We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celebrity to your Saves list
Hotel Celebrity
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a four night break at the Hotel Celebrity. We were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness of both our room and surrounding hotel areas. The evening meal deal was very good value although the waiting time may deter diners. The breakfast choice was acceptable if limited.
The East Cliff lift is situated just a short walk from the hotel. The Land Train runs along the promenade and stops at the lift.
Local buses run a short walking distance from the hotel and these go on a regular basis to Bournemouth town, Poole and Swanage. Overall we thought this hotel excellent value for its location.

Room Tip: We were located on the second floor and although we are mature visitors the lift made this floor eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear RoyB_836,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! Maintaining very high standards of cleanliness is one of our main priorities and it is always nice to be appreciated. Our housekeeping team have been working at the hotel for quite a few years now, they take pride in their job and they all have a big smile when they read complimentary reviews like yours on the staff room board.
The evening meals are getting ever so popular and we are in the process of changing the service in order to be more efficient and faster in our delivery.
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    232
    87
    40
    31
See reviews for
98
261
50
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent the June Bank Holiday at the Hotel Celebrity: We only ate in the restaurant once because, having reserved a table for dinner, we then had to wait 20 minutes before being served (and only got served because I went to tell reception that we were still waiting). My starter was truly unpleasant to the point where I couldn't eat it and the waiter's response was to simply grunt at me rather than express any sympathy or understanding. Thankfully his superior was kind enough to take the price of it off our bill. The main dishes were average and not worth the price. That same night, a fight broke out in the hotel car park between some 18 year olds who were celebrating a birthday in the hotel bar. The fight escalated to the point where chairs were being thrown, I got woken up by the shouting and the police had to be called. Hotel security did very little to calm the situation and it continued into the night.
Breakfast was good unless you're a vegetarian, in which case the only real option was cereal or toast as the fruit was limited and unimpressive. Again, not something I'd expect from a hotel in this day and age.
The room itself was lovely - comfy bed and clean sheets. The bathroom, however, did not go with a modern hotel. The shower was rather pathetic and it was very "homey" rather than a bathroom you'd find in a hotel.
Location was good but for the price we paid, I wish we had been somewhere else that was more like a proper hotel and less like Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear IE87,
I read your review and was very sorry to learn of your problems. On the Saturday night we experienced a disruption caused by the anti-social behaviour of an individual who attended a birthday party. It was an unprecedented incident for which I apologise. I have personally checked all our CCTV cameras with the police who were very impressed with how the 3 security staff handled the situation and can confirm that, while the noise must have been a nuisance, at no time chairs were thrown.
The room you stayed in is equipped with a power shower. For health and safety reason, the switch that turns it on/off is placed outside the bathroom, by the bathroom door. I can only assume that the switch must have been accidentally switched off. Shame you didn't comment about it during your stay, nevertheless, thanks to your comment, we have now put a sign on the bathroom door to inform our guests of this switch.
The starter you had is actually our guests’ favourite, our lovely mushroom melt. As you mentioned to the Hotel owner who took it off your bill, it is a shame you didn’t read the menu description. I understand you might have thought of something else and appreciate we all have different tastes but the menu is there for a reason.
The waiter on duty repeatedly asked if you wanted something else from the menu and it is a shame you declined the offer.
We try to accommodate all dietary requirements when expressed at the time of booking. If you are a vegetarian you can have cereal, fruits and toasts, as you suggested, and beans, eggs, potatoes, mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes and fried bread that, for some reason, you seemed not to have noticed.
Finally I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the bedroom as we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable rooms at a VERY competitive price.
I hope you will give us another chance to prove we take criticism very seriously and move forward and to make you join the great majority of our guests who have found, with us, a lovely home away from home.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

was a bit worried when we arrived as a bit garish from outside. entrance hall was lovely and clean. staff friendly. rooms clean. Well situated for walking to the beach. staff really friendly. discount off drinks for residents. good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Lauren, thank you for your review and comments We have 4 priorities - good value, clean, great staff, good food. It is nice to know we hit these targets. thank you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of May in a double en-suite bedroom. Clean, tidy and enough space. Bathroom had shower in bath and a heated towel rack. Hotel is a little out dated. Buffet full English breakfast provided which was really nice. Hotel staff were really friendly too and allowed us to park our car in the car park before check in so we could have a walk around Bournemouth. Would recommend this hotel as it is great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Lauren, miss hit a button and sent my comments on your review to Carol who sent in slightly later. Sorry, Carol. The comment though fitted both as the comments on the reviews were similar. We try to hit the targets of 'great value' - clean rooms, good food and great friendly staff. Pleased to see we met with both your approvals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Celebrity, the reception area and bar/lounge areas are very nice, our original room that we were shown was really lovely, large , with a big sleigh bed and matching light oak furniture,but unfortunately we had to ask for a different room due to quite a loud noise coming from extractors at the back of the hotel. Consequently we were given a room rather below standard, with very squeaky floorboards and not very nice furniture! we also had to wait until almost breakfast time to get hot water in the bathroom! but our T.V and bed were both very nice. There were a few 'faulty towers' moments! but the staff were all very nice. Great location and good value for money !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate the comments the guest has made......the noise came from a faulty extractor in the hotel next door, since we were full the client could only be offered a room in need of refurbishment that is one of our 'last lets'. After the experience of this guest and their comments which we take very seriously our maintenance team are spending all their time currently upgrading all non-refurbished rooms. (Normally we concentrate on one room for a total refurb which takes 4 to 8 weeks but for the next several weeks we are concentrating on improvement areas in every room to lift the quality of the total stock of rooms ready for the very high occupancy levels of the summer months.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Average looking hotel from outside. Was very impressed with the rooms and other ares in hotel. Decor to a very good standard, decent location from main areas in bournemouth. Food quality was very poor. The breakfast served was below par, not a great selection or quality of food. Also we planned to stay for an evening meal. We had to wait an hour due hotel reservation policy, and then once we got seated we waited 15mins before we decided to leave as we had not been served.
Food quality and service needs to be improved before I consider coming back, the only thing that saved this from a total negative review is the decor and good standard of the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It is worth reading the review below in conjunction with this review....same experience !! Everyone has their own opinion and it is the collective clients opinion that has resulted in TripAdvisor awarding the Certificate of Excellence 2013 - this goes to the top 10% of hotels worldwide with the highest average client rating....our average for the last 6 months was just under 90%...and it takes a lot of 5 scores across the board to make up for the shortfall of reviews such as this one.

Turning to the points. Breakfast is free and included in everyone's rate - it's a help yourself buffer breakfast so pick out exactly what you want from fruit juices, cereals, fruit, (tinned and fresh), hot buffet of sausages, bacon, fried eggs, potato & mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes, fried bread, beans. Coffee/tea. We are a working peoples hotel and our prices are set at a level that is fine by working people - our breakfast is for clients who want a good start to the day......not sure what this client expected !!!

Our evening restaurant is very popular and we ask people to book a 'time slot' so that we don't get too many arriving at once and so have delays in food service. Prices for our home-cooked food, (we don't buy in and make everything from scratch), from an extensive menu is shown on the review below. Fantastic value for money.

But then you can't please everyone....just the vast majority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night break in Bournemouth and stayed at the Celebrity Hotel, what a nice experience.
Although our room had not been re- furbished, (I was told this before we arrived) it was still very comfortable and clean, excellent value for money as it also included a really good buffet breakfast.

We opted to try the meal deal for our evening meal - £12.95 two course or £16.95 for a three course, this includes a free glass of wine or beer + coffee if booked in advance.
It was our wedding anniversary so was given a bottle of wine instead of a glass,Thank you.

I must say the staff are very friendly and go that extra mile. We would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celebrity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.