar or in our rear garden, as some guests decided to do.
Please, accept our most sincere apologies if your stay wasn't as enjoyable as you would have like it to be.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We asked for a room close to the exit to enable us to take the dog out easily- which we got. Very clean and very welcoming. Staff friendly and helpful. Garden furniture a little scruffy. Bed a little uncomfortable. Easy access to cliff and beach. Free Parking is great as we did not want to use car to go into city. Mike Myers adjacent to 'Ghost Room' was very quiet. We expected noise from bar downstairs, but there was none to disturb us. Interesting exhibits and collectables displayed well.

Room Tip: It seems rooms in the older part of the hotel are quieter. Not a large impersonal hotel nor a boutiq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Carol B,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the fact that we are far from being an impersonal hotel, with our interesting displays!
It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here one night as was passing through on a road trip, and this place suited me fine. A good restaurant for both dinner, and breakfast. Room was comfortable, wifi worked well. Close to the coast - walking distance. If you have a car free parking provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you JK1791 for your kind review,
We are glad you had an enjoyable experience with us and that you enjoyed our food and our facilities.
We hope to welcome you again...even if you are not exactly around the corner from us!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

hotel lovely very relaxed down to earth staff very friendly helpful. lovely clean room brilliant tea machine tv fan heater hair dryer soap etc plenty of towels breakfast plenty yes will be coming again to the same room bob Dylan room

Room Tip: top floor no noise 257 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Denise Beattie,
thank you ever so much for your very kind comments, they mean a lot to all the Staff at Hotel Celebrity!
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you wish to visit us again.
For your next stay, please give us a call on 01202 316316 and we will make sure you are given the room you like!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#18 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing