We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celebrity to your Saves list
Hotel Celebrity
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Value budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I must say when I booked the Stag Package the first thing I did was to review the hotel, the reviews were pretty good on Tripadvisor so I took the plunge.

Our party was here for the weekend.

The rooms:

We had 4 rooms booked and each room was of different size, some were a lot bigger than others. Rooms are quiet dated and fittings and fixtures need updating, the bathroom also needs updating.

Breakfast is included with your stay, full English. After a heavy night it hit the spot! I have to mention that the bacon was fantastic, sounds sad but it was.....lol

They also have fruits, cerals, toast, jams.

The staff:

Always greeted with a smile, very friendly. This is where this hotel excels, too me the staff needs to friendly and polite. They ticked all my boxes, all deserve a round of applause!!!

Location.

Not at all far from the town, we walked and only took about 10 mins.

**TIP**
Book direct with the company and you'll get a 20% discount on food and drink including alcohol!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you Dee P for your kind feed-back, it is very precious to us!
We are very happy to know you had an enjoyable stay and found our Hotel to offer good value....and fantastic bacon!!! :-) :-) ...it might be sad....but I agree with you....the bacon is just great! :-)
All the Staff is thankful for your comments and we all hope to have you again with us!
Some of our rooms are a bit dated, we agree, and we are trying to rectify this by always updating fixings and furniture, this is reflected in our very competitive rates and somehow compensated by the fact that all our rooms are spotlessly clean.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    225
    85
    40
    30
See reviews for
96
254
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Fun hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, exceeded expectation. Breakfast was lovely, good selection. Lots of different fun entertainment rooms. Room was lovely with a great bathroom. We would stay again and probably very soon. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Lady_Carol_diane,
thank you very much for your lovely review!
It's so rewarding for all the friendly faces at Hotel Celebrity to know that we exceeded expectations and we all look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
For best rates and discount voucher, book direct by calling us on 01202 316 316 or online, on our official website: hotel-celebrity....and you can request the room you prefer!!!!
Many thanks
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

If your travel funds are limited then you should definately check this hotel out. It is outstanding value for money.

The good, the bad and the ugly......

The only major negative was that my room was next to the stairwell. The stairs are noisy and creek so I was woken up from time to time but it didnt affect my overall impression of the hotel. I had been upgraded from a single to a double room so I was happy with the trade off.

The hotel has a 70s/80s feel to it but has been given a superficial Hollywood themed make over to mask the tired decor and fittings. Compared to a budget hotel chain, particularly where the bathroom is concerned, it is more old b&b standard than modern hotel. Also I would rate the cooked breakfast as just about ok.

But other than the above, everything else was superb. The staff were very friendly, my room was very clean and well presented; not easy for dated accomodation. You get free wifi, free parking and a full English breakfast. The room has a large flat screen tv and tea/coffee making, and my room was spacious. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach and is very easy to find. I only paid £88 for a 3 night stay which is crazy cheap. I would not hesitate to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you Hampshire_R for your comments!
We are glad to know you would not hesitate to return and that you found our Hotel Outstanding for the travellers on a budget and we are happy to offer the best rates in town...yes, "crazy cheap" is another way of putting it! We are updating the bedrooms and quite a few rooms are now all done up and with new bathrooms. I'm sorry to hear that the location of your bedroom wasn't ideal, for your next stay give us a call so we can make sure you are far from the stairs!
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is perfect if your staying in Bournemouth. I stayed here for two nights in August with my other half. The hotel is within walking distance from the beach, the BIC, the town centre, many restaurants, bars and shops. Onsite parking is free which is a huge bonus so you don't have to worry about your car parked away in a public car park. The hotel is decorated nice, very unique "celebrity" theme in the corridors, bars and eating areas. Breakfast was of a good standard and food was always being replenished. Nice variety as well, cooked English, fruits, cereals etc. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room we had was massive, with a king size bed - and I have to mention the most comfy bed I've ever slept in. When walking down the corridors and looking in other rooms, it looked like we defiantly had the best room as others looked small and basic. The bathroom had a large bath and shower in it, room was immaculate and furnished lovey. Very modern. When walking around Bournemouth it defiantly looked as if we had picked the best hotel. I will defiantly book this hotel the next time I go to Bournemouth for a weekends getaway - but I will ask for the same room as last time! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I can't remember the room number, but it was on a higher floor facing the road/car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you Amy S for your lovely feed-back!
We are very happy to know you had a great time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
For your next stay, call us or book direct online on our new official website so you can request the room you prefer and we will give you a 20% discount for all drinks.
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

i stayed for 5 nights in a single room.
i found a very clean and comfortable room and bed.
The food in a restaurant is good and with a nice presentation.
the staff is perfect and nice all the time.

i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you emaermi for your kind comments, lovely and straight to the point.
We are delighted you had a "very good experience" and we really hope to welcome you again soon. "The staff is perfect and nice at all time" is the most popular sentence in our Staff room now, your appreciation is precious and is the best rewards we could have!
For your next visit, give us a call on 01202 316316 and we will make sure you get the best rate, a discount voucher.....and you get to chose the room you like!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just stayed one night, good value for money, the pre-booked evening meal
is well worth the value 3 courses, a drink, plus coffee for £17.95 and no need
to look for another restaurant. The superior double was clean, well appointed
with all you needed, staff very attentive and polite

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Kevin t,
Many thanks for your kind review, it really means a lot to all the staff at Hotel-Celebrity!
We are very glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us, even if short, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Our cosy Sherlock Holmes Restaurant is proving very popular with its wide range of homemade food cooked to order and, with our special offer, provides our guests with a great value for money experience.
Very appreciated is your comment about the cleanliness of our rooms that, together with the Top Clean Hotel Award 2013 we received recently, makes our housekeeping team the happiest in town!!!
For your next visit, please visit our official website for best rates and offers and call us direct on 01202 316 316, very soon you will be able to book direct on our official Website (hotel-celebrity)
Kindest Regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really wasn't sure what to expect from this place but on the whole I was pleasantly surprised...It's a quirky but fascinating walk through a Hollywood hall of fame of sorts, complete with fizzogs of celebrities both past and present adorning the hallways and communal areas.

Rooms are all named after a celebrity and are decorated with a range of prints and posters...Myself and my partner stayed in the 'Johnny Cash' room - It was clean and tidy and nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was serviceable and the flat-screen TV was an added bonus.

The hotel itself is situated a short walk to the sea-front, it has a spacious breakfast room (decorated with prints of movie posters naturally), two comfortable bars and an impressive restaurant offering a range of quality cuisines. Complimentary breakfast was great with hot and cold options and plenty of choices. Also there is an elevator to all floors, WiFi connection available and free parking on-site.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for quality and value for money but moreover something a little bit different to the regular 'run of the mill' establishments...I certainly hope to come back and visit again sometime in the future and maybe one day I'll even have a celebrity room of my own...Just maybe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you MRonaldSmith for your kind, detailed and honest review, it is very appreciated.
It's funny you were not really sure what to expect when you first arrived.....nobody who visits us for the first time is really sure! :-) I must say that the great majority of our guests are pleasantly surprised, just like yourself!
We are definitely a quirky little place, full of character and definitely "a little bit different to the regular 'run of the mill' establishments", it took lots of work and energy to find our own identity, we are now very glad with what we achieved, bearing in mind we are always changing and improving things....never a dull moment here!!!!
We hope you will visit us again when next in the area....and if in the meantime you became a celebrity...we will keep the signed arrival form and display your autograph at Reception! :-) :-)
Many thanks again for your lovely comments,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celebrity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.